We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”
Review of Essenwood House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Essenwood House
Ranked #6 of 255 Durban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Lovely, beautiful guesthouse. Very nice people. It was our first night of holidays and John organized everything for us. Breakfast was wonderful, too. Excellent service. We got the "Honeymoon" Suite with a brilliant view over Durban.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
So glad that you enjoyed your first night in S.Africa with us and of course would have hoped for you to stay longer, but so much to do and never enough time!
It is alwayts veryt good to hear nice things about ourselves as it makes all the hard work worth while, so once again many thanks,
Best wishes
from John and paddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    38
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
48
96
28
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We only had one night at Essenwood but would have been very happy to have stayed longer. Super hosts, a lovely house with great views. The rooms are a bit old but well equipped and clean with everything that you could really ask for. Lovely breakfast too. Would we go again? definately.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiscerningWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you so much for youyr very kind review. We did enjoy having you with us and of course it is always a pleasure for us when guests write to tell of their stay. Very much appreciated, and of course hope to see you again in the future,
Regards,
John and Paddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Essenwood House is beautiful and peaceful with a wonderful ambience and location . The rooms are stunning and immaculate . The breakfast delicious and the owners and staff charming ...what more could one wish for ! We will most definitely stay there again !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianandjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thank you so much for your very kind review. It makes all the hard work worthwhile when we have happy guests and of course would welcome another visit sometime!
Once again, many thanks, much appreciated
John and Paddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Warm welcome, excellent service, spacious and very comfortable rooms and the best croissants (and breakfast) in Durban! They are always ready to go the extra mile for you. Well situated, quiet and peaceful, safe parking and well worth a stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickyRooJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you so much for yor very kind review. It is always good to hear something nice about us as it makes all the hard work worth while, so we hope to see you again sometime in the future when the weather will have warmed up a bit more!
With best wishes,
John and paddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The Essenwood house if filled with love, sunshine and excellent service, I would highly recommend it to anyone looking to stay for a few days. Its private, there is lovely facilities and the staff and owners are warm and welcoming. Thanks to the Essenwood house for accommodatig me and my friends, we had a blast!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juanelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you so much fo your very kind posting, which is of course very much appreciated. We were so pleased that you enjoyed yoor stay with us and glad that the weather stayed fine!
Hope to see you again,
With best wishes,
John and Paddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthAfrica
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Recently stayed at Essenwood House and found it to be a great place to stay whilst in Durban, particularly if you need to be close Kings Park and/or Moses Mabhida Stadiums, UShaka Marine World, Greyville Race Course and other attractions in Durban. We were there to watch a rugby match at Kings Parks and found it to be the perfect location, so close to the stadium and everything else on our itinerary. The home has that wonderful "olde World Charm", being a beautiful stately home, whilst at the same time, being comfortable and a "home away from home". Superb gardens and scenery, stunning views. Peaceful and tranquil. The breakfasts were delightful, and both owners and staff very helpful and friendly. We would love to stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you so much for your very kingd review, which is much appreciated. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and of course hope to see you here again sometime!
With best wishes,
John and paddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

What a wonderful find in a fanstatic location . We stayed with 2 young children , and stayed in the room at the back . Great room , fantastic service and breakfast and lovely views . We will be back . Thank you John and Paddie .

Room Tip: We stayed in the room over the garage , with our 2 children on camp beds . Very spacious , and a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antoinette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your very kind message, which is much appreciated. We were so glad that you liked that room, as do a number of people who want extra privacy to come and go without coming into the house. Also it is very large so perfect for familes, so it all worked out very well. We of course hope to see you here again in the future.
With best wishes, from John and Paddy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,417 reviews
1.9 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.9 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
454 reviews
0.8 mi away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essenwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essenwood House

Property: Essenwood House
Address: 630 Stephen Dlamini Road | Berea, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Essenwood House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essenwood House offers both the corporate or leisure guest all the comforts of a magnificent Edwardian private home in true 5 star affordable accommodation. Set in a tropical garden, peace and quiet yet minutes away from the city centre of Durban, shopping malls, restaurants, Durban Convention centre and the well-known Durban beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Essenwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing