We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”
Review of Freedom Cafe

Freedom Cafe
Ranked #59 of 618 Restaurants in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: "free your mind, body and soul at Freedom Cafe; good food, great company and beautiful surroundings" The café-in-a-can is a concentrate of all we enjoy most in entertaining. It’s intimate, relaxed, and with décor by crack Egg Designs duo Roche and Greg Dry, unselfconsciously stylish. The menu, like the lady, evolves constantly, guided only by the mantra: ‘local, fresh, direct.’Guests watch through a hatch in the compact courtyard kitchen, even wander through this en route to the loo. They linger contentedly under trees strung with jam-jar lights and beaded dreams (‘joy,’ ‘love,’ ‘peace’), nursing cappy and cupcakes on yellow wire Egg rockers or black plastic daxie benches. Then as the shadow of neighbouring St Mary’s church spire creeps slowly across the sand.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Great place for a lunch. Highly recommend the salt and pepper squid with salty caramel dipping sauce. the pull pork rolls are delicious, but a bit too salty. G&Ts in jam jars are perfectly mixed

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SA_Business_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    44
    16
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great place hard to find”
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

My daughter who lives in Durban recommended your place for Breakfast. We'll we went searching for it and with the help of GPS we found it. It was so good. Very simple menu, very small place but thoroughly enjoyed our Breakfast. Notice the write up on there Salmon starter, we gave it a try! Nicest raw salmon I ever had. Great Service, very good prices. Thoroughly enjoyed everything about
Your place. A must to visit if your are in the area.

Helpful?
Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Cafe.. Truly for coffees.”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Amazing coffee. Cute biscuits. Cute friendly waitress. Excellent barista.. Good service. Food... Well they need to up the ante. Very very average. Which is a shame since they have everything else spot on.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SassySista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponta do Ouro, Mozambique
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a great place for a food photographer!”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Overall my food LOOKED great but one piece of rocket seemed to be snapped so I couldn't take a picture of it with my iPhone and put it on FB. I didn't eat it because of this. Don't you just LOVE Trip Advisor...

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rodney D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great concept; just needs to work on the execution”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

My second time to visit Freedom Cafe. The setting is wonderful - it's something of a hidden gem, because it's tucked away down a side street at the bottom of Florida Rd.

First the upside. We had great service from one of the waiters, a lady with a lot of pizzazz! Then too, this is not your regular coffee shop: to some it extent attracts the alternate set. Which is great—as it makes things interesting. It is however more pricey that what you can get elsewhere. Which would be fine, but then you expect the food to be that little bit better.

Breakfast only (which is what we had) is served until 11am, after which you can order from the lunch menu. The scrambled eggs looked great, but the fried eggs were a disappointment. I'd asked for them to be soft, but they weren't. But it was the rye bread it was served with that was the shocker—two slices that were hard and really quite stale. The one was inedible. The additional bacon that we ordered crispy, came out as if it had been broiled.

I'll certainly give Freedom Cafe another go, but I do hope they take to heart what is meant as constructive criticism.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NautieZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freedom Cafe also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Freedom Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing