We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“If it's peace and space you want, look no further”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Lindsay Loft

Bright, spacious bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bright, spacious bedroom
Comfortable living area Spacious apartment
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Bright, spacious bedroom
Comfortable living area
Spacious apartment
large dining area
Fully equipped kitchen
Kitchen through to bedroom
King size bed
View from bedroom to dressing room
Dressing room
Bath / Shower combined
Verandah
Entrance Hall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Edi027
Centurion, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If it's peace and space you want, look no further”
Reviewed April 25, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Stayed here for a week and surely felt at home. VERY spacious living area, bedroom and balcony. Caroline made sure we had an enjoyable stay: the pantry and fridge were well stocked on arrival: even some home-baked cookies! The washing machine was also put to good use during our stay. Caroline and Pepi are around if you need them, however, they never intrude in one's privacy. We value peace and quiet and as this "loft" is separate from the main house and on its own, it was absolutely perfect for us. Can be highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2016
Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to write a review. We really do appreciate it and it shows that our efforts have paid off and that our guests enjoy themselves. All the best, Caroline.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina A
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“A home away from home”
Reviewed March 19, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Lindsay loft is really a hidden gem. It’s situated in beautiful Morningside and when it comes to accommodation it’s top notch. A huge loft apartment with amazing light, a spacious livingroom, a beautiful bedroom, a fully equipped kitchen and a clean and inviting bathroom. When we first saw it we were really taken back and we instantly wanted to run laps along the huge balcony that stretches the entire length of the loft and looks out on beautiful lush gardens.
The apartment is self catering with everything you need and Carolines personal touches with juice and marmalade in the fridge, free tea and coffee and personal letter when you arrive makes everything even more special. Morningside is a beautiful area with colonial style buildings and just across from Lindsay Loft there is a beautiful park and really good breakfast places (we would recommend Charlie´s place). Caroline and Pepi are amazing hosts, so incredibly kind and interesting people and full of good advice on what to see and do in Durban.
Nina & Maria

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 27, 2016
How kind of you to take the trouble to review Lindsay Loft. We certainly appreciate it and it makes our job much easier to know that our guests enjoy staying with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodewyk19...
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“A home away from home”
Reviewed January 5, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Great place to stay in Durban. Spacious with amazing views from the balcony. The self catering facilities are excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 6, 2016
Thank you so much for your review. Delighted you enjoyed your stay. We loved meeting you and certainly hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy T
New Egypt, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Excellent, With Some Considerations"”
Reviewed November 13, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I agree with previous reviewers about the quality of this property, furnishings, and hosts.
We even experienced a minor issue with a toilet which Caroline saw to immediately, and had fixed. We truly enjoyed our stay.

Some additional things to consider here might be a hindrance to some.
This property is located in one of the finest areas of Durban. It is also situated on top of some of the steepest hills. It is easier to drive to local shops or restaurants, than to walk.
If you are used to air conditioning, be aware that only the bedroom is air conditioned. There is a strong fan in the ceiling of the living area and lots of windows to open on a breezy day. The bathtub/shower is tricky to maneuver in and out of. Be sure to use the rubber bath mat.

This apartment is unique in that it has more storage space than our own home. Unlike many other places we have stayed, where you keep tripping over your own luggage.
It is also equipped with a dishwasher and clothes washing machine, if you want to wash your own. There are washing lines out back where you can hang them to dry.
Wi-fi was great in all of the rooms, with several wi-fi channels to choose from. The TV had a good selection of international channels. The bedside clock is also a CD player.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The private, spacious and airy apartment.
Liked least: the bathtub
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 14, 2015
Thank you for making the effort to write such a comprehensive review. It means a lot to us. It was our pleasure to meet you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CD_Ryder
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent base in Durban”
Reviewed June 21, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed at the Lindsay Loft for 10 days before a family wedding outside Durban.
The accomodation is second to none, very spacious and comfortable.
The flat is very well equipped with everything you need.
Caroline and her husband were very welcoming and made sure we were both comfortable and had everything we needed.
Will defintely stay here again - and would highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 22, 2015
Thank you so much for your kind review. It makes our job so much more worthwhile to know that our guests are really happy. It was lovely to meet you and we certainly look forward to welcoming you again. All the best, Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gilli
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed May 9, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

very well appointed luxury accommodation
great hosts
unexpected very generous welcome pack
lovely deck with city views
THE MOST comfortable bed
highly recommended

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 10, 2015
Your very kind comments makes us feel happy that we are doing something right, and makes the effort worthwhile. We do hope we will see you again. All the best, Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamer56...
1 review
“Excellent Stay, Incredible Host.”
Reviewed April 16, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Caroline was an excellent host, gracious and hospitable. She thought of everything. The apartment was spacious, clean, comfortable and the perfect place to kick back and relax, it was also a great place for me to do some work as I needed to put in some time even though I was away from the office. Not only would I highly recommend Lindsay Loft, I will definitely stay there again. 5 Stars!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 17, 2015
It was lovely to meet you Thuli and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We certainly look forward to having you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing