We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what you expect from the name, just good quality "Fish"!”
Review of Fish

Fish
Ranked #63 of 609 Restaurants in Durban
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Portimao, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Exactly what you expect from the name, just good quality "Fish"!”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

The restaurant is not the easiest place to get a table luckily it was booked well in advance, but even then you have fight to keep your table! It is a simple looking restaurant but it serves some fantastic seafood. It is all cooked simply but when it caught fresh like this was you don't need much done! Living on the coast I am used to good fish and this some of the best I have tasted in a while.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank init4thetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    23
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

This restaurants strength is the fact that they only do sea food and as a result they really know how to cook it. The menu never changes but that is fine - you know what you are getting. Checked table cloths and a casual atmosphere add to a good night out. You have to book as it is always busy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“FISH, FISH and SEAFOOD”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We booked a table on a Tuesday night hoping that it wouldn't be too busy. What a mistake - it was buzzing and full. Our table was ready at the appointed time - second surprise. We were seated, our orders taken and our food followed not long afterwards - another surprise. The service was excellent, the fish tasty - hake and calamari combo - and value for money.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Biddy325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best fish the entire trip”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Wonderful! Small, perfectly formed and AMAZING fish! Cannot recommend more highly. A memorable, reasonably priced evening with incredible food!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank kanekane6722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The "Fish" Restaurant, a Tasty Visit”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

This seafood restaurant is really a worthwhile visit. Its in Umhlanga, Durban. It's menu is precise but interesting. The large hake is the best I have ever tasted. Choices such as salmon, sword fish, sole, prawns, cray fish and tuna among other dishes will not disappoint. It has a traditional ambience for the modern palette. The standard is good and enjoyable.

Helpful?
3 Thank abkarolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing