We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairway Guest House
Ranked #46 of 256 Durban B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed at Fairway Lodge from 13 to 15 May 2013 whilst on business in Durban. I had the pleasure of also presenting a technology workshop in their conference facility. The facilities are excellent, the data projector is top quality and the attention to detail and conference goers comfort was superb.

All refreshments and meals are served on the fantastic deck which has sweeping views of the Beachwood Gold course fairways and hence the establishments name. Beyond the fairways is the sweeping bay of Durban and an extensive view of Durban's Golden Mile.

The accommodation is extremely comfortable, spotless and complete with all the comforts any businessman could desire.

Aubrey and Melanie are friendly and warm hosts. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 21 of 21 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

We discovered Fairway Guest house three years ago and have just stayed there again. It is the only place we will stay at in Durban, being conveniently placed half way between Umhlanga and the Marine Parade and an easy drive to either. Shops and restaurants are also a short drive away. Contrary to what a previous reviewer said, there is a communal microwave for guest use on the verandah. There is also an ice machine. The rooms are lovely and the garden open and spacious, overlooking the golf course with the sea in the background. My husband loves watching the little planes taking off and coming in to land at the nearby Virginia Airport. This is only during the day, so it is not disturbing. Melanie and her staff are ever helpful, friendly and obliging without being intrusive. The wifi is currently not convenient, but we were assured that this will be remedied in the near future.

Room Tip: My husband is in a wheelchair. There is not a special disabled room, but we were able to manage fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CapeTownAdrienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I can't believe I've never written a review for Fairway. What an amazing place! Close to the Virginia airport you could always walk there, brisk stroll, for a few sundowners while watching the airplanes landing and taking off. We support Melanie and Aubrey nothing less than 3 times a year.. What amazing people. The rooms are upper-class and they deserve their 4-star rating. You can be a guest - removed from the going-on's and just do your own thing. Or you can take up their always-offer to join a braai or a game of pool with their friends. We often take their beautiful dog for a walk on the beach - Simba is old, but a star! The wooden deck overlooks the golf course and ocean. It is truly the most relaxed you'll ever be. TIP: take binoculars to check out the golfers below and their swings.. Very entertaining. Unfortunately, what we always miss is the ability to have a good dinner while at Fairway. You have to prep earlier in the day (snacks from Woollies which don't need heating up since there is no microwave) or you need a car to go and have dinner at a restaurant. The food delivery gets to be a tired option after 2 or 3 nights. We've walked up to the shops before.. It's do-able, but you have to be semi-fit. It's the best place to be for the annual Durban airshow.. Can't wait to go back!!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Freddie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We recently stayed here for 2 nights with some friends. The hotel is situated at a great location as it is between Durban and Umhlanga and it is in a well patrolled and in a safer area of Durban North.

The stay was very comfortable and the staff very friendly and attentive. The breakfasts were very tasty, freshly cooked and you could order what you liked. It was great to lie next to the pool and watch the light aircraft flying along the beach and at times we noticed whales as well as dolphins.

The only negative thing was as South Africa often has "load shedding" (power supply switched off for 4hrs at a time to give other areas power and therefore lighten the load supply) the staff did not think ahead. When it came to checking out time and we had to settle the balance, there were no card payments facilities as this needed power. It was suggested that we used a ATM at a local centre but as this too was run on electricity, this was not an option.... Luckily we had cash to settle but walking around with large amounts of cash is never a good idea so plastic is always a wiser / safer option.

Overall, I would highly recommend this place as it was good, clean and and you had a good nights rest on the most comfortable beds. You could happily "goof off" on the sunbeds overlooking the golf course before the zzzz hit.....

Room Tip: Rooms 8 & 9 are right in front of the pool so good if you like swimming. Rooms 3 & 4 are in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer 11 oder 12 gehören zu meinen Preferenzen, alt. der Anbau.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerrit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alle Zimmer sind sehr schön gelegen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerrit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
3.7 mi away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
5.2 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,487 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Palms B & B
The Palms B & B
#37 of 256 in Durban
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cornerway Guest House
Cornerway Guest House
#44 of 256 in Durban
26 reviews
0.4 mi away
Khanya Kude
Khanya Kude
#16 of 256 in Durban
49 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grange Guest House
The Grange Guest House
#12 of 256 in Durban
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairway Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairway Guest House

Address: 118 Fairway | Durban North, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 256 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range: $75 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairway Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Fairway Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing