We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quarters Hotel Florida Road
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Durban
France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just great”
Reviewed July 15, 2009

Stayed in Quarters, Florida Rd (there's a sister hotel a few blocks away). Nice clean rooms, in a lovely old colonial house. Staff were exceptionally pleasant and helpful. Situation is convenient - 5-10 mins drive from downturn, BUT as opposed to downtown Florida Rd is completely safe to walk along deciding which restaurant/bar you want to visit (I recommend Simply Fish). In fact the biggest danger is likely to be some brainless Durban rich kid showing off how fast his Porsche can go up and down the street - the numerous police don't seem interested in doing anything about that. V close to the new football stadium for next year's World Cup - HOWEVER the global sports agencies have already taken options every hotel room the city, inc here. Durban couldn't even cope with the crowd for the Lions game and that was only 40,000 !!

Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bluftut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    37
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
13
27
11
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2009

We visited South Africa recently for a wedding, and after reading previous reviews on trip advisor decided to book with The Quarters. There was a warm welcome from staff when we arrived, they were very helpful and were able to call us taxi's to wherever we needed to go and advised us of where we could go safely, on foot, from the hotel. The breakfast each morning was perfect, and prepared to a far higher standard than any other hotel I have ever stayed in. We had one evening meal in the hotel, which was very good, and as with breakfast, the serving staff were friendly and attentive.

While we were staying, there were some upgrades to the television service, which caused some disruption to the signal, but did improve the service once completed.

All in all an excellent hotel and I would recommend to any-one!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth_2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
93 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2008

Have stayed at the Quarters at least a dozen times and keep coming back. Wonderful property in the heart of the night life area on Florida Road. Just walk out of the door and there are dozens of restaurants, bars and nightspots. The four Victorian buildings are lovingly restored, comfortable and spacious. What makes the difference though is the (overwhelmingly female) staff. It really makes you feel welcome every time. It is a great place to stay if you are on business in Durban and prefer some atmosphere as opposed to the large international chain hotels.

The one issue I have had several times is that the restaurant and bar is booked for functions nearly every weekend. So when staying at the hotel over a weekend you can not make use of these facilities. There is plenty of choice nearby so its not a trainsmash.

Lack of a pool makes it a 4 star for me.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Africa_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Falls
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2008

My secretary made the reservation for me at the hotel after my usual hotel was fully booked. Initially i had reservations as i had never heard of Quarters! On arrival and check in, i was pleasantly surprise. The front desk agent immediately acknowledge my name and reservation details, did an express check-in, gave me a quick brief about the facilities at the hotel and directed me to my room.
The rooms was clean, cosy and comfortable, airconditioning perfect. A welcome note from the manager was placed on the dressing table, I was welcome here! Bath room was clean, guest supplies generous including a facial scrub!
When i went down for dinner the service in the restaurant was excellent, the young waitress polite and food great. Its been a while since i last cleaned my plate in a restaurant! I must say that i thoroughly enjoyed my meal experience. Breakfast was fairly elaborate but generous.
Check-out was hassle free. Next time i'm in Durban, this cosy little hotel has my business. Pity that i could stay for long.

  • Liked — Quiet neighbourhood, pleasant and cheerful staff and great food and service!
  • Disliked — That i couldnt stay much longer
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Gee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna
Level Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2007

I spent just one night at the Quarters during a long trip across South Africa and I found it a charming place, very welcoming. The room was perfectly clean, the staff was helpful, and the included breakfast absolutely excellent.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Garnant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2007

The Quarters Hotel was very nice. The rooms are clean and well decorated, although on the smaller side. The staff is exceptionally pleasant. The neighborhood is safe during the day, but I would recommend taking a taxi at night.
The restaurant has excellent food. Breakfast is included in the rate, and it is really nice – fresh juices and fruit, yogurt, cereals, pastries, cheeses, as well as eggs, French toast, etc. We ate dinner twice at the restaurant because it was so delicious.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NYCBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauna,Wa.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2007

We stayed recently at Quarters in large part because Trip Advisor has proved so reliable in past trips. We had just come from An African Villa in Cape Town which was wonderful. Durban was hot and humid and our room was hot and dark. Our A/C unit was not working but the staff kept telling us that it was user error. When at 10 I asked them to please change rooms for us they said that the hotel was full, however 20 mins later when I visited the lobby to at least get a fan, a room came open. We found the location to be noisy, crowded, and just not a very desireable hotel. At best without the A/C problem I would rate it just so-so.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank suehoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
1.3 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.1 mi away
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#5 of 43 in Durban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.0 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quarters Hotel Florida Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarters Hotel Florida Road

Property: Quarters Hotel Florida Road
Address: 101 Florida Road | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#7 Business Hotel in Durban
#13 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quarters Hotel Florida Road 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1999, Durban businessman and entrepreneur Robert Maingard had an inspiration to convert four Victorian homes on Durban’s Florida Road in the suburb of Morningside into a luxury boutique hotel. Restored to their former glory, these beautiful buildings were transformed into “Quarters Hotel Florida Road.” Since opening its doors in 1997, Quarters Hotel Florida Road has become the hotel of choice for many guests who regularly return to stay at Quarters. In 2008 an ideal property became available on Avondale Road, a short (walking) distance from the original Quarters and the decision was taken to convert the property into “Quarters Hotel Avondale Road.” Again meticulous restoration was done to its original Edwardian architecture. All the luxury and outstanding service synonymous with the Quarters Brand is apparent in Quarters Hotel Avondale Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quarters Hotel Florida Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quarters Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing