We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional with Soul”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quarters Hotel Florida Road
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Professional with Soul”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

It was always going to be a success – taking a vintage building, in a convenient part of fabulous Durban, restoring it expertly and decorating it with understated elegance. Quarters Hotel on Florida is located in the restaurant-rich area of Morningside, with easy access to Berea, the city centre or Durban North.

Catering mainly for business clients, the hotel has all the modern conveniences, such as 24 hour reception service, good security, wifi, a desk in each room as well as a large, flat-screen television. Attentive and well trained staff are efficient and helpful. A conservatory-style popular local restaurant serves delicious meals, while a garden bar lends a holiday feel and is a cool place in which to enjoy an icy drink.

But what draws me to the hotel is the pretty Victorian buildings, with covered verandahs, high sash windows, spacious air-conditioned rooms, and modern yet traditional décor. My suite has a sleigh bed with restrained, finessed fittings and up-to-date fabrics. There is a marble-tiled bathroom with a large clear-glass shower and bath.

Accommodation experience:
If this hotel was a person I would describe it as a successful professional with soul. I notice that there are many fellow business travelers staying at the hotel, many of whom are also female. The hotel subtly caters for a wide range of executive needs, and the restaurant offers a diverse menu, from the rich and fanciful to the homely and healthy. Travelling alone on business can be a lonely experience, and I am grateful to be in this space which seems to understand my needs and offers a gentle comradery in a pretty and inspiring setting.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berenice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    37
    21
    8
    4
See reviews for
13
27
12
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had a one night stay at this hotel just after Christmas. From the pictures on their website and some reviews online, we were quite excited and thought that it would be a nice luxury night out. Unfortunately the reality was far from luxury.

When we checked in, the lady at the front desk directed us to our room in the following manner : "your room is in the last house , upstairs" and gave us the room key. No one told us about breakfast arrangements or the hotel facilities (restaurant, bar etc)

The room was small and the décor was ok, however the bedding was dirty. On further inspection the curtains had stains on them and the ceiling had some damage. In addition to this, the cupboard doors did not open correctly.

All in all, not a good experience, especially for the hefty price tag. Definitely not deserving of the high rating. Will not return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deshen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quarters_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at Quarters Hotel Florida Road, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Our apologies for this state of room as this is not the standard we hope to achieve nor wish our guests to experience, I hope you enjoyed your second stay with us and that the revisit changed your mind about our property. As you saw the rooms are all renovated and repainted due to the previous leak.


Have a beautiful week,

The Quarters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Shannon Perumal and her team continue to provide outstanding service. We have just completed 2 stays of 8 days in total, over the Xmas period, in a superior room, and found the service to be flawless. Having frequented this establishment for many years, it is such a pleasure to see how well maintained the premises and gardens are kept. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Room 24 is an excellent ground floor location, not on Florida Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErnRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Went there with just over 10 people. Loved the food, intimacy and safe parking. Some of my loud friends did not like the soothing music though but I give it two thumbs up.

Perfect place if you need peace of mind. I could hear myself think - would definitely go back any day (& recommend it).

Room Tip: We did not sleep over, so I would not know!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MphoBiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had a one night stopover at this hotel and were very disappointed to find that the cocktails that were advertised from 16.30 didn't exist. Moreover the restaurant was not open for dinner in the evening, as advertised. Luckily we found a restaurant within a small walk.
We had a small room, with nice decor. But the shower had black mouldy edges, which wasn't so nice. The room was a little musty and the sink was very small, so that it was very easy to splash water all over the place.
As the hotel was on the corner of two roads, I found it very noisy during the night.
The breakfast room in the morning was very nice and the breakfast was very good, which partly made up for the other disappointments.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WymeswoldKee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, England
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed one night and were slightly disappointed. The restaurant was shut (Sat night, not Sun night as advertised) and the much hyped cocktails were non alcoholic. This was partially redeemed by a very good breakfast with some different options, rather than the standard buffet. The rooms were big but the design and layout was unusual to say the least e.g. if the sink tap was at more than a steady trickle it came over the edge of the sink! Location was good for restaurants but became very noisy at night. Looks great from outside but difficult to find anywhere to sit in the garden.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WymeswoldOFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryanston, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay in Durban. Get a homey feel from it. Will stay there again. The rooms are nice and big and beds are very comfortable. Think this is one of the better places to stay in durban. Breakfast at Jam restaurant was also quite delicious. Definitely have some of the croissants. Its also quite close to some great restaurants, just ask reception and they can show you where to go.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidMaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,395 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
427 reviews
0.7 mi away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
1.3 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.1 mi away
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#5 of 43 in Durban
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quarters Hotel Florida Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarters Hotel Florida Road

Property: Quarters Hotel Florida Road
Address: 101 Florida Road | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Durban
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#13 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quarters Hotel Florida Road 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1999, Durban businessman and entrepreneur Robert Maingard had an inspiration to convert four Victorian homes on Durban’s Florida Road in the suburb of Morningside into a luxury boutique hotel. Restored to their former glory, these beautiful buildings were transformed into “Quarters Hotel Florida Road.” Since opening its doors in 1997, Quarters Hotel Florida Road has become the hotel of choice for many guests who regularly return to stay at Quarters. In 2008 an ideal property became available on Avondale Road, a short (walking) distance from the original Quarters and the decision was taken to convert the property into “Quarters Hotel Avondale Road.” Again meticulous restoration was done to its original Edwardian architecture. All the luxury and outstanding service synonymous with the Quarters Brand is apparent in Quarters Hotel Avondale Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quarters Hotel Florida Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quarters Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing