We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quarters Hotel Florida Road
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great place to stay in Durban. Get a homey feel from it. Will stay there again. The rooms are nice and big and beds are very comfortable. Think this is one of the better places to stay in durban. Breakfast at Jam restaurant was also quite delicious. Definitely have some of the croissants. Its also quite close to some great restaurants, just ask reception and they can show you where to go.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank DavidMaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 122 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

It is my first stay at the Hotel and I will most definitely be back. Well located on Florida Road, close to the restaurants.
I was in Durban for the day for business and it is located close enough to the CBD and at the same time far enough away.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard_Eberlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

As a business traveller I prefer in staying at boutique establishments. When I recently travelled to Durban for a business trip my usual place that I stay was fully booked and had to try finding the alternative accommodation. I always admired the Quarters Hotel from a distance so I t tried my luck with this time. Oh boy was I not disappointed I must say I was pleased with my choice. The price I was charged was value for money. The moment I walked through the gate I was greeted by Billy who immediately assisted me with the luggage. The service at the reception desk was pleasant as they had my booking arrangement ready.

My room was to die for, I loved it. I have nothing bad to say about it, it actually exceeded my expectations.

The most things I enjoy when I am travelling are to explore the place that I am visiting on foot or use public transport. The location for this hotel is ideal for this. I managed to get a haircut, have something to eat and use the internet café. It is a walking distances to cafe, restaurants, shops, internet cafe and hair salons. One feels safe walking on the streets though this does not take away common sense.
The bar and the restaurant give that calming effect. The court yard provided me with tranquillity I was yearning for as I enjoyed the warm autumn evening with a perfect glass of wine. The food was great; one must try their curry it’s to die for.

The staff ensured my stay was comfortable as much as possible.

Yes I will be going back for my next visit in Durban which I am hoping it will be soon.

Zama Bodlani

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautifu, you will not go wrong with your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zama B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I have stayed at Quarters on Florida road before and the reason I've been back was because the experience was great. This time around however I was disappointed from the time I checked in to the moment I left the hotel. When I arrived there was no one at reception to welcome me, I had to wait for 7 minutes while the security guard ran around trying to find the receptionist . I got to my room and it was stuffy, the towels it looks had been there for ages and did not smell clean. The restaurant staff was inattentive, did not enjoy the food at all at dinner. I think they must have changed chefs. At night I could not sleep because of the noise from the room above me; at 4am I got woken up by a loud bang when the TV in the room just automatically switched on. Overall the standard if quarters Florida road has dropped! What a pity !!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Colonial style, charming place but rooms, balcony and reception need a little renovation. The restaurant's food is good and attensive service.
We were there for there for 3 nights, mainly good service in reception.
Make sure to use the safe in the room.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ditsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Chose this venue as it was a referral from another establishment that was fully booked. Venue is neat, colonial feel. Receptionist was awesome and friendly. Rooms were spacious and nice, however the floor was covered with twine/straw covering which did not allow one to walk in the room bare feet. Unpleasant to walk in the room barefoot. This was a big downer for me. Breakfast was well presented and serviced at a restaurant opposite the venue, shared with patrons not of this hotel.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
Thank Timoteo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I Was there for 5 nights and i had no major complaint. Rooms are big and comfortable,service is good, i got a very helpful receptionist when i arrived Who helped me out with a couple of small issues promptly and effectively .location is perfect for the night life and the hotel is Also in front of the tourism office, ideal to get yr escursions planned.if back in Durban i'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spazzo20054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#2 of 43 in Durban
1,514 reviews
1.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.3 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.1 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
452 reviews
0.7 mi away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quarters Hotel Florida Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarters Hotel Florida Road

Address: 101 Florida Road | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#7 Business Hotel in Durban
#12 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range: $103 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quarters Hotel Florida Road 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1999, Durban businessman and entrepreneur Robert Maingard had an inspiration to convert four Victorian homes on Durban’s Florida Road in the suburb of Morningside into a luxury boutique hotel. Restored to their former glory, these beautiful buildings were transformed into “Quarters Hotel Florida Road.” Since opening its doors in 1997, Quarters Hotel Florida Road has become the hotel of choice for many guests who regularly return to stay at Quarters. In 2008 an ideal property became available on Avondale Road, a short (walking) distance from the original Quarters and the decision was taken to convert the property into “Quarters Hotel Avondale Road.” Again meticulous restoration was done to its original Edwardian architecture. All the luxury and outstanding service synonymous with the Quarters Brand is apparent in Quarters Hotel Avondale Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Quarters Hotel Florida Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quarters Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing