We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quarters Hotel Brasserie, Florida Road, Durban”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quarters Hotel Florida Road
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Chef Denbeigh and sous-chef Kelly have created a culinary menu with many unconventional and tasty dishes; such as Peking Duck Wrap for starters, and Lamb Loin served in an innovative style. The Ginger Pecan Pudding was a dream.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 122 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2012

I stayed here when I visited Durban for the world cup 2 years ago. The room was very comfortable, clean and big. The breakfast was ok. The neighbourhood is safe. There are a couple of restaurants within walking distance. The downside was that my buddy and I had booked a room for two beds but they said they did not have such rooms for us!

Stayed: June 2011
Thank TeflonTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I have stayed with this property a few times over the years, pre and post their soft-refurb. Whilst it is suggested as the Masculine of their two places, i prefer Florida anytime i have to pop into Durban. The eggs bennie is to die for and the staff, excellent. in so many ways i feel its the "sisters doing it for themselves" attitude that makes this the place to stay. Should be #1

Room Tip: Always stay in the 3rd house or ask for room 24.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouiseComCarver1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I love the quaintness of this hotel. Which is why I've come back. But each time I've stayed here I've been dissapointed by the size of the rooms which are very small by South African standards. The noise from Florida road is not one that a slight sleeper can endure and the continental breakfast leaves much to be desired. This morning, not only was the spread below average, but the chairs and table clothes were dirty. Add to that the cramped parking space, the inconsistent service and I'm left wondering each time: why did I come back here.? The answer is that it's position is unbeatable, if you want to be close to the Durban CBD and if you like smaller hotels. But that's the only reason I had come back.
The cost of the wireless Internet might ensure that I stay away. I can't believe that there are still establishments that charge so much for the Internet!

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank NQKhoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights at the end of March. As others have mentioned, it is on the very busy Florida Road and there is traffic noise all the time. We were at the hotel over a weekend and the noise did not stop us from having a reasonable nights rest.
We initially had a room upstairs but the air con did not work and the safe was unscrewed from the wall and as the hotel takes no responsibility for your belongings we asked to be moved. There was no hair drier in the room either.
I unfortunately unpacked all our stuff and had to cart it to our replacement room down stair at the front of the building. This room was much more spacious and the air con was blissfully cold in the sweltering heat. The safe was attached and there was a hair drier.
The bathroom was adequate and we had plenty towels. Note that there are no fridges in the rooms. The bed linen and pillows were nice but the bed was a bit creaky as it had a solid board base.
The staff at the hotel was helpful and friendly. Charl in the bar served many cold beers! We were advised by one of the staff that it would be saver to drink and drive than walk to a restaurant, at might, in Avondale Road (which is just around the corner)!
We used the WiFi briefly. It worked well but should be free.
There are many restaurants on Florida Road and though we were accosted by toddlers sent to beg we felt as comfortable as you can in Durban (which does not say much). We did not eat in the restaurant but had breakfast every morning. The continental buffet was not great. Considering the lovely fruit available they could have done so much better. The cheese looked pretty manky. The meat was not too bad and I had a nice blue berry muffin one morning. The cooked breakfasts were better but I try and avoid these on holiday otherwise you just eat far too much. This did not stop hubby having Eggs Benedict a few times.
All in all this hotel was OK, but rather expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RBCorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Durban is a difficult town to visit. Doesn't lend itself to walking & feels threatening. Quarters in in the Florida road 'trendy' quarter with a number of bars and restaurants around and enough security guards in the street to feel safe, however, we did not find any of the bars or restaurants particularly good. This interesting hotel is a mixture of period buildings, so rooms are high ceilinged and spacious. The breakfasts were fabulous and the staff friendly & attentive.

Given the surroundings it would have been nice to have had an area to sit outside & chill out, but there was no room for this.

If you need to stay in Durban, I would seriously recommend looking at Uhmlanga Rocks - a nice resort about 20 minutes by taxi from here which seems much safer & has great beaches & restuarants & bars. & talking about taxis, always get the hotel to book one - it will be about 50% less than hailing one in the street where 'oh dear the meter is not working'.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen-London-N16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a week and, having overcome some initial reservations about its immediate surroundings, grew to to like it. Friendly young staff, all trying hard to please, making up with willingness what they sometimes lacked in experience. Rooms were spacious and comfortable if a suffering a bit from traffic noise. Good and inexpensive wifi. Restaurant was unexpectedly good and breakfast a real treat. The location, at the foot of Florida Road also proved itself in that there is a good selection of restaurants within easy and, importantly in South Africa, safe walking distance.

Room Tip: Avoid traffic noise to the the extent possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#2 of 43 in Durban
1,514 reviews
1.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.3 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.1 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
452 reviews
0.7 mi away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quarters Hotel Florida Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarters Hotel Florida Road

Address: 101 Florida Road | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#7 Business Hotel in Durban
#12 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range: $103 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quarters Hotel Florida Road 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1999, Durban businessman and entrepreneur Robert Maingard had an inspiration to convert four Victorian homes on Durban’s Florida Road in the suburb of Morningside into a luxury boutique hotel. Restored to their former glory, these beautiful buildings were transformed into “Quarters Hotel Florida Road.” Since opening its doors in 1997, Quarters Hotel Florida Road has become the hotel of choice for many guests who regularly return to stay at Quarters. In 2008 an ideal property became available on Avondale Road, a short (walking) distance from the original Quarters and the decision was taken to convert the property into “Quarters Hotel Avondale Road.” Again meticulous restoration was done to its original Edwardian architecture. All the luxury and outstanding service synonymous with the Quarters Brand is apparent in Quarters Hotel Avondale Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quarters Hotel Florida Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quarters Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing