We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quarters Hotel Florida Road
Nearby Hotels
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Benjamin(Durban)
$125
$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Durban(Durban)
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$107
$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$164
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$128
$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$116
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveler rating
50
41
24
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
41
24
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflorida roadstaff complementsleigh bedgreat little boutique hotelsafe walking distancenight lifethe location is perfectroom was spaciousbusiness staybreakfast servicepoor serviceyogurtreception areapleasant staycbdestablishmentstadium
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 127 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Just finished my third Comrades Marathon and with it, my third stay at the fabulous Quarters Hotel. Terrific, friendly property. Shannon and the rest of the staff are just so incredibly helpful with all aspects of your visit. For example, they staffed up at 4am to ensure the Comrades Marathon runners staying with them had a proper breakfast before heading out.
The location, on Florida Road, is far superior to a downtown or beach location. Take a five minute taxi ride to those areas during the day for a visit, but stay at the Quarters. Many restaurants and bars within a 5 min walk of hotel, all very safe. (private security seems to be on every street corner) In three years down there, have never felt unsafe on Florida Road, while downtown and Hilton area can be a bit dodgy at night. (Although I must say Durban has improved the beach experience quite a bit over the past couple of years)

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lsbuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

We were unsure about coming to Durban but after finding Quarters and roaming the neighborhood we found it fantastically metropolitan-chic! The hotel was perfectly clean, smart and elegant. Beautifully designed, sophisticated, and trendy. AMAZING breakfast! This hotel is perfect for a night out at a gorgeous boutique hotel and a short walk to wonderful restaurants and bars!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eealderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2010

I would tell EVERYONE to stay at this hotel, It is beautiful.
The room was massive with a gorgeous bathroom and a lovely balcony overlooking a pretty church.
The staff were lovely always wanting to help and offer great advice.
The food was very special, my boyfriend fell in love with the eggs annaise and still misses it!!!
We stayed in March 2010 and it was very hot, I was worried at how safe I would be there, Florida Road felt safe but I would not of walked elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vhousley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

I normally stay in the hilton but it was fully booked, I stayed at Quarters and it was so much better from the Hilton.

If you can afford this place, stay here!

Food is very good and the rooms where amazing - plus its on Florida road!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank filipino_chino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

When we arrived at the hotel, there was no electricity. But the staff was so nice that it did not really matter and they gave us a pricereduction that made more than up for it.

The rooms were very tastefully decorated in a colonial style and we liked the hotel itself a lot as it felt directly familiar due to it's size.

We only eat there once, but the food was great. Breakfast was good and the Eggs Benedict were spectacular.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muadhib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews