We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, friendly staff, close to the beach with a nice view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Riverside Hotel
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Durban
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Overall it is a nice hotel. The rooms are large and clean. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is included and is pretty good. The hotel restaurant is good, but not great.

Location is great. Beautiful view from my room of the Indian Ocean, and only a 40 minute walk to the beach. Easy transport to and from the hotel and Durban center. The hotel's taxi service was also excellent.

I only have two negatives from the hotel, and they are both minor. The queen been was not a real queen bed, but was instead two twins pushed together. Second, If you are a tv fiend you will not be thrilled by the limited selection of channels, but other than that a very good hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielMason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerodDurban, General Manager at The Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2015

Dear Daniel Mason,

Thank you for the feedback, we apologise that the response is only being sent today, due to some technical issues, however, rather a response than none,

Your concerns are noted and being addressed,

Kind Regards

Jerod
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 261 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2011

Been to this hotel dozens of times. The food is always plentiful, freshly prespared and yummy. The staff are amazing, helpful, friendly and fun. but always very professional. The team work so well together. The singer there was brilliant!!!! Thankyou all so much for lots of happy memories.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anglesey_lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerodDurban, General Manager at The Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2015

Dear Anglesea_lass

Thank you for the wonderful feedback, although this response is belated for technical reasons, your feedback is fantastic and appreciated,

Thank You

Jerod
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

No heating in the rooms and it really needed it. TV remote not working properly.
Internet slow and expensive. Phoned twice and got two rates.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadrunnerDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerodDurban, General Manager at The Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2015

Dear RoadrunnerDorset

Thank you for the feedback, we apologize rather belatedly however assure you we are addressing your concerns,

The Hotel is undergoing a full refurbishment program at present, on your next visit you will be pleasantly surprised,

Kind Regards

Jerod
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Having travelled extensively and stayed in countless hotels both on business and with the family I found the Riverside Hotel to be one of the nicest and best hotels I've ever had the pleasure to stay in. I stayed with my family both at the the start and end of a three week holiday in KZN for a total of four nights.
The staff were all very friendly, helpful and competent. The rooms we had we were very big, clean and quiet and the food, particularly dinner, was excellent and great value for money. I just wish more hotels were like this one.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PDB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerodDurban, General Manager at The Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2015

Dear PDB01,

A rather belated thank you but better late than not, thank you for the wonderful feedback, we will keep at it and ensure our service remains up where it belongs,

Kind Regards

Jerod
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

This hotel is nothing special but is reasonable as a business hotel with some nice spa facilities.
The food is plentiful and reasonable quality.
Overall nothing special but I will use again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celticjo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerodDurban, General Manager at The Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2015

Dear Celticjo58

Thank you for the review, we apologise for the belated response, we had a few technical challenges, we are currently refurbishing the hotel to give it that something special, trust you will visit us again soon

Regards

Jerod
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The sirvece was good, The room were excelent quiet & private. Abselute excelent bafet breakfast & a nice resturant, bar on the same property. The Spa was mindblowign. This Hotel is close to the new Madiba Stadiam Aand City Center. Easy accesse from N2 Highway and about 15min drive from the Airport. Very close to Casino.Close to all Durban Beaches and markets. MINDBLOWING RESTURANT IS OSEAN BASKET ON MUSGRAVE AVE, THAT IS A MUST WHENEVER IN DURBAN.

Room Tip: Top Floor River & Sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sinbad013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerodDurban, General Manager at The Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2015

Dear Sinbad 013

Thank you for the stunning review, we apologise for the belated response, due to technical reasons we were responding privately and not on the open platform,

Thank you once again

Regards

Jerod
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

This is a good property, far from the centre of Durban, modern and essentially fit for purpose if you are attending a conference or similar event in it. Be aware that

a) during the winter months there is no heating - the rooms are cold (fortunately there are extra blankets)
b) during my stay only one elevator worked and took forever
c) internet access is charged at unreasonable prices (8 dollars for 30 minutes)
d) breakfast is OK, lunch lacks inspiration (same food every day)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann_Onimme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerodDurban, General Manager at The Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2015

Dear Anne_Onnime

We apologise for the delayed response, your concerns are noted and being addressed,

Due to us answering privately this response was never captured on open forum

Kind Regards

Jerod
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
3.2 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 44 in Durban
1,561 reviews
2.7 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
2.3 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#16 of 44 in Durban
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 44 in Durban
458 reviews
3.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
4.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverside Hotel

Address: 10 Kenneth Kaunda Road, Durban 4065, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Durban
#4 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range: $88 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five minutes from the city centre of Durban, with wonderful views across a magnificent green belt stretching from the Umgeni River to the Indian Ocean. The Riverside Hotel reflect resort life in, the city. One hundred and sixty – nine superbly appointed bed rooms, two Restaurants and a conference facilities have been designed to offer our guests a luxurious and relaxed environment. The Aha Riverside Hotel is a full service hotel. Facilities available include, but are not limited to, 24 hour reception, currency exchange, Conference facility, room service, laundry gym, baby-sitting facilities, restaurant, shuttle quest , tour’s ,Spa , Hop’s pub and grill and much, much more. Discover it for yourself today and drive on down to the Aha Riverside Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing