We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #23 of 41 Hotels in Durban
Cape Town South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

We had a Excellent time at the Royal.
We had a Beautiful Room over looking the Habour.
We went on a Cruise Ship and it was Close the the Habour and central for site seeing.
The transport system Buses services is very good and economical and all the site seeing destination close by.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
2 Thank Abdul Rasheed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastlands_Marketing, Director of Sales at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2015
Good morning

Thank you for staying at The Royal Hotel and for your valuable feedback.

As the new owners who bought the hotel in March this year, we are concentrating fully on restoring THE ROYAL HOTEL to its former glory by improving the facilities and service that was once evident at this 'Grand Lady'.

Coastlands Hotels and Resorts is Kwa-Zulu Natal’s leading innovative hospitality company that prides itself with 4 and 3 star hotels, restaurants and conference venues. We offer Corporate travelers, Travel agent clients, Government departments and Leisure guests facilities that are managed by top hoteliers.

Coastlands Hotels and Resorts is a people focused business based on relationships, which are fluent in integrity, filled with passion and systematically guided with expertise and driven by excellence.

With the focus on hospitality, this leading hospitality company in Kwa-Zulu Natal offers leisure visitors and corporate clients facilities and service of only the highest standard.

The iconic Moses Mabhida stadium, Albert Luthuli Convention Centre (Durban ICC), Suncoast Casino and Africa’s largest theme park, uShaka Marine World is easily accessible from any of our hotels and King Shaka International Airport is less than 40 minutes drive away. Durban, KwaZulu Natal is home to unspoilt beaches, pleasant weather and world-class attractions where you will find any of our hotels.

All areas of our hotels are fully fitted with modern technical equipment to produce efficient results and all departments are fully computerized. Each member of our staff complement are equally trained to execute their duties by using these facilities to give efficient service and prompt responses to the service demands of our guests at any given time.

Coastlands Hotels and Resorts head office provides support to the hotels within the group in terms of overall strategic direction in operations, sales, marketing, human resources, training and financial management. The group recently acquired the iconic Royal Hotel as the focus is to continually improve and maintain current and new facilities that form part of the SNG GROUP. This company concentrates on operating sustainable, profitable and well-developed hotels as well as a number of commercial and industrial properties.

We continually participate in training programs to develop and improve our skilled staff and our recruitment process ensures that we employ staff that is passionate about their careers within the hospitality industry.

Our dedicated Marketing and Sales team is focussed on implementing the latest marketing trends, resulting in new business and to maintain the already well-established business relationships with our clients while our operations team drives the retention of clients and guests that are introduced to our hotels.

It is evident that Coastlands Hotels and Resorts is one of Kwa-Zulu Natal’s leading privately black owned hotel groups and we look forward to welcoming you to any of our hotels.

We look forward to welcoming you again to THE ROYAL HOTEL where you will soon be able to enjoy this hotel's facilities and service at the highest level of expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    54
    43
    22
    30
See reviews for
24
53
14
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cranbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Hotel is not in the part of town that you really want to be staying in. Thou in saying that, I did walk around, during the day only, and had no problems and felt safe enough.
The hotel advertises wi-fi, but charges extra for that.
The gym is no longer, the sauna and spa are also extras, and the pool isn't anything to get excited about.
The room was big and comfortable enough. TV didn't work except for 1 channel.
The bathroom was ok but more than a tad out dated.
But the best thing about the place is the breakfast. Lots of choice , great food and good friendly service.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed over in peak period and honestly this was the best value for money stay we had in Durban. The room had great harbour views and the staff were friendly. The cleaning staff were very competent and helpful. Under new management the Hotel is being revamped and it is improving. The room we stayed in was Huge with a very spacious Bathroom. The pool was Huge and spotless.Guests visiting have to also be realistic. This is an old hotel that had slowly begun to lose its lustre. A few suggestions to improve the quality of sevice: The Shower could do with more lighting and the carpets in the rooms could be modernized. In addition the TV channels were a bit troublesome. Some were not very clear.Maintenance claimed that they were waiting for technicians to sort out the problem. They are trying to improve and if you are not too critical you will have a great stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors have stunning harbour views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eayglyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

This used to be the hotel to stay at, the welcoming top hatted doorman, when that was missing I should have known. The rooms were clean, but the plumbing in the two rooms we had booked both needed attention, not serious, but this is four stars, the A/C, what A/C. Dinner was a disappointment. Breakfast started well with a fairly good buffet spread, however I gave up on my ordered poached eggs after 30 minutes, apparently there is only one chef.

There are a few staff members who must be from the old era and they do try there best, most however have a really slack attitude and have no knowledge on how to present and serve wine as an example. Our waiter at breakfast just removed himself and was quickly replaced by a gem of a gent who had good lively banter about him and was left to apologise for the shortcomings of the breakfast, he should be the supervisor as he did the best job.

I suggest that unless they do a complete overall, they should knock the place down to preserve the good memories this place holds for so many people

Room Tip: Go back 15 years in a time machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DJW13CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoni
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We decided to spend a few days in Durban before the Christmas holiday makers flooded the area and wanting a view of the harbor, we booked in at the Royal. It's a four star hotel that was once graced by Queen Elizabeth herself. She's a grand olde dame that hints at a luxuriant past that is fast fading into the annals of history. The service is excellent and maintenance is on hand to open windows that refuse to open with manual manipulation. (With age comes the expected aches and pains of things not being quite as they should be) The views of the harbor are spectacular; the buffet breakfast is fantastic and the waiters wonderful - especially Patrick who is a genteel relic of times gone by. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!
Just a recommendation - it would be awesome if the windows facing city hall could be cleaned, it spoilt the whole atmosphere of the old world charm and the only really disappointing aspect of the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the higher floors to gain a spectacular view of the harbor and bring binoculars!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenoniTravelot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

This is honestly the worst 4 star hotel I have ever encountered. It was beyond terrible:

- decor/furniture & fittings looked like it hadn't been changed in 20 years
- multiple stains on the carpets
- still had a 20" Nokia CRT TV (the relic belongs in a museum) - no extractor fans in bathrooms so the entire floor smells damp after people wake up and bath
- the food was less than spectacular; not bad but decidedly boring.

I have previously stayed at the 10 woodlands drive guesthouse in durban and I will most certainly be going back there; my dalliance with this hotel has put me off for life!

On a brighter note, the cleaning staff did a decent job

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank K_Tlale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Durban hotels

Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

i had a guest from North Africa come to visit and put him in the Royal Hotel! The Price for his four day stay was very good! compared to the other hotels in durban! service was good, with a great welcome. Suite was great!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kickbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.9 mi away
Pavilion Hotel & Conference Centre
0.7 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#32 of 41 in Durban
3.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#35 of 41 in Durban
3.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#24 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#4 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: 267 Anton Lembede Street, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing