We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$171
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Durban(Durban)
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$192
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$161
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$126
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$115
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Benjamin(Durban)
$123
$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveler rating
29
68
56
26
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
68
56
26
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity halllounge areaenjoyed my staydouble bedreception staffroom was spaciousushaka marine worldplayhouse
Filter
Updating list...
158 - 163 of 215 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed over in peak period and honestly this was the best value for money stay we had in Durban. The room had great harbour views and the staff were friendly. The cleaning staff were very competent and helpful. Under new management the Hotel is being revamped and it is improving. The room we stayed in was Huge with a very spacious Bathroom. The pool was Huge and spotless.Guests visiting have to also be realistic. This is an old hotel that had slowly begun to lose its lustre. A few suggestions to improve the quality of sevice: The Shower could do with more lighting and the carpets in the rooms could be modernized. In addition the TV channels were a bit troublesome. Some were not very clear.Maintenance claimed that they were waiting for technicians to sort out the problem. They are trying to improve and if you are not too critical you will have a great stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors have stunning harbour views.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eayglyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This used to be the hotel to stay at, the welcoming top hatted doorman, when that was missing I should have known. The rooms were clean, but the plumbing in the two rooms we had booked both needed attention, not serious, but this is four stars, the A/C, what A/C. Dinner was a disappointment. Breakfast started well with a fairly good buffet spread, however I gave up on my ordered poached eggs after 30 minutes, apparently there is only one chef.

There are a few staff members who must be from the old era and they do try there best, most however have a really slack attitude and have no knowledge on how to present and serve wine as an example. Our waiter at breakfast just removed himself and was quickly replaced by a gem of a gent who had good lively banter about him and was left to apologise for the shortcomings of the breakfast, he should be the supervisor as he did the best job.

I suggest that unless they do a complete overall, they should knock the place down to preserve the good memories this place holds for so many people

Room Tip: Go back 15 years in a time machine
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DJW13CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We decided to spend a few days in Durban before the Christmas holiday makers flooded the area and wanting a view of the harbor, we booked in at the Royal. It's a four star hotel that was once graced by Queen Elizabeth herself. She's a grand olde dame that hints at a luxuriant past that is fast fading into the annals of history. The service is excellent and maintenance is on hand to open windows that refuse to open with manual manipulation. (With age comes the expected aches and pains of things not being quite as they should be) The views of the harbor are spectacular; the buffet breakfast is fantastic and the waiters wonderful - especially Patrick who is a genteel relic of times gone by. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!
Just a recommendation - it would be awesome if the windows facing city hall could be cleaned, it spoilt the whole atmosphere of the old world charm and the only really disappointing aspect of the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the higher floors to gain a spectacular view of the harbor and bring binoculars!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenoniTravelot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

This is honestly the worst 4 star hotel I have ever encountered. It was beyond terrible:

- decor/furniture & fittings looked like it hadn't been changed in 20 years
- multiple stains on the carpets
- still had a 20" Nokia CRT TV (the relic belongs in a museum) - no extractor fans in bathrooms so the entire floor smells damp after people wake up and bath
- the food was less than spectacular; not bad but decidedly boring.

I have previously stayed at the 10 woodlands drive guesthouse in durban and I will most certainly be going back there; my dalliance with this hotel has put me off for life!

On a brighter note, the cleaning staff did a decent job

Stayed: December 2013
3  Thank K_Tlale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

i had a guest from North Africa come to visit and put him in the Royal Hotel! The Price for his four day stay was very good! compared to the other hotels in durban! service was good, with a great welcome. Suite was great!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kickbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews