We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, could be a little more comfortable”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Mumbai
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good hotel, could be a little more comfortable”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I stayed at the Royal Hotel as an guest of the Durban Film Mart. Also coinciding with the mart was the Durban International Film Festival. The hotel is located well in Durban and the rooms are nice n spacious. The free wifi internet was terrible so if you're staying, make sure you make other arrangements. All in all, its a good business hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chait123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    55
    48
    23
    29
See reviews for
25
56
15
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2011

The Royal is a faded star. It may have been great but it isn't anymore and is definitely NOT worth the price of staying there. We came from the US and we were there for 8 nights while I attended a conference in Durban. We stayed in 3 different rooms during our stay since something was not working in every room we stayed in. In the first room, the mattress was awful! IN the second room, the air conditioning wasn't working and the safe was broken. The room filled with the odor of tobacco smoke. The third room, on the 19th floor, was OK after they got the air conditioning working in that room. Staff were responsive to our complaints but the reception staff were young and often untrained and unhelpful. We called down to ask them to book a reservation for us at a restaurant and were told that they didn't know the phone number so couldn't call. Really? Is that the service one should get from a 5 star hotel? The buffet in the Royal Grill was mixed - some food OK and some not worth it. The cafe service was awful. It took 45 minutes to get a sandwich after telling them that we were on a time line and when we needed to leave. It took 20 minutes to get a beverage. The "free" wi fi is so slow that you can't use it in the rooms. There was a very helpful manager who was responsive to our concerns but the overall management of the hotel seems to not care. I would not stay there again and would recommend spending your travel $ elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank africatraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

I used to stay here in the 80's and a bit later, when it was the best hotel in Durban, with splendid staff and facilities and outstanding food. Now it has gone way down-market, with uncaring and unskilled staff and awful food ( the Indian restaurant has ruined its decor and ambience but the food is still not bad ). The food service is slovenly and much worse than many excellent budget hotel chains, but at inflated prices.
Its 2 star, maybe 3 if you're feeling charitable. But to call it 5-star is ludicrous.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MayuriPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Durban hotels

South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2010

We booked at the Royal Hotel for the weekend of 26/27 November 2010 as it was my husbands birthday, I wanted everything to be perfect, the room was lovely, dinner at the royal grill on Friday night was perfect, the food, the service etc. The service for breakfast at the Carvery on Saturday morning was deplorable, we sat there for over 30 minutes and were not offered a cup of coffee or tea. We ordered 2 sunny side up eggs and 2 well done eggs and 4 mutton sausages as we are Hindus and do not eat pork or beef, all the eggs came well done and the sausages were brought about 30 minutes after the eggs...BURNT. We did not eat that as we were not hungry anymore and were quiet annoyed, I then ordered a cup of tea with the waitress, the saucer was hot but the tea was warm. We were very irritated as this was not what we expected, we stayed at many 4 star hotels overseas (Thailand, Hong Kong, Seychelles, India ands Dubai) yet the service at a 5 star in our own country was so disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sholz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London
Level Contributor
158 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

The hotel is classy, elegant, old and timeless. The dinner at The Grill is an experience, you wont feel the need to move out of your chair fast.

The hotel restaurant, which opens only for lunch, has the most awesome curry, but the restaurant only opens for lunch, but its worth the wait, you wont pay more that R60 for your meal ... great value for money!

The rooms are sizeable, they have a floor for ladies only on the 16th Floor, and they have a lounge area for guest to hold meetings or work from on the 17th Floor.

Its a great spot, you walk to town!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liyabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

The Royal provides the common basics you expect from a 5-star-hotel. Certainly there is a wide range within the group of 5-star-accomodations but the Royal is more located at the bottom. I was missing the flair which you connect with the name “Royal”. The building has -besides the restaurant- the charm of any other 20-storey downtown-hotel-tower. And the “flair” which is produced by the staff is average.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2010

I am not completely surprised to see so many negative reviews of this hotel. Yes it does seem like its old stylish but it would be unfair to not higlight the positive . It seems to be predominantly a matter of tast and for some, interior design and trend this is more important than the little comforts that comes with a five star hotel.

Although the furniture, doors, carpets etc reflect scenes from the mid 1900's its by now means out of touch with luxury and modern technology. Its obviously been upgraded over the years to keep up with the things you want in a 5 star hotel. What struck me is that everything looks relatively brand new (although old style) and one has to apreciate that. I wondered how they kept evreything in such tip-top shape. Bottom line is, it wouldnt have received 5 stars for no reason! The rating of hotels are strict.

Maybe its because, when people read and hear the word, "Royal Hotel", and see its rated a five star, the expect the grandour of luxury combined with the most modern ideas in architecture and interior design. Well, it might be "old styled" but not certianly not old period.

The location might be a bit of a disappointment to some but to business people etc it could be ideal. Its right in centre of Durban. Off course, if you compare it to the hotels on the beach (holiday goers) you would feel that you could have done better. The view of my window overlooked the harbour though and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Another minor dissapointment is, I would say, is the restaurant in the lobby that seemed a little too small. But again, Durban is full of dining choices and this shouldn't put one off too much. In general I had a very comfortable stay there. The staff were very helpful in giving me special parking due to the size of the vehicle I drove too.

Now for the final and difficult question, would I recommend it to a friend? The reason I say its difficult is due to the price. This I would say is the biggest draw back. Having stayed there for work I thoroughly enjoyed it, but to me the hotel is a little pricy. I am personally quite happy with a 4 star hotel that doenst have all the fine tuning of the 5 star hotels. But if you are a person who can afford these services, go for it.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohannesT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.9 mi away
Pavilion Hotel & Conference Centre
0.8 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#32 of 43 in Durban
3.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#35 of 43 in Durban
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#24 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#28 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: 267 Anton Lembede Street, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing