We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gooderson Tropicana Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Benjamin(Durban)
$123
$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Durban(Durban)
$124
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$161
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$126
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$101
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$40
$27
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveler rating
12
34
43
22
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
34
43
22
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalms restaurantadjacent buildinggolden milehotel breakfastplace to sleepshort stayvisit durbansea viewon arrivalhouse keepingan upgradekeep up the good workbusiness tripcleanersiccpromenadevenue
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 130 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Needed an urgent stay, and guess what? Tropicana accommodated us hassle free. An absolute comfort zone - great stay. Thank you for affording me this opportunity - affordable. Will not hesitate to stay with you again. Well done and keep up the good service!

Room Tip: A perfect choice with no regrets
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ritha p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Just a few days before the INDABA conference started Tropicana Hotel was kind enough to let us take part in welcoming all the Indaba exhibitors and visitors, it was beautiful and their staff is very friendly!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zulu_Safaris_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I recently stayed for business for the whole week, yes it is not a 3 star but the service is that of 5star hotel real hospitality indeed. I also saw Department of Home Affairs Officials I managed to interview some of them about the hotel and they said to me Tropicana was like their home far away from home. What is lacking in the hotel is gym facilities

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms and also those on your right hand side for example 705 is partly see facing The suite are excellent especially room 310 and 410.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseN132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

On a shoestring budget?
The Tropicana is the only venue in Durban where you can get a good plate of food for under R30! Menu changes daily in the 'Clipper's Bar' and has tables both inside and out.
I notice that there are many complaints about this hotel, and yes most are true unfortunately.
However, the Clipper's Pub will always see me when I need a quick lunch or dinner at an excellent price!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CruisingSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed for 2nights after the new year 2013.at breakfast I was apalled by the rude remarks made by waiters on the morning of the 4th, they were vocal bout the age difference of sum couple it was none of their business and that does not do the business good i was absolutely in disgust by that behaviour of workers forgetting where their bread is buttered.For them to jump to such conclusions and throw insults it shows lack of good training in hospitality and it was really barbaric management should correct that.I would really like to visit this hotel in future.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwekhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews