We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Edward Hotel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Durban
South Africa
2 reviews
“Edward Hotel experience”
Reviewed October 20, 2009

We decided to stop over in Durban after a delightful week on the North Coast of the KwaZulu Natal Province of South Africa.

The hotel reception appeared clean and professional. We stayed in a sea-facing room on the third floor. On arrival at our room, we were unable to open the door as the electronic lock mechanism was jammed. We had to wait about 10 minutes for technical services to sort out the problem.

On entering the room we found it to be exceptionally small with two single beds placed together to make up for a double bed. The bed was comfortable but the linen had a very strong bleach odour. Complimentary chocolates were placed on both pillows.
The bathroom appeared grimy and requires an urgent upgrade.

Three pay-per-view porn channels in the hotel, at a cost of R150 per night, were prominently advertised on the TV screen.

The noise level was unbearable. The sea view from the hotel is partially obstructed by a playground called “Fun World”. A fairly busy road also runs in front of the hotel. There was constant screaming from the playground in front of the hotel. During the night cars hooted in the street and several intoxicated people walked past and shouted loudly up to the early hours of the morning. This culminated in a sleepless night.

Parking is in the basement of the hotel building. There are very few parking bays available and the fee is exorbitant at R60 per night.

The highlight of our stay at the Protea Hotel Edward was when we finally checked out. Even though we only stayed for a single night, we found it to be one night too long. We shall never return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthernTravellerKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    126
    76
    27
    17
See reviews for
54
101
33
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2009

Excellent service. Otherwise average, but the selection in Durban is limited so you won't do badly to stay here.

Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank travellinshues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kits55
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We stayed at The Edward over a holiday weekend because it was listed in a friend's guide book. We also thought it a good idea to stay along the "Golden Mile" but next time we will definitely be staying in Umhlanga Rocks or Westville.

Our GPS led us to the back door of The Edward but nevertheless Prosper was there to greet us, take our luggage, and show us to the front desk. Check-in took longer than it typically does in the US even though we were the only ones checking in.

The concierge was extremely nice and helpful when we had questions. You can tell The Edward would have been "the" place to stay back in the day. It has lost some of its luster over the years but not to the point that it would be considered a dump.

We were put in room 407 and had a view of the ocean and the amusement park down below. The rooms are tiny compared to US standards (even compared to a Super 8). The previous poster is correct about the grime in the bathrooms, the porn channels, but we had about 25 channels to choose from. Now they have a sign advertising the internet and what you have to do to get it at the check in counter. The grime in the bathroom did not gross me out but maybe it's because I was prepared for it?

We went to bed around 10 pm every night so the screaming at the amusement park did not bother us at all because it was quiet by then. I think it depends on how light of a sleeper you are. I also did not wake up to the sun at sunrise but I can sleep in any light condition. On the other hand my husband did wake up but he wakes up early during the week anyway.

We had the Sunshine breakfast everyday in the restaurant. There was only one lady who was rude to us but overall the restaurant staff were fantastic. Our friend's table was uneven and would rock. A lady came out with a little piece of folded up paper and stuck it under the table so it wouldn't rock anymore. It would be ideal to have a table that was sturdy in the first place but our friend's barely even noticed the rock! I was very impressed!

Our friends had a tricky door handle and one day we were waiting for them to get into their room. An employee came by, saw they were having problems and tried to get in for them. He used his key card to get them in and was friendly.

I will admit the pool is tiny, and it's on top of the roof...looking over the city, NOT the ocean! There is no hot tub and the pool was freezing; it's obviously not heated.

One night as we were leaving we were approached by a homeless man trying to tell us he had been mugged and the cops wouldn't believe him, etc. We hadn't left the hotel yet so one of the valets came out. As soon as he came over the guy ran away to another car.

I did NOT feel safe in this area. Safe is relative because the places I've lived in the US have always been extremely safe so it's more of a shock for me than it might be for someone who has lived in large cities before. There are a lot of street people and "riff raff" as my friend put it. I felt safe at UShaka Marine World but a friend who grew up in Durban said even she does feel safe in that area driving at night.

We did not see any violence while we were there but it's probably a better bet to stay north of Durban in Umhlanga Rocks. If you are staying at the Edward, plan to arrive during the daylight hours because you will feel safer.

A previous reviewer mentioned The Edward as free valet parking...they do not. We had to pay R60 extra per day but were never told that. We were told by the valet as we were leaving so it may not be the check out people that tell you about the extra fee.

I will point out again how surprisingly great the service was. My husband realized the night we got home he had left some of his favorite clothes hanging in the closet. He called immediately and they told him they would call him back. They did not but the next day when he called they had his clothes! That shocked me because I've had completely the opposite experience with lost shoes. The lady he spoke with, Prim Rose said his items would be mailed out the next day. And they were! They got here when she said they would. He had to pay them to send them but I'm surprised he even got them back.

I think the cost of staying at the Edward is not equal to what you experience overall because of the tiny room size (all hotels are like this here from what I hear), the expensive breakfast buffet which we did not try due to the price, less than ideal location, and the decor and hotel itself need upgrades.

If I had to find a place to stay along the Golden Mile I would stay at the Garden Court because their pool is also on the roof but it has a glass bottom which looks really awesome.

One other word of note, here every single place of accommodation that I've looked up (dozens and dozens of places ranging from super cheap to really fancy) consider a "twin room" for a couple as two beds pushed together. It is very difficult to find anywhere that has a queen bed or a king bed. It's always just two small beds pushed together. This is how The Edward does it too.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kits55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, Calif
Level Contributor
136 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2009

I was born and raised in Durban, and this was my fourth trip back to the city after I emigrated to the states in the early 70s. At the time I left, the Hotel Edward had a legendary reputation so I decided to give it a try, booking in for three nights before I relocated to a bed and breakfast in the suburbs up on South Ridge Road. I had an ocean view room on the third floor -- well, sort of a view because the amusement park in front of the hotel on the beach dominated much of what I saw . . . and heard (ie a lot of shouting as people enjoyed themselves in the park). Otherwise the room was tiny, the bathroom somewhat old and dilapidated, and the rest of the hotel facilities forgettable. Food wasn't that great either, and overpriced to boot, notwithstanding the favorable exchange rate (at the time around R7=$1). I wasn't paranoid about walking out on the street but never really felt that safe anyway, based on what all of my friends in the city said. I was so very disappointed with my stay here (years of thinking it was such a great place went down the drain once I was there!) and was even more so when the B&B place I moved to ended up offering so much more for so much less in expense. Would I ever think about going back to the Edward? Nope, I dont think so!

I am returning to Durban again this August and, yes, going back to the B&B on the hill.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AbeLincoln115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Durban hotels

Martignacco, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2008

I booked this hotel for 3 nights, from november 28 to december 1 but after the first night I decided to quit.

These are the main reasons:
As they want you to say, lets' start with the HOT features:
- Comfy beds
- REALLY good selection of food at restaurant for dinner and breakfast
- Educate staff

Let's go on with the NOT features:
- Even if they sell you internet connection (about 11€ per hour!!) it didn't work except for a few minutes of web browsing randomly given through the afternoon.
Called the reception, the only thing they could do was to call the computer technician, but he wasn't able to fix the problem.
At the end I asked the complete refund for my internet connection card, but they only gave me a 50% discount on it.
You have to go and buy internet connection cards at the reception, but when you check-in they won't say about it, so you have to make another trip down to the lobby to get it.
- Electric plug in the room is fitted only with SA plug (all the other hotel I stayed give automatically the adapter). You have to go down, ask, and pray they have still one (50Rand will be applied to your room bill to ensure you return the "apparatus" - for maximum precision they gave me 1 that was not working and I had to go down 2 times to have a new one)
- Rooom even if it seems clean, it is terribly dirty (some photos included) and needs a complete refurbishing, from A to Z
- Hairdryer was dirty of some oil substance
- Tv includes only 11 channels. They only gave you discovery channel and cnn (or bbc) as international ones). But if you want there are 3 channels stuffed with porno goodies (13-14-15)
- Rooms (facing the sea) are very noisy during the night since the glasses are very thin and not well insulated.
- If you are in a room facing the sea be prepared to wake up as the sun rise since the shading provided by the tents is ridiculous
- The pool on the 7th floor is good only to watch. You simply can't swim over that water hole!
- Elevators (2) facing extreme vibrations when working

I think I said everything.
Enjoy the photos

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Cleaniness
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lucapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
117 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2008

No-one goes to Durban as a tourist. It's a dangerous city, and it isn't attractive. You're there to see family, or you're there (like me) on business. If the latter, the Edward is as good as anywhere. It's on the Esplanade North, you can get a room (like mine) with a sea view, it's secure, the staff are well trained. There's one restaurant, pretty good (but not outstanding) for breakfast, acceptable for dinner. And the value is okay.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Internet connection wobbly
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bagster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2008

I was recently down in Durban for business reasons. As a Prokard holder I chose this hotel.

The location is difficult as Durban's Marine Parade (beach front area) has such a bad name. It is however right over the road from the beach and the view is as good as it gets in Durban, it is really central and certainly suited my needs.

A previous review reffered to muggings and Durban being "just about the most dreadful seaside town in the world". I personally never witnessed any muggings or any other such incidents at all. I believe that in Durban, as in any such area in the world, you need to be aware. I happily jogged down the seaside on my own every evening and was not even vaguely threatened!

In any event I have been to far worse seaside towns in the UK so found it strange that this review was in fact written by an Englishman!

I do however strongly agree that Umhlanga Rocks is incomprably better.

The hotel reception is modern and clean, reception was handled as well as any hotel I have visited. The hotel offers free valet parking which is well worth using.

The lifts while dated are in fine working order.

My suite was (as a Prokard holder) upgraded and was really brilliant. It is beautifully furnished and had everything I could have asked for. The floor is a travertine and the attention to detail for eg cornices and architraves give the room a warm and comfortable feeling. The view from the spacious balconies (one off the bedroom and another off the living area) is as I said good. The bathroom also looks newly renovated and was well stocked with towels, soaps etc.

The housekeeping staff were quiet and effiecient and do a great job.

The bar downstairs was a welcome destination each evening and is also really classy (in the same victorian style as the rest of the hotel). The restaurant is incredibly obliging and actually made a curry for me which was not a menu item (ordered that morning).

The swimming pool is also a great place to get to after a hot and humid day out.

I really was impressed with this hotel and if you are going to be in Durban it is more then worth trying.

  • Liked — central location, more than helpful staff, lovely room
  • Disliked — Durban
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 42 in Durban
1,340 reviews
0.6 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.9 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 42 in Durban
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 42 in Durban
570 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#15 of 42 in Durban
131 reviews
1.2 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 42 in Durban
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Address: 149 O R Tambo Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Protea Hotel by Marriott(R) Durban Edward harks back to a time of Victorian elegance. This world-famous hotel has played host to princes and presidents, field marshals, millionaires and movie stars since 1911. Whether you are travelling for business or leisure purposes, the Protea Hotel by Marriott(R) Durban Edward is ideally situated on the Golden Mile. Take off your shoes and feel the soft, beach sand between your toes. Make sure you have your swimsuit because a dive in the warm waters of the Indian Ocean is hard to resist. Cool off whilst you walk along the promenade, which allows you to walk from uShaka Marine world to Suncoast Casino. For those travelling on business we are situated 5 minutes away from Durban CBD and the ICC (International Convention Centre). We are within easy access to all major highways and King Shaka Airport is a mere 35 minutes away so getting to all those meetings is not a hassle. Return to our graceful and stylish rooms, which are all equipped with LCD TV's, en-suite bathrooms, executive work desks, wireless internet access and over half of the rooms have remarkable sea views. The Protea Hotel by Marriott(R) Durban Edward with its personalised friendly service and extremely comfortable rooms offers a luxurious holiday experience or a professional business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing