We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
929 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We had a very good stay at the Protea Edward. In addition to staying the we had lunch, dinner and breakfast at the hotel.

All of the food was great, service generally was very good, but service a tad tardy at dinner time. The buffet for dinner was quite comprehensive and well prepared.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CocoTampa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    132
    83
    31
    17
See reviews for
58
107
35
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Best Hotel in Durban! They upgraded our room to a suite once they heard we were getting married, at no extra charge, amazing service beautiful rooms and views, with a stunning restaurant! Thank you so much for our amazing stay! ;)

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room! Its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan_Brink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Stayed for a night on business where all these hotels have great views of the Ocean.

Check in was smooth and the receptionists were very firendly.

My room however didnt have a direct view of the sea - and seeing as though the hotel wasnt anywhere near full - I couldnt understand that. Make sure you ask for a room with a "direct" view of the sea.

My first impression was that the room was dark, small and rather old- although clean.

I dont like having to climb into a bath to have a shower- so no separate shower I am afraid.

There is wi fi - although not unlimited.

The barman Mani was very friendly and its worth having a drinbk just to meet him.

Breakfast was average at R160 - again all the staff were friendly.

Nothing that stands out and says "visit me again" but I was on business- so maybe a better choice if you are on vacation in summer.

Room Tip: As mentioned - ask for a direct view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stayed for business reasons st this hotel during Spring season. Hotel has all amenities you could wish for including a pool overlooking the promenade. Had a nice room with a view over the beach. Breakfast was good, plenty of choice.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thung673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We were pleased we chose this hotel at the start of our touring holiday of KwaZulu-Natal. We stayed for two nights and would have no hesitation is going back here when in Durban. We arrived at the rear of the hotel and immediately the luggage was taken from the car to reception and then the car parked in secure underground parking (small charge/night). The hotel is spacious well maintained with a grand dining room with chandeliers and bar furnished in dark wood.

We were fortunate to have a sea-view room which was excellent, very clean, well serviced and overlooked the magnificent front and promenade of Durban, vibrant both day and night. A great place to watch the world go by.

We ate in the hotel on both nights, once in the restaurant and once on the terrace overlooking the promenade. and on both occasions were very satisfied with the standard and quality of the food. Breakfast was the usual buffet style with plenty of choice and we would particularly recommend the omelette which were made to order in front of you.

Perhaps the only downside was the pool which was located on the top floor at the back of the building and was a little small with views over Durban (not the best)

Overall a good place to stay and withing easy reach of uShaka Marine World, wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony overlooking the promenade and ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LancashireWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

The hotel feels a bit old fashioned, though it's clean and comfortable. The air conditioning unit in my room emitted a terrible noise. When I asked for it to be fixed, a member of staff simply turned up the temperature. Had to sleep with the unit off. Balcony with seaview was a bonus (though it was rainy and dull). Dinner in the restaurant was average. Breakfast was good. Pleasant bar with friendly, helpful barman.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlistairR111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay . This hotel is very well maintained and professionally managed . This is not the case in some Durban hotels and I advise first time visitors to Durban to check carefully before selecting a hotel. Hotel staff were very helpful , room was good with a sea view ( at no cost ) and the food was excellent. The hotel has an open air verandah bar overlooking the beach area which is just right for a glass of wine before dinner.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterLinksway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,421 reviews
0.6 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.9 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#16 of 43 in Durban
598 reviews
1.2 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#6 of 43 in Durban
454 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#17 of 43 in Durban
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Address: 149 O R Tambo Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward harks back to a time of Victorian elegance. This world-famous hotel in Durban, South Africa has played host to princes and presidents, field marshals, millionaires and movie stars since 1911. Whether you are travelling for business or leisure purposes, the Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward is ideally situated on the Golden Mile. Take off your shoes and feel the soft, beach sand between your toes. Make sure you have your swimsuit because a dive in the warm waters of the Indian Ocean is hard to resist. Cool off whilst you walk along the promenade, which allows you to walk from uShaka Marine world to Suncoast Casino. For those travelling on business we are situated 5 minutes away from Durban CBD and the ICC (International Convention Centre). We are within easy access to all major highways and King Shaka Airport is a mere 35 minutes away so getting to all those meetings is not a hassle. Return to our graceful and stylish rooms, which are all equipped with LCD TV's, en-suite bathrooms, executive work desks, wireless internet access and over half of the rooms have remarkable sea views. The Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward with its personalised friendly service and extremely comfortable rooms offers a luxurious holiday experience or a professional business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing