We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this if you can!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Avoid this if you can!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Very poor service had to wait ages for our meal. Waited over an hour for bottled water to be sent to our room as my husband was sick. Eventually had to go down to reception for it. Some staff at reception rude to guests who we're being perfectly reasonable.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinhard W, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Diane H

Thank you for providing us with feedback and for posting it on TripAdvisor. It is our goal to meet and exceed GUEST expectations and it is concerning to me that your experience does not resemble this.

We would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the disappointment. We would like to assure you that this is not our normal standard. All GUESTS are very important to us and everything possible is done by our hotel TEAM to ensure that our GUESTS feel as special and valued as they are. I would like to discuss your service experience in more detail, please let me know when would be a convenient time for me to contact you or email me on gm@proteaedward.co.za

Kind regards
Reinhard Walzl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    133
    83
    32
    17
See reviews for
58
108
35
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
JOHANNESBURG
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We visited the PH Edward on 4/10/2013, we were with our kids and a guy walked into the room behind my husband. Apparently he was begging, how do you allow a beggar in and to the 3rd floor as well? what if he was armed? The receptionist refused to transfer us to the manager. It is so scary in the manner they handled this. They take forever to respond. I am so disgusted. apparently the guy was arrested. The guard was asleep in the parking area at 8pm already. Hoping this does not happen to any other quests. Worst of all they are marketing the "New Revamped Golden Mile"

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank TERISHA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Durban hotels

Empangeni, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Myself, my husband, and our two small boys (aged 5 and 2) stayed 2 nights in a family room. The room was more than big enough, and so was the bathroom. Well above what we expected. We had an excellent sea view, and the windows are child proofed with the latches high up so we didn't have to worry about the kids opening the windows, which was a big plus. Everything was spotlessly clean inside the room.
The service from staff was excellent. The room service and restaurant staff, as well as housekeeping and the porter were very friendly. And the ladies in the parking garage were so accommodating and went above and beyond, as they actually blocked our parking when we went out during the day, so that we could get the same parking when we came back.
We had the buffet breakfast and it was very plentiful, with lots of choice. We also over the 2 days had Nacho's and the platter for 1 as room service. These were both very delicious. I would definitely recommend these from the menu.
All in all, we had an excellent trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JLizB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I Spent two nights here with friends who were visiting from Joburg. Rooms are clean with sea view and service is friendly and helpful . Bar is well stocked with live sports . Food comes in two choices buffet or al carte menu, both are good. Would recommend to anyone on a short visit

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amber2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights while in Durban and I have to say it was a very nice hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful, steps from the beach, within walking distance to Ushaka Marine World. I wouldn't stray too far from the beach front though, pretty seedy if you ask me but I think all of Durban is kind of like that in this area. If you aren't into the English breakfast, skip it, not worth the price, although you can order a la cart which is considerably cheaper. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The little veranda with table and chairs was perfect, beautiful views of the ocean. The bathrooms, yes, they need some TLC, but ours was not so bad. It would have been nice to know that the pool was "out of order" but everyone else there seemed to think it was the frozen tundra (it was not cold at all) so perhaps it was just closed for the winter season. It is also much smaller than you think it is going to be but who care, you have the ocean right there, who needs a pool? Use their hotel airport transfer service... The company they use has a very friendly driver who acts as a tour guide along the way. It is worth the cost, which isn't that much anyway. One funny thing that kept happening, no matter where we were one of the employees would wave frantically smiling and saying "Hello Mrs. Cl...!" I don't think I even met the guy. It was more funny than creepy... The staff was excellent. My husband and I kept remarking at how it felt like we were in an Agatha Christie Poirot novel. (The atmosphere...there were no dead bodies turning up I promise!) All in all a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marbacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamworth
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

had a two night stay on our trip to Africa and we entered the lobby to find grandeur and luxury as was the restaurant and bar. Unfortunately that's where it ended. Our room was clean but dated and the bathroom was woeful. Greasy floor, the sealant round the bath was coming away and black. We washed a few smalls and tried in vain to pull the washing line out. There seemed to be a piece of the door to the balcony cut away which let in the wind and noise from outside. and the hairdryer worked intermittingly, (loose wire) ? Again we found a U.K. socket in the room.
Food was very nice, there is an a la carte menu but we chose the buffet. Lots of choice and as much as you wanted.
later we sat at the bar and I saw a waitress with a clean tray of cutlery drop a few knives and forks onto the floor. She promptly picked them up and put them back on the tray???
The concierge desk were very helpful and told us to go left out of the building rather than right as it is safer if we wanted a stroll.
Views from the hotel are very nice as it is on the seafront. Bar is nice and relaxing with sport on the TV's and the bartender Mannie is most helpful. If you want a steak get a cab to Butcher Boys restaurant, I had a T-bone, must have been 40mm thick, delicious.
Breakfast is again buffet style and plenty of it but let down by the service. My partner asked for tea and got coffee so I asked for it to be replaced by tea and she poured another coffee.! ask for breakfast tea and you should get what you want.
There seemed to be a lot of business people there but I would have thought there were better hotels in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TamworthSpidey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The hotel is very well located and the sea view rooms offer an amazing view. We could just walk down to the beach or the Theron point of interest on the golden mile.

The rooms are nicely sized but the bathroom need a clear refurbishment: the shower curtains was very dirty and moldy, the towels where not very clean and old and cleaning was bad.

The swimming pool was in refurbishment but we were not informed about it before the booking.

The staff was very friendly and tried their best to help but when we asked to the concierge to book a restaurant for us he told us that the he could not use the phone ...

Nice breakfast and great bar !

If you get a great deal go there but do not expect a spotless experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Freddie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinhard W, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Freddie P
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I would like to sincerely apologise for not meeting all your expectations. I confirm therefore that your comments have been followed up and remedial action has been taken to ensure that our GUESTS are not inconvenienced in this way again.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that our GUESTS’ expectations are being met and exceeded. Without your comments, we would never know when we are doing right, but more importantly, when we are doing wrong! Thank you for assisting us to strive for service excellence. The STAFF aim to create our warm and friendly environment for all GUESTS and they will be pleased to hear of your positive comments

We certainly look forward to hosting you again soon and trust that you'll have a more enjoyable stay on your return trip

Kind regards
Reinhard Walzl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,432 reviews
0.6 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.9 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#17 of 43 in Durban
606 reviews
1.2 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
457 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Address: 149 O R Tambo Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward harks back to a time of Victorian elegance. This world-famous hotel in Durban, South Africa has played host to princes and presidents, field marshals, millionaires and movie stars since 1911. Whether you are travelling for business or leisure purposes, the Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward is ideally situated on the Golden Mile. Take off your shoes and feel the soft, beach sand between your toes. Make sure you have your swimsuit because a dive in the warm waters of the Indian Ocean is hard to resist. Cool off whilst you walk along the promenade, which allows you to walk from uShaka Marine world to Suncoast Casino. For those travelling on business we are situated 5 minutes away from Durban CBD and the ICC (International Convention Centre). We are within easy access to all major highways and King Shaka Airport is a mere 35 minutes away so getting to all those meetings is not a hassle. Return to our graceful and stylish rooms, which are all equipped with LCD TV's, en-suite bathrooms, executive work desks, wireless internet access and over half of the rooms have remarkable sea views. The Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward with its personalised friendly service and extremely comfortable rooms offers a luxurious holiday experience or a professional business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing