We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you use the same Hotel for 17 years, they must be doing something rigbt!!!!”
Review of Blue Waters Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blue Waters Hotel
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We got married at this Hotel 17 years ago and still using it every time we go to Durban. During their renovations it was a bit hectic, but it seems normal again. Tip - book early during school breaks and check in early to get Hotel parking. Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johannes G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (618)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

451 - 457 of 618 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

We booked at the Blue Waters holtel in Durban, stayed there may times before, this time the experience was diffirent.

We called to ask for a early check in as driving all morning from Johannesburg, we were so tired, just needed to freshen up, unfortunately we were not allowed to check -in before 2.00pm.
The lifts were out of order, and they didnt even organised a porter to take our bags to our room.

The place is in a mess because of the renovation that is currently taking place there.
The noise is really bad all day , the room that was given to us is a corner unit where we could hear all the noise from the other rooms all day and noght long, eg: the showers going on and the kids running up and down.
the service is going down,

Building rubble all over the stairs cases really not a pleasant place to stay if you want a peace and quiet .
Breakfast is a such a mission, you can find a place to sit because it was packed , nobody bothers to seave you coffee, got to keep asking, the minuted you get up from your table to dish up your food , your table is taken by other guest.,

We were also moved around telling us those tables were booked for some other people.

On making a reservation i requested a full facing room that was given to me was a partial sea view, and instead we looging into the dump area.
There front desk or reception women are not helpful and very unfriendly.

I dont think i would go back there again.

Room Tip: They have a indoor pool that nobody uses because it ice cold. You are not even told about the sona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reddygirl312578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was my first stay-over to The Blue Waters Hotel and I can recommend and honestly confirm what a memorable and pleasurable stay I had.
All the staff at the Blue Waters Hotel was very friendly and professional at all times. I will definitely be visiting soon and this time, bringing my family along :) With the ocean and the places so close and the people mover bus on route to take you where-ever you need to go, I could not have chose a better place :) Well Done BWH :)

Room Tip: Definitely, the 17th floor - and without a doubt - sea view facing , of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claudia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Raymond Ndou and Phophi Mudau we are couples from Gauteng we stayed for 4 days the hotel is next to Moses Mabida,Southcoast casino,the beach is by the door of the hotel,ushaka marine not far . Best baffer breakfast and competative prices but there are two things they have to improve the Dinner it must accomodate everyone not sea food only and the Dstv service must improve I must feel the best out of the hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raymond and Phophi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I booked a 3 night stay starting on August 13th 2013 at The Blue Waters Hotel. The room rate was extremely competitive and I was informed on the booking that renovations were underway at the property and some noise could be expected. No disturbance was encountered & I was also pleasantly surprised to find that breakfast was included in the rate. The breakfast buffet is served in a very attractive dining room overlooking the beach & the selection of food on offer is as good as at any 5 star hotel.

Our newly renovated King size room was on the 6th floor with a balcony and sea view. The room was tiled throughout with a flat screen T.V, a fully stocked coffee / Tea selection and as noted in other reviews, a newly fitted out bathroom with a superb walk in shower.

The hotel itself is located at the quieter Northern end of the Durban strip, a couple of minutes walk along the promenade to the Gold Coast Casino entertainment complex & close to the World Cup Soccer stadium.

The Blue Dolphin bar & restaurant in the hotel is also a great place to grab a bite or drink. I was travelling with my 5 year old Son and the bartender Daniel and all the staff at the Blue Dolphin went over and above in making both of us feel very welcome. So much so in fact that their hospitality and great service prompted us to stay on for an extra night. Excellent Pizza's hand prepared on site are approx 55 ZAR ($5.50) & all the food & drink offerings are very keenly priced. There is a also a large & very pleasant Al Fresco dining area.

Great value, friendly staff, a great stay..

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueW, Manager at Blue Waters Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear Valued Customer,

Thanks you for your feedback, we look forwarded to seeing you again soon.

Your in Hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Couples from limpopo NDIVHU &RUDZI, The place was very beautiful, the room was exellent actual nothing to regret everythng was Perfect even the breakfast was xap xap all the times,friendly stuff, safe car paking, big bedroom wth a balcony nd sea facing view, they offer us wth a baby cordbed at the room,affordable rate Wow eish we stil wish go there again nd we wi cum bk soon, Thanx blue waters stuff and management

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ndiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueW, Manager at Blue Waters Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear Valued Guest


Thanks you for you feedback, we are glad that you had a good stay with us.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Yours in Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The Blue Waters Hotel in Durban, South Africa, is located on the popular golden mile beach front, about 200 meters from the warm Indian Ocean. I stayed there during August 2013. It was my first stay, but surely not my last one! This 3 Star hotel has real 5 Star performance. The rooms are excellent and spacious. The bathroom has a large shower which can easily accommodate a couple. :-)
The elegant breakfast room overlooks the beach front. The breakfast is absolute adoring with so much to choose from. The breakfast makes provision for local and international tastes. The Blue Dolphin Bar/Restaurant also serves drinks and snacks throughout the day.
There is ample parking in the basement area, but bookings for a parking space are essential. Parking overnight in the street, may be a security risk.
There is no fitness center at the hotel, but a wide range of entertainment facilities are nearby.
Credit cards are gladly accepted. Online bookings are also available.
The hotel is located within easy walking distance from the Sun Coast Casino, where you will find a lot to do and many restaurants.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a sea-facing room. These rooms have balconies and you can view the sun when it c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank engeltjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.0 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
447 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.7 mi away
Pavillion hotel
Pavillion hotel
#27 of 43 in Durban
101 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Waters Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Hotel

Address: 175 Snell Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
Price Range: $61 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Waters Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Waters Hotel is a three star beach front hotel located on Durban's famous Golden Mile in KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa. The Blue Waters Hotel specializes in offering the best accommodation at affordable rates to corporate business, honeymooners, sports teams, groups and holiday makers alike. We also specialize in hosting unforgettable wedding receptions. We have a number of wedding venues to choose from depending on the size of the function required. The hotel offers business conference and function facilities for small to large events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Blue Waters Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Hotel Durban
Blue Waters Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing