We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Takes you back in time but contemporary”
Review of Blue Waters Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Blue Waters Hotel
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Blue waters hotel in Durban is situated in a convenient, easy to access but also close to destination sites of the city center. The hotel itself is an aging facility which is undergoing cumulative improvements. The price for the service is way high given WiFi is paid for separately and only accessible on ground and second floors. Breakfast is great and food average. Within range to the classic Moses Mabidah stadium and the sand dune conservancy is the magnificent multipurpose 6.5 km track which any jogger will love. A few walk's away in either direction take sot numerous restaurants and entertaining casino but don't forget to take a sky car up the stadium or hike from the southern end and do swing jump across the stadium.

Room Tip: Rooms have a great ocean view
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shulwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (610)
There are newer reviews for Blue Waters Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 610 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

The hotel has been around a while, and looks it. There are few seats in the 1960s-looking reception area, and given that the wifi doesn't work in the rooms, you must either use the lounge or the stand in reception to access it. The restaurant and lounge look like they belong to another hotel, all pseudo-French (pre-revolution!) with plush seats and gilt -- just don't look too closely in the corners or at the ceilings, where the dust and cracks show. My room was a sea-facing "executive suite", on the 15th floor I think. The bathroom smelled of midew and the ceiling was stained, and in one corner of the bedroom the paint was peeling, cracking and 'bubbling'. The furniture in the sitting room was tired and scuffed. I had to wear shoes because I got dirty feet going bareoot in the room. The indoor swimming pool was unavailable because it is (bizarrely!) in a function room, which was hosting a function. I have no idea if it ever is available. Positive notes -- great seafront location and excellent breakfast buffet. (note: I stayed for three nights in late Feb 2013.)

Room Tip: Sea facing, and high up. Corner suites have a balcony at front and at the side.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank name-not-allowed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I had a mixed experience at this hotel, though my overall feeling was generally positive.
First the good:
- directly by the sea, just cross the street and there's a guarded beach where you can swim in the sea, and showers to wash off afterwards.
- reception regularly had free cakes on offer in the afternoon - excellent!
- food generally very good - the lunch and breakfast buffet selections were tasty and varied.
- rooms are a good size, the sea-facing ones are nice.
- the hotel has a certain retro-charm, the reception area is very 1960s and the dining room is very old school/old boys club style.
- staff are friendly and cheerful

The not-so-good:
- there are four lifts, only two of which serve floors 10-16 (the other two go up to the 10th only). One of the these upper lifts was broken for 4 of the 5 days I was there - you'd think that fixing the lifts would be a priority, especially as the others also had a tendency to temporarily break down.
- the wifi service is terrible. Not only do you have to pay for vouchers, they often didn't proivde the stated MB once you logged in, and I couldn't get wifi signal in my room so had to sit in the corridor to get online. Not ideal for working. There was no wifi signal at all in the conference room we used for our meeting. If a hotel is going to charge a not insignificant fee for wifi, it should work perfectly everywhere within the building.
- my first room was a big family room (a double and two twin beds), at the back of the hotel, still with a sea view side-on. The hairdryer was kept in the desk drawer. I turned on the hairdryer, pointed it at my head, and two cockcroaches flew out! More cockroaches appeared over two days so I eventually moved to a much fresher double room on the 10th floor, directly overlooking the sea. No cockroaches there.

Despite the cockcroaches and the terrible wifi, I'd say this is a good bet if you want to be by the beach.

Room Tip: Best to stay on the beach-fronting rooms - and floors 5-9 are currently being redone, so they'll...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThaiDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very nice stay here. Good service and nice food. Breakfast buffet a good start to the day. We were on one of the top floors and had a great view of the Durban Beachfront.
The room we had was VERY comfortable and tidy. Well serviced and the staff were very friendly.
If I was in Durban again it would be my choice of stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a great view
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Arriving at hotel greeted by porter who then after checked in took it directly to suite and then proceeded to show us all facilitees in suite.The receptionists were very proffesional and friendly.As it was our last hotel on our drive from cape town we decided to have a suite ahd we were on 11th floor with sea views and balconies in living areas and bedroom.We cold not fault the comfort and ceanliness of the hotel.We had room service which was modestly priced only a R10tray charge about 80p in sterling and it was really good value for money club sandwiches with salad and chips about £3.80p each were would you get that in hotel in uk.The price of hotel was so reasonable ....only disadvantage was that durban itself was not to our liking manic taxi drivers tooting horns and driving like maniacs.Buffet breakfast good

Room Tip: If travelling from uk book a suite excellent value with exchange rate. Go for higher rooms as busy r...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggie416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This was our first stay in this beach front hotel ,and our first visit to Durban although the previous night we stayed in a Boutique Hotel, this would never be as nice.The bedrooms had been recently
renovated and were slightly more modern ,the bed very comfortable.Our room was 10 floors up with a sea view over the North Beach which was lovely. Didn`t like the fact that work started about 8.30 am with a rock drill hammering the outside wall which was not very pleasant.The dinning area was from a previous era and had yet to be improved.The main reception and lifts had been improved also the bar and garden area,but several floors were under serious renovation. It was quite good value and had an excellent buffet type breakfast. No doubt when its fully repaired the prices will go up.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I really can't think of any way to describe this hotel other than average. The hotel in general still has the 1970s feel, although the rooms have been renovated and are a bit more modern. The standards of cleanliness leave a lot to be desired - I notice a lot of previous reviewers pointed out that the bathroom is not particularly clean. When we checked in they were "offline" and could not provide us with a key to our room, which was irritating, as the porter had to let us in with the master key every time we got back in (felt like school!) Then again, compared to other Durban Golden Mile hotels, this one is reasonably priced - so I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentTravellerKV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.0 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
443 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.7 mi away
Pavillion hotel
Pavillion hotel
#27 of 43 in Durban
99 reviews
1.5 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#25 of 43 in Durban
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Waters Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Hotel

Address: 175 Snell Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
Price Range: $62 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Waters Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Waters Hotel is a three star beach front hotel located on Durban's famous Golden Mile in KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa. The Blue Waters Hotel specializes in offering the best accommodation at affordable rates to corporate business, honeymooners, sports teams, groups and holiday makers alike. We also specialize in hosting unforgettable wedding receptions. We have a number of wedding venues to choose from depending on the size of the function required. The hotel offers business conference and function facilities for small to large events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Waters Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Hotel Durban
Blue Waters Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing