We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Blue Waters Durban south AFRICA,,,,an excellent place to stay and Great Breakfast ..best in world”
Review of Blue Waters Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Blue Waters Hotel
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Reviewed January 18, 2013

i havean oppurtunity to travel accepting Dr Mandelas Press invitaion to tour south Africa. My Best durban Friend late MK BOBBY NAIDU a travel agent witha legendary role he played to promote South African Tourism .iwas luckiest one .Mr MK Bobby came to AIRPORT Durban along with my Durban Friend Mr devon Moodley to take me to Hotel Blue waters .as it was the first time in 1994, i was so thrilled to see the beauty of Durban and wonderful BeachFront Hotel BLUE WATERS> I was so amazed to see a big Break fast Room i have never seen in any where i travelled in Singapore Malysia Nepal thailand Hong-Kong and USA , Hawaii etc.
so i feel it isa great experience to stay in Hotel Blue waters and enjoy the Beach Front.
S.a.alagarsamy
Travel writer in 1994 -95 . Visited South Africa and Mauritius 4 times..

Room Tip: Here in This Hotel ask Beachfront view to enjoy Rain and waters.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alagarsamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (610)
There are newer reviews for Blue Waters Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

487 - 493 of 610 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

This has to be the worst hotel experience I've ever had. Breakfast is terrible, they have surely over booked the hotel as one has to wait up to an hour yo be allocated a table for breakfast and the waiting area is over crowded.
Uncoordinated table allocation, two mornings they simply overlooked us and I had to complain to be given a table.

The staff are so overwhelmed by the numbers they don't even know whether they are coming or going, the is no management visible at all. This place doesn't deserve to graded at all let alone being given a three star status.

A terrible hotel overall.!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ayanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We booked it one week prior to departure and the price was still pretty good.
The location is amazing if you wish to spend your day on the beach or wanna go for a casino, party or for a food experience.
First we got a room on the 4th floor..what was totally rubbish.. stains on the floor carpet..burned curtains and awful bathroom.
The feeling of the room and hotel was at first sight... like we are in the 1960s in a brothel in India.

We complained to the front desk and from the second night we got a room on the 11th.
That was just amazing! A fully renovated and clean room with perfect view. Even can call a 4star experience.

Thank you for the front desk ladies for their nice and very helpful attitude.

Take the note! Ask for a higher room.

Room Tip: Only above the 10th floor for Europeans. Lower levels only for adventurers!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raphaelooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Beautiful rooms but in certain areas of the room they look chipped and neglected. I was assigned to a Deluxe Suite for with my family. The renovated rooms are looking good. Wonderful walk-in rain shower and tastefully decorated bathroom. Housekeeping should pay attention to cleaning: The toilet(smelled of urine), under the beds(a lot of dust). We didn't however get our water and daily treats which was a let down. The reception is friendly and efficient. The breakfast was wonderful- fresh fruits, excellent beverages, the scones! I would however like to show my concern of the greasy bacon strips. There was more fat strips on the bacon than the bacon itself. I have been staying at this hotel every December since 2003 and despite the renovations, I was still a bit let down. None the less, hope to be back next year

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NMAZA562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Prices are good,good value for money,breakfast was very good pleasant stay watching over the sea this was very nice. they must just specify that you must pay for parking area and the deposit that must be paid for cards the hotel is well situated and is on the beach front...

Room Tip: ask for a room with a doule or king size bed. and the rooms with sea view is very nie
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agros-guesthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We spent four nights in the Blue Waters in November 2012. We were on the 17th floor facing the ocean with spectacular views. The room was one that had been rennovated. There was new furniture, new tile floors, new bath tile and fixtures, and all new lighting fixtures. Everything was in good working order. The view was a bit lessened, however, by a very bad sun-blocking window film with huge wrinkles.The film is a good idea, but it should be redone. From out on the patio without the wrinkled film, the view was picture perfect.
We arrived from the cruise port, and since there was no shuttle, we did take a taxi at nominal expense. We had to leave the ship early, so we were very early for check-in. The staff was very helpful and took our bags and stored them until later in the day when a room was available. There was a lounge with a view of the beach and drink service for folks waiting for a room to open. The hotel was full. There is also a wonderful paved beach walk just across the street which invites exercise by the sea. The large path is much used by locals and tourists alike as they bike, skate board, and saunter along.
Breakfast is wonderful. Local fruit, fresh juice, various breads and pastries, omlette station, waffel station, coffee, tea,etc. were well presented in a buffet. White table cloth tables and flowers lended elegance. We did have an evening meal there too, and it was also very good.
The pool area is indoors, but was ice cold. Since parties and wedding receptions were booked almost nightly, the pool was not usable for swimming. It did make a nice backdrop for the special events catered in that room, but excluded normal room guests from using it. Since we were there in off season for swimming on the beach, water sports were out. A hot tub in a seperate area would have been nice. I did read there was a sauna somewhere near racketball courts on a lower foor, but I did not get round to exploring it. It would have been lovely to have a place for guests of the hotel to dance. There is a bar, but no entertainment or dance floor.
Just a block or so down the beach walk is the casino, and there are lots of places to eat, handy ATMs ,and movies as well as casino action. We don't gamble, but had good fish and chips and a beer at John Dory, a local chain. There is also a very nice Thai restaurant upstairs which has gotten best Thai food ratings from the locals for years. On the way out to the beachfront watch for the monkeys. They come out of the sand dune preserve jungle area across from the casino. They find any left overs at outdoor restaurnats, and disappear quickly back to the thick area of plants across the wide paved beach path. If you are quick, you may get a picture. I did.
The Blue Waters has been a tradition in Durban for years, we heard from friends who live in the area. It had been and still is a good place to eat and stay. The dances they remembered going to were no longer a part of the current scene. Yet it is good to see the renewal to keep this grand old lady more up to date.

Room Tip: Make sure to say you want a rennovated room. They started on top and are working down. Not all roo...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The wifi was really bad in the room I stayed in, although I cant remember which room was this as I stayed in June 12 and now is December. The room was ok, and the hotel is very close to the beach, we watched the sunrise from the sea horizon and it was really nice! We didnt stay long anyways and this was an unplanned stay even.But all in all it was okey.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nthabeleng M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.0 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
443 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.7 mi away
Pavillion hotel
Pavillion hotel
#27 of 43 in Durban
99 reviews
1.5 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#25 of 43 in Durban
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Waters Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Hotel

Address: 175 Snell Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
Price Range: $62 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Waters Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Waters Hotel is a three star beach front hotel located on Durban's famous Golden Mile in KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa. The Blue Waters Hotel specializes in offering the best accommodation at affordable rates to corporate business, honeymooners, sports teams, groups and holiday makers alike. We also specialize in hosting unforgettable wedding receptions. We have a number of wedding venues to choose from depending on the size of the function required. The hotel offers business conference and function facilities for small to large events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Waters Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Hotel Durban
Blue Waters Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing