We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great city hotel in Durban”
Review of Hilton Durban

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Durban
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
russia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great city hotel in Durban”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Druban itself is in the evening because of the security situation difficult to explore, the hotel staff has also advised not to leave the hotel after dark on foot. Numerous restaurants are but to reach by taxi in a few minutes. The hotel also has a good selection of restaurants and a club. However, the staff makes up for a lot, it is very friendly and customer-oriented. Food and breakfast at the hotel are good.

Room Tip: Better upper rooms have a view from the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexi7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Alexi7777777, thank you for your post on the trip advisor website. The hotel is centrally located, being close to the beaches, the city centre and ICC. I am glad to hear that you found team members very friendly and customer orientated as we pride ourselves with that. It is also good to hear that you also tried the food in the outlets and you enjoyed it. Thank you again for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban soon.

Warm regards

Roshini Naidoo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    455
    234
    94
    86
See reviews for
235
295
83
689
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape town, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Overall fine. Rooms were clean and bed was firm so slept incredibly well. Shower was great. Overall hotel feels a little old - could do with a fresh lick of paint and a bit of a facelift - but nothing wrong with rooms, service and amenities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your constructive feedback. I am glad to hear that you found your stay pleasant. Your comments with regards to the overall feel have been past to our Operations Manager. Thank you once again.

Kind regards

Roshini Naidoo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covilha, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed at the Hilton for over a week. The Hotel is good, lounges are lively, my room was spacious, the WC was nice. The bed was comfortable, and the TV had all the channels correctly tuned. Yet, I couldn't help to feel a bit disappointed. It was cold, and only at the second day I found out that the Air Conditioning was not suppling air at the temperature I requested. I complaint to the reception and they had a heater send to the room in less than 10 minutes. The breakfast was good, but it was not the best 5-star breakfast I had. The hotel has a very small outdoor swimming pool, but no sauna, no turkish bath. It also has a small fitness centre. The first days I could not sleep well because of some festivities that were taking place in a space behind the hotel, although my room was in the 5th floor. Internet was free, although I'm not sure if this was some arrangement made by the company sponsoring the meeting I was attending.
I think I mentioned that before, but I'll say it again: staff is excellent - committed, friendly, helpful.
And if you are going to Durban and need to be close to the convention centre, this is the right place to be. Otherwise, you may want to check other hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the convention centre, it has to be more quiet than the ones on the other side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NGarcia65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, it’s great to hear that you enjoyed some of the comforts of the hotel, however I am sorry to hear that we did not fully meet all your expectations at the hotel.

The next time you visit, do let me know so I can ensure all your requirements are met. Thank you once again and looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Kind regards

Moe Hamza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a classic city center Hilton. It could be anywhere in the world. It is luxurious with all the facilities one would expect of a five star establishment. What makes it stand out is the friendliness of the staff. If you like buffet style food, the expansive dinner selection would impress. So would the breakfast. I uncharacteristically ordered room service, which arrived promptly, was well served and excellent quality. Surprisingly, it was very reasonably priced, too. The downside is that this hotel is adjacent to the convention centre, and far from the beachfront. One needs to drive to restaurants and entertainment venues.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Greg W, I am glad that our friendliness of our staff stood out compared to other five star establishments and that you were able to enjoy most of our luxurious facilities.

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write a review on trip advisor and we thank you for this. Looking forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban soon.

Kind Regards

Moe Hamza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Overall, the services of the hotel were good, the staff was very helpful and friendly. The restaurant had good food and the business center and fitness facilities were grand. I would recommend this hotel to other guests since you get value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Sibusiso H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Sibusiso H, thanks for the review. I see you were able to use most of the facilities of the hotel, Rainbow Terrace, Business Centre and the Fitness centre and you enjoyed all the facilities.

We are glad we were able to give you a true Hilton experience.

Thank you once again and looking forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban soon.

Kind regards

Moe Hamza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

You can´t go wrong booking any hotel belonging to the Hilton chain.

High standards, great rooms, impecable service, cleaning and confort.

The breakfast is amazing, plenty of options to choose for, just delicious.

Worthy of notice is the fantastic service provided by Mr. Tyson Fowells, which not only helped us providing transfers/shuttles but also provided really valuable tips for making the most of our stay in Durban (restaurants, beachs, cabs, etc...), helping us in whatever needs we had.

If you are able to get reasonable prices for your stay, look no further, just book Hilton Durban hotel and have a memorable experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaviBenedetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
DaviBenedetti, thank you for taking the time to give us a great review.

We are so happy to hear that you had a fabulous stay. Thank you once again and looking forward to Welcoming you back to Hilton Durban soon.

Kind regards

Moe Hamza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We expected a great stay and a comfortable enviroment. All of this went beyond our expectation. The staff were excellent; they went an extra mile in customer care. At no time during our stay did we encounter a negative experience with the services provided or facilities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ravi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Ravi M, thank you for sending in your reviews on our trip advisor page. Thank you for your great reviews about our staff and service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban soon.

Kind Regards

Moe Hamza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.8 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
439 reviews
0.6 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#16 of 43 in Durban
607 reviews
1.2 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
459 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Durban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Durban

Property: Hilton Durban
Address: 12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#9 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Durban 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Durban is an iconic landmark hotel offering superior accommodations in a supreme location near the Durban International Convention Center. All rooms offer panoramic views of the city or the Natal coastline, with easy access to Durban's beaches and central business district, perfect for meetings or events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Durban Hotel Durban
Hilton International Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing