We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So impressed with their super fast service and smiles!”
Review of Hilton Durban

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Durban
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for the Durban July, what blew me away is the super fast service, nothing we asked for or needed ever took more than 4minutes. Well done! The breakfast spread was delicious and the team is on the ball. Everyone at reception was so welcoming and happy. The cushions and the bed are the best, snug, cosy and crisp sheets.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsAbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieNolan13, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Mrs Abt
Thank you so much for sending in your review to our TripAdvisor page and thank you for your great comments regarding our team members, service and the comfort of our beds and really hope that we can welcome you again to the Hilton Durban soon.

Kind Regards
Roshini Naidoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,173 - 1,179 of 1,514 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed again at Hilton for travel INDABA.Service has improved and guests are treated courteously.on site parking is great.breakfast is excellent with a variety of foods.i will definitely recommend this hotel for business travellers

Room Tip: choose sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haroun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieNolan13, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Rsaindian, thank you for taking time to post this awesome review about your stay during the busy INDABA. Its great that you found the service and facilities even better from the previous INDABA’s. Thank you once again and looking forward to welcoming you back for INDABA 2014.

Kind Regards
Roshini Naidoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Durban Hilton provides a welcoming feeling upon arrival that was maintained throughout my stay thanks to the attentive staff. The hotel has excellent facilities but it's strength is definitely it's staff. Genuinely concerned with patrons and their Durban experience the only negative would be their encouragement to over indulge in the varied and beautifully prepared food available.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieNolan13, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear John T,
Thank you so much for sending in your review to our TripAdvisor page and thank you for your great comments regarding our team members, service and the comfort of our beds and really hope that we can welcome you again to the Hilton Durban soon.

Kind Regards
Roshini Naidoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I was booked into an executive room.

I enjoyed the quite floor and room amenities are comfortable. I enjoyed the welcome gift of dried fruit, nuts and biltong. Room service was above adequate.

The room however did smell musty (luckily I always bring room spray with me) and I the only smile I came across at the hotel was that of the doorman who always had a giant welcoming smile.

If the price is right I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cxbonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieNolan13, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Cxbonne, thank you for taking your time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I am glad that you enjoyed the welcome amenity you received in your room. Please note I have passed on your comments to our Operations Manager and Executive Housekeeper about the musty smell you had in your room for remedial action to be taken. Thank you once again and looking forward to meeting you the next time you at our hotel.
Warm Regards
Roshini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed here for a conference at the ICC Conference Center next door. For that reason, the hotel's location is extremely convenient, but if you're looking to go ANYWHERE (even a shop for sundries or bottled water, etc), the hotel is not near ANYTHING else. About a 10 minute walk to the waterfront, although we were advised against doing so due to crime rates. We felt fine during the day.

Rooms are dated, in desperate need of a thorough carpet cleaning and the outrageous cost of wifi will really hit you in the pocketbook!

Food at restaurant is only ok, but breakfast (included in our room cost) was decent.

Service was fine.

Shops on site didn't even include a spot to grab a few snacks.

Pool is tiny and there were only 2 (!) lounge chairs at pool area- not 2 available: 2 in total.

Gym is decent.

This should not be billed as a vacation hotel, purely a business accommodation.

Room Tip: Bring snacks/bottled water with you. There's nothing on site or nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aew516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Valued Guest, thank you for your constructive feedback. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

The next time you visit the hotel, please do ask for me at check in so I can ensure all your requirements are met. Thank you once again

Kind regards

Roshini Naidoo
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed here for five days in June and had an excellent visit. I was at a conference at the ICC and the proximity to the hotel was my primary reason for staying here. They are side by side. The hotel itself is great - safe, very good service, large and well equipped rooms, lovely bed, excellent breakfast spread, great little gym and generally good and prompt room service. As I was travelling alone I ate in the room a couple of times and really recommend the veg curry - delicious.

Very frustrating these days to have to pay for wifi internet. Every other hotel I stayed at in SA included this in the tariff and I would expect the Hilton to do the same.

The hotel staff are very safety conscious and gave me good advice about where to walk (basically nowhere!). I didn't entirely agree and had a lovely walk from the hotel to the Golden Mile and this was fine if you stick to the main roads.

Room Tip: I was on the 9th floor facing the ocean and this was lovely for seeing gorgeous sunrises. It was al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear valued guest, thank you for your wonderful comments.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban soon.

Warm regards

Roshini Naidoo
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed here a week and a nice safe hotel.
Opposite the convention center just a walk across the road.
Nicely decorated,
Management staff were good,but housemaids although they did their job,were inconsistant,constantly forgetting things.I was starting to feel like a grumpy ole man asking for towels or soap every day.
Apart from that a very pleasant stay in a city where you do NOT walk alone at night,

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade,if not busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

BrainT -Thank you for taking time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please be advise that your comments with regards to inconsistency has been passed onto our Executive Housekeeper.

Thank you once again and looking forward to welcoming you to Hilton Durban soon.

Kind regards

Roshini Naidoo
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.8 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
452 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#18 of 43 in Durban
632 reviews
1.2 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#6 of 43 in Durban
476 reviews
0.2 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#24 of 43 in Durban
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Durban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Durban

Address: 12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#9 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range: $95 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Durban 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Durban is an iconic landmark hotel offering superior accommodations in a supreme location near the Durban International Convention Center. All rooms offer panoramic views of the city or the Natal coastline, with easy access to Durban's beaches and central business district, perfect for meetings or events. Our stylish, comfortable and convenient 327 rooms provide a place to unwind or catch up on work. Spacious Suites feature a separate living room and upgraded amenities. Upgrade to an Executive room for free breakfast and refreshments throughout the day in the exclusive Business Lounge. Book a room or suite on the Hilton website for our best rates. Enjoy a different culinary experience at every meal when you stay at Hilton Durban. Savor a hearty breakfast at the new Vasco's Restaurant and innovative dishes from the chef's table at Big Easy Winebar & Grill Durban by Ernie Els. Relax with a coffee and light meal at the Coral Lounge. Daily 24-hour room service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hilton EMEA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Durban Hotel Durban
Hilton International Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing