We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb environment,friendly staff”
Review of Hilton Durban

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Durban
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed at Hilton for a week long business conference . I was met by very friendly people and in no time was relaxing in my hotel room. I was in the 7th floor which was very good in that it was quiet . I remember locking myself out twice but they never showed me a negative attitude because of the carelessness. The staff's response is quick and thorough. Thank you Hilton ,Durban. I will definitely come back

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear valued guest, thank you so much for your wonderful comments,

I will definitely pass on your comments to the team. Thank you once again.


Kind regards

Roshini Naidoo
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,195 - 1,201 of 1,529 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

very pleasant experience at the hotel. have over past 15 years used other hotels in Durban, but this was definately the best stay. a minor challenge is access to safe nightlife for out of towners. In Sandton hotels are surrounded by facilities that caters for after hours social activities. The Hilton should lobby the city for similar arrangements. I noted that there's a fair amount of undeveloped real estate in the vicinity of the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

William W, thank you for your feedback, we will definitely look into your concerns.

Thank you once again and looking forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban soon.

Kind Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I stayed for the Comrades Marathon in June 2013. My room had a beautiful view of the ocean, which delighted me every morning with a magnificent sunrise. The room was large, comfortable and spotless. Bed was great. Right opposite the Comrades expo and very close to the start line. All the international runners stayed there, which made for a fantastic atmosphere.

Breakfast - a real highlight of each day! For a curry-phile like myself this was the best breakfast I have ever experienced in my trips around the world. Variety included broadbean curry and rotis, eggs any way, cereals and fruit, numerous european bread options, pastries and muffins, cheese/meats/salmon. They even had wheatgrass powder and seeds/dried fruit for us healthies. Dining room was comfortable and pleasant. Curry for breakfast every day was amazing.

Security is still a concern in Durban, but I felt safe in the hotel.

The hotel even accepted two deliveries for me from health food shops, which (after a few times asking) were delivered to my room.

The day before the race, a complimentary platter or sports drink, food bar and a motivational note were delivered to the room. What a fantastic touch for us Comrades runners.

Overall, I was extremely satisfied with this hotel and will stay next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room facing the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ComradesRunnerLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Comrades Runner, thank you for your great reviews about your stay at our hotel over the comrades period. It is always great hosting all the runners and yes you are correct in saying the atmosphere is amazing. Thank you once again and looking forward to welcoming you back next Comrades.

Warm Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Guest Relatiosn Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is an excellent hotel. Close to the beach. Very friendly, helpful and attentive staff. Food was amazing and it's a very safe base of operations. Hotel concierge was amazing helping us find things to do, keeping us safe and helping with even the smallest things like an emergency sewing repair.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Colleen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

ColleenV, Thank you for your wonderful comments

. I will definately pass on your comments to the Team.

Thanks again and looking forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban soon.


Kind regards

Moe Hamza
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed at the Durban Hilton the youth day long weekend to attend the Top Gear Festival. I travelled with a group of friends in 2 rooms under my name. The reception staff at check-in and check-out were courteous and friendly, 5star service all the way. The breakfast was great, top quality food, the cooks and the waitresses were top notch. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, very comfortable indeed. The AC unit in the room didn't seem to work, no matter the set temperature, I always got a cool breeze.
My one gripe with the hotel was the night manager and the hotel security at night. I felt unduly profiled by my age/attire by these individuals and for this reason I will not be in a hurry to use the hotel again on my next visit to Durban.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 12th floor, no traffic or A/C noises, the rooms are well insulated from noises in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treasure K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear TreasureK, thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us over the Top Gear weekend. The hotel was full over this period and I am glad you enjoyed it.

Please be advised we will look into your comments about the Night Manager and Security.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Kind regards

Moe Hamza
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have been using Hilton Hotel in Durban for a number of years and have been exceedingly impressed by the level of professionalism displayed by all the staff at the hotel in making me feel welcome. it is truly my home away from home.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Shakespeare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Valued Diamond Member, firstly thank you for taking the time to post a review. It is great to hear we can consistently meet and exceed your expectations, and its always great welcoming you back home.

Warm Regards

Moe Hamza
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The hotel was great, however the rooms need to be redecorated, as the furniture and decor is a but outdated and boring. The food was very good, although if you are eating breakfast in the Executive Lounge you are required to wait 15 - 20 minutes for your eggs, as the waiter has to travel downstairs to collect the eggs.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Alain D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Alain D, thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. It s is always nice to receive feedback.

It is great to hear you liked the hotel and you found the food good, I will definitely pass on your comments to our chef.

Thank you once again and looking forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban soon.


Kind regards

Moe Hamza
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.8 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 44 in Durban
453 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#19 of 44 in Durban
638 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#9 of 44 in Durban
248 reviews
1.2 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#6 of 44 in Durban
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Durban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Durban

Address: 12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#9 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range: $100 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Durban 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Durban is an iconic landmark hotel offering superior accommodations in a supreme location near the Durban International Convention Center. All rooms offer panoramic views of the city or the Natal coastline, with easy access to Durban's beaches and central business district, perfect for meetings or events. Our stylish, comfortable and convenient 327 rooms provide a place to unwind or catch up on work. Spacious Suites feature a separate living room and upgraded amenities. Upgrade to an Executive room for free breakfast and refreshments throughout the day in the exclusive Business Lounge. Book a room or suite on the Hilton website for our best rates. Enjoy a different culinary experience at every meal when you stay at Hilton Durban. Savor a hearty breakfast at the new Vasco's Restaurant and innovative dishes from the chef's table at Big Easy Winebar & Grill Durban by Ernie Els. Relax with a coffee and light meal at the Coral Lounge. Daily 24-hour room service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Durban Hotel Durban
Hilton International Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing