We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real surprise for a Hilton”
Review of Hilton Durban

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Durban
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Frankfut, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A real surprise for a Hilton”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We just ended our roundtrip through SA with a 5 night stay in Durban. As the school holidays in SA just started, all nice guest houses and appartements (incl. timeshares) were more or less booked or were asking rates over 1.500 ZAR per night. As the Hilton is not a typical tourist hotel, but more one for conferences and business, they were not so busy and offered room with bf for around 1.100 ZAR per night.

As I Hilton HHonours Gold member I received an uprgrade to the lounge floor (14th floor).

Already on my arrival I was told that I should proceed to the lounge for check-in. This way I had less waiting time to get into my room. The staff upstairs was very friendly and helpfull and I was done within minutes.

Having access to the lounge gave me the opportunity to take my bf either downstairs in the restaurant (till 10.30am) or upstairs in the lounge (till 11am). If you want something thats offered downstaird but not upstairs, just ask for it and it will be brought upstairs.

Beside breakfast they did offer a High Tea between 3 and 5pm (with excellent sandwiches and good cake and pastry selection) as well as light snacks in the evening (usually two warm dishes, cheese, fruit, canapes and a cake for dessert). In addition to this they have an open bar till 10.30pm with a very good selection.

The rooms are well maintained....the beds are medium soft....the bathtub is full size (so you can actually stretch out with 1,90m like me) and there is an additional shower in each bath.

Parking is provided under the hotel (not sure if there is a fee for hotel guests).

Internet is provided wireless and via cable. I received it complimentary with user ID and Pin, which was always valid for 24 hrs. The card was distributed via the concierge lounge. If you dont have your own laptop with you, there is one for free usage in the lounge (for the first 15 minutes or longer if no one else is asking for).

The loung also has a small terrace with a view tables and chairs which can be used for smoking. As this place is facing the ocean its also perfect for a sundowner (if its not to windy in the evening).

The area around the hotel however is a little bit difficult in the evening and at night. We were told that we should use a cap or our own car to go to Florida Street (for bars and restaurants) or to the Victoria Street market (for African souveniers). During the night, it was a good decission...during the day you can actually walk to the beach, the Old Station (a small shopping center with a Pick and Pay superrmarket. For the Victoriy Street market you can use your rental car, as they do have secure underground parking available (dont trust the Google locations....its showing the wrong place).

Be aware that Durban has changed some street names recently. So there is no more Victoria or Queen Street any longer. But Google can translate it into the new street names.

We found the best prices for African souveniers on the street at the Golden Mile (Beach area).

After a day out in the city...at the beaches...or shopping it was always nice to know where we are coming back to in the evening. Therefore the location of the hotel has no influence on my rating. The staff was always helpfull...no matter whom you asked.

Room Tip: As we visited the lounge various times a day, it was nice to stay close to its entrance on the 14th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joerg04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Joerge04, thank you so much for taking the time to post a comment on Tripadvisor.

As a valued Gold Member, It is wonderful to read about your experience’s. All your comments will be shared with the team. We are glad that you experienced a true Hilton Moment during your stay at Hilton Durban and looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Warm Regards
Roshini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    441
    228
    94
    84
See reviews for
225
283
77
653
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Arrived at 10.30 at night for a "late book in". Met by efficient smiling staff. No non smoking room available, so given an upgrade. Nice room. Looks a bit "tired" by today's standards. VERY adequate and comfortable.
AGAIN, no free WiFi. When are the SA hotels going to learn?? The business traveler today expects fast, free WiFi.
Did not get a chance to sample the breakfast, as I left before 6 a.m. when the breakfast room opens.
Nice hotel. Expected more.
Beautifully situated for the Durban Conference centre.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alpfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Alpham, thank you for your comments. I am happy to hear that you were met by a friendly receptionist on your arrival that upgraded you to a non smoking room, as we did not have any non smoking room s available in the catergory that you booked.

I hope the next time you visit the hotel that you do get a chance to experience the other facilities at our hotel like our Rainbow Terrace Restaurant, Rivets Bar and the Spa.

Please ask for me when you next visit the hotel, so I can ensure all your expectations are met.

Thank you once again for your comments and looking forward to welcoming to Hilton Durban in the near future.

Warm Rgards

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Hilton whilst on conference at the ICC. The hotel is a convenient two minute walk to the convention centre. The staff were extremely helpful, very friendly and courteous. The room was large and comfortable. The bed was fabulous with beautiful crisp linen. The cupboard space was small with only hanging space available. The mini bar was empty and the hotel does not even offer a complimentary bottle of water in the room which I thought was rather mean for a five star establishment. The lifts are very slow so be prepared to wait. Overall my stay was pleasant and the service outstanding.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nicole786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Nicole, thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

Yes, the hotel is in a great location, in close walking distance to the ICC, the beaches and city centre. It’s always great to hear that our staff, were able to provide you with extremely helpful, friendly and courteous service.

Due to a lot of requests by our guest to have the contents from the minibar removed, we have emptied the minibar, and have it filled on request.

Next time you over at the hotel, do ask for me at check in, so I can ensure that all your requests are met.

Thank you once again for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban soon.

Warm Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed for several nights when passing through Durban for business. Private check in was well done and provided a relaxing atmosphere. Rooms were very spacious, showers awesome, and room service top notch. Breakfast buffet had sooooo many choices.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Kevin P, its always great receiving lovely comments and on behalf of the team, I thank you.

It is good to know that you enjoyed the private check in, the spacious rooms and you enjoyed room service and the breakfast buffet. I will definately pass on your lovely comments to the staff.

Warm Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Just checking out of here today and would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Durban! especially if you are a Hhonors member. I am diamond and they really went all out to appreciate my status. upgraded to a executive suite and the rooms are HUGE! you should upgrade to an exec room, and check out the lounge terrace with great views of Durban. The hotel isn't right on the beach, but a less than 10 min walk. and there is a great lobby bar / club downstairs. a great night and no cab fare!!! Great work! definitely will return with more business.

Room Tip: try an executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritchie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
808surf,thank you so much for posting such a great comment on Tripadvisor from our most valued Diamond Member.

We recognize and value all our Hilton Honor members and ensure we deliver on all of the Hilton Honors benefits and can’t wait to see the same response on our Guest Questionaire.

Thank you once again, and please do ask for me at check in on your return, so I can ensure that your requests during your stay is fully met.

Warm Regards

Roshini Naidoo
JourneyAmbassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
144 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Primary reason of staying there was the Andre Rieu Concert... Gorgeous hotel right next to the ICC. Beautiful hotel, Rooms and restaurants. Staff very helpful and courteous. The Executive lounge on the 13th floor is excellent for a quiet drink and snack. We were fortunate as the orchestra and 'the man himself' were staying there as well. This all made our stay in the Hilton Durban all the more memorable.

We will return!!

Room Tip: If you can afford it - upgrade to an executive room. It's well worth the extra..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VascoScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Vasco Scotland, Thank you for your lovely comments that you have posted about our hotel.

It’s great to hear that you were able to experience the restaurant and also the executive lounge for a quiet drink and snack.

Looking forward to welcoming you to Hilton Durban soon.

Warm Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My brother and sister in law came over from Scotland and took me from Port Elizabeth for a 2 night stay at the Hilton and to see Andre Rieu at the ICC.
The hotel we beautiful, staff very friendly and helpful and the buffet breakfasts were, out of this world.
Although not in the best part of Durban it was an absolute pleasure to stay there, and, of course, be in safe walking distance to the ICC.
Of course the highlight was Andre and his Johann Strauss Orchestra!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine1PortElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Elaine1, thank you for taking the time to post a response on Tripadvisor.

It’s lovely to hear that whilst you were at the hotel to enjoy the Andrea Rieu concert, you have a lovely stay. Thank you once again.

Kind Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.6 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.8 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
1.2 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#15 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Durban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Durban

Property: Hilton Durban
Address: 12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#9 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Durban 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Durban is an iconic landmark hotel offering superior accommodations in a supreme location near the Durban International Convention Center. All rooms offer panoramic views of the city or the Natal coastline, with easy access to Durban's beaches and central business district, perfect for meetings or events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Durban Hotel Durban
Hilton International Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing