We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay, would stay again”
Review of Hilton Durban

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Durban
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Northampton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great stay, would stay again”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stayed here when the Top Gear Live event was on in June this year, this hotel was picked as I was unsure what I was going to find in Durban and wanted a safe bet.
The hotel was everything you'd want, the rooms were great and always clean, the staff couldn't have tried harder. I had the best nights sleep here in years.
One of the best things was the breakfasts, I've never had such a selection of foods for breakfast and everything was so fresh it was just fantastic.
Go to Rivets bar, Castle beer was only £1.90 a pint, so this is one place you will find value for money as well.

Room Tip: Get a room as high as you can, there are excellent views of Durban
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StLucianStig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

It’s always nice receiving fantastic feedback and I thank you.

I am glad we were able to meet and exceed your expectation as your chosen hotel in Durban whilst you were here to enjoy Top Gear.

Well the next time you visit our hotel, please do ask for myself at reception so I can ensure all you requests are exceeded once again.

Warm Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    441
    229
    94
    84
See reviews for
225
283
77
654
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

The Hilton Durban is in a good location and was ideal for us as my husband was running the Comrades. We'd opted for an Executive room and the extras that come with that were well worth the money. We'd arranged for an airport pickup through the hotel and our driver was waiting for us when we arrived. At the hotel there's a decicated check-in area on one of the Executive floors and from the moment we checked in, the Executive Lounge Hostess, Nadia, was absolutely superb. Her attention to all guests was warm, hospitable yet subtle , nothing was too much trouble and she would always go out of her way to ensure your stay was as comfortable as possible. This applied to all the staff we encountered on the Executive floors.

Our room was 1308, next to the Presidential Suite. It was spacious and clean - the earlier review about noisy doors is true but we didn't find it a particular problem. There's a separate shower and bath as well as bath robes and slippers. We had a view of the sea along with the football stadium and cricket ground and being so high up there were no issues with street level noise. Wifi costs extra but you for Exec floor guest there's a pc available and internet usage is free for the first 15 minutes.

The gym is well equipped but the outdoor pool is small and in a shady spot so we didn't use it. There's a wider choice of food on the room service menu than on the a la carte menu in the Rainbow restaurant but they do have themed buffets in there most days. Although we found service in the Rainbow restaurant rather hit and miss. Service at dinner was good in the main restaurant but at breakfast and lunch there we found the service very slow (sitting outside on the patio area) and even non-existent at one point so we left to get room service instead (which was always timely, well presented and tasty).

There's a wide selection for breakfast, just need to time is so you're not there at peak times as things run out quite quickly (on the Executive floor) and it can take a while for them to be replenished. I can appreciate if you're there on business and in a rush this could be frustrating but we didn't have time constraints plus the staff are very courteous so we were happy to wait. Afternoon tea and an open bar in the evening are nice touches in the Exec Lounge and provide an opportunity to meet other guests (if you're feeling sociable) but equally you can sit and read a book/do your own thing in peace.

We were in the Hilton bubble most of the time during out stay and were very happy with our choice of hotel for our first, but certainly not last, visit to South Africa. There may be better hotels in Durban, but for us it was the people and the service 'made' it a great choice. Thanks Nadia and team!

Room Tip: Book an Executive room as all the extras are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiggyjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear WIggyjojo

Thank you for taking the time to write on this website.

It’s great to hear about all your wonderful experiences at the executive lounge, and your other experiences at the hotel. It’s great to hear that Nadia and Team took great care of you during your stay.

You comments with regards to the service at Rainbow Terrace have already been passed onto our Food and Beverage Manager.

I thank you once again for your comments, and looking forward to welcoming back to Hilton Durban soon.

Warm Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schruns, Austria
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

perfect location for business travellers who meet at the DCC.

Room was typical for Hilton, nothing special though. I missed amenities as they are standard in most Hiltons in Europe.

Only few wellness facilities, pool very small.

Food was excellent, restaurant not very fancy. Bar closed to early.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1hotelparadiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
1Hotelparadiso, thank you for your constructive feedback.

All our Silver and upwards Hilton Honors Members do receive amenities in their room on day of check in, and all bath amenities are placed in all bathrooms at our Hotel.

Its great to hear your found the food excellent. I will however pass on your comments about the Restaurant and Bar to the Food and Beverage Manager. Thank you once again for your comments.

Warm Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
253 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Hilton Durban is in a good location and ranks as one of the best hotels I've stayed at. The staff were helpful, the rooms were clean and spacious and the executive lounge was impressive. The breakfasts and afternoon teas in the executive lounge was something to behold. Can't complain about the food. The only complaint was when a surly cleaner was upset when we entered the room when she and her deputy/associate were cleaning it. She grabbed our card (which worked) and didn't even acknowledge that it was our room. I guess if we were from the Monaco Royal Family we would have had more respect.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank safenoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Degrassifan, Thank you for your comments.

It’s lovely to hear you ranked Hilton Durban as one of the best hotels you stayed at. Please note I have passed on your comments with regards to the behaviour of the housekeeping staff to our Executive Housekeeper.

Thank you once again for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you to Hilton Durban.

Kind Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed for a week and cannot fault the hotel or it's staff. It's primarily a business hotel with lots of conference rooms. The food in the Rainbow Terrace was very tasty. Some of which can be cooked while you wait.

Room was spotless and except for the banging of doors - Should really have soft close mechanisms on all hotel doors....Which can't really be helped. I cannot fault the hotel at all.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Termite12uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Termite 12 UK,thank you for taking the time to write to us about your wonderful holiday at Hilton Durban.

Your comments will definitely be shared with the team. The Chef would be happy to hear about the tasty food at Rainbow Terrace.

I will inform the Chef Engineer about your suggestions with regards to the soft close mechanisms for the doors.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban soon.

Warm Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassdor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed here for three nights ahead of the Comrades Ultra Marathon.

My last Hilton stay was in Nairobi and wasn't fantastic so I was interested to see how this compared and happily enough it lived up to the Hilton expected standard.

It's not a cheap stay compared to what else you can get but there are fantastic staff, excellent services, very clean room, excellent breakfasts and good wifi (although you pay for it).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D_DAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear D Dav

Thank you for your kind comments on this website.

I am pleased to read we were able to live up to the Hilton expected standard, and you found the staff fantastic and the service excellent.

It is such a pleasure to receive such positive feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Durban very soon.

Kind Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Visited the Hilton on a Saturday for lunch. Had much greater expectations and was a bit disapppointed. There was a variety, however there wasn't must taste to the meals. The refills (buffets) also only got filled when someone requested, so there was a waiting period for this.

The deserts were also just ok - nothing much to rave about.

The cost way exceeds the meal expectation.

Not someplace i would go back to if i had a choice.

The only thing that i really desired from my trip was the view when you stood outside the restaurant - breath taking view of Durban.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Jenny M, Thank you so much for taking the time to write to us.

I am sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Your comments have been passed onto our Executive Chef and Food and Beverage Manager. Well I am glad you were able to enjoy the breathtaking views of Durban.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Kind Regards


Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.6 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.8 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
1.2 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#15 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Durban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Durban

Property: Hilton Durban
Address: 12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#9 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Durban 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Durban is an iconic landmark hotel offering superior accommodations in a supreme location near the Durban International Convention Center. All rooms offer panoramic views of the city or the Natal coastline, with easy access to Durban's beaches and central business district, perfect for meetings or events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Durban Hotel Durban
Hilton International Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing