We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Durban

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Durban
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Durban
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

Modern, clean hotel. Breakfast was great. Convenient parking.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eire25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Dear Mr ConorH

Thank you for your great feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    433
    221
    92
    81
See reviews for
212
272
77
633
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

Visited the hotel a few years back and was highly impressed with the standard, service, design etc. However, on a recent trip, I was rather disappointed.

Upon entering the room for the first time, it seemed as if someone had just taken a nap on the bed - linen was untidy. The carpet had a few stains all over it giving the entire room a dirty feel. Reception did, however, change our room immediately after complaining.

My overall view is that this hotel is very old and in need of an urgent refurbishment. Its the second time I had a room with a dirty carpet and it seems as if there is no real effort in maintaining the hotel to a good Hilton standard. The furniture and fittings are extremely outdated and need to be changed.

On a good note, the service is still great and staff are friendly. Executive lounge is lovely with a delicious continental breakfast.

Will I return? Once a refurbishment has been done that restores the hotel to its former glory, yes I most certainly will.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a sea view. Request these, they are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thehotelhopper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your constructive feedback. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the appearance of our hotel. Our hotel has recently undergone a soft refurbishment, of whereby we had new serenity beds and new TV installed in our rooms. We have also upgraded our gym with new innovative gym equipment.

I am glad the service and staff were able to meet your expectations.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Warm Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed at hotel 29 to 31stOct 2011.Fantastic staff ! Fantastic service ! Fantastic hotel ! Stayed there for years before I retired and it was always a fantastic place to stay.Unfortunately, now that I am retired, I can only stay there once a year.Already saving for next year ! We will be back....................! The ONLY hotel to stay in Durban.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hermann21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Dear Mr Hermann

Thank you so much for your kind words, and I am glad we were able to give you a true Hilton Moment. We look forward to welcoming you back next year.


Warm Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

I spent the weekend with my wife and 2 kids at the weekend. This was not my first visit as I had attended conferences and stayed over at the Hilton in the past. My wife and kids were overwhelmed with both the decor and layout out the hotel, coupled with the fantastic service that we received. There was a minor issue, pertaining to the delay in the cleaning of the rooms, but the follow up by the Front Office Manager, William made up for the initial disappointment. They even went to the extent of offering us a wonderful snack basket to make up for the anomaly.My wife is already planning the next visit to this excellent hotel and as a local Durbanite, I am incredibly proud of what Durban can offer through places like the Hilton Hotel.

Room Tip: The sea- views are breathtaking and also provides a fantastic view of the Sahara Cricket Stadium as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sealan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Dear Mr Sealan

Thank you for your response. I am glad you and your family had a wonderful stay at Hilton Durban. I am sorry there was a delay in the cleaning of your room and please be advised that it has been followed through with our Executive Housekeeper. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Hilton Durban in the near future,

Many Thanks

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed at the Hilton as they had a special offer on for the period we were there. It was the only hotel we stayed at during out tour of South Africa, the rest were guest lodges/b&b's. So, its a Hilton so we know what to expect, very smart well kept and tidy. It predominantly a business hotel though being situated close to the Convention Centre, can get a little anoying with all the suits especially if your on your hols!......the breakfast makes up for this though....AWESOME!!! The evening dinner all you can eat buffet is also well worth it with a great selection especially given the limited restaurants in the immediate area!
Comfy large rooms, all you need for a leisure stay and easy access to parking. The only downsize we thought was the cost of the WiFi.
Top hotel, in not the perfect of locations but a good central base to commute from.

Room Tip: Higher the better for a good view of Durban.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigNath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Dear Bignath

Thank you for your great feedback and we glad you had an awesome time. I am sorry that the downsize was the WIFI, however currently the Hilton properties have a standard of charging for internet. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you to Hilton Durban and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels Worldwide in the bear future,

Kind Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed in the Hilton for three nights and it was really nice. The hotel is located right next to the convention centre. The beach is not too far away from the hotel, although you shouldn't walk it late at night. The rooms were nice and big and always clean. The internet in the hotel is fast, but not very cheap (170 Rand a day). We had the breakfast included and it was really good. The choice was great, there was a continental breakfast, warm stuff and freshly cooked omelettes. There's also a well equiped gym and an outside pool. Unfortunately the pool is not heated, so it was still very cold in the pool in october. We can very much recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hamburg_girl_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your response. I am glad to hear you had a nice stay with us. I would like to inform you, at present all Hilton properties have a standard of charging for internet, however it has been earmarked and currently under discussion. With regards to the pool due to the warm climate in South Africa, there has not been a need for a heated pool, Thank you once again for your response and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban.

Warm Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

If you are one of the international Comrades participants, there is no better place than the Hilton. It is ideally located for the run and everything connected to it. Nice rooms, good service - and in the morning of the run, they really take good care of us runners. And, of course, many of the other internationals are staying there, too. As long as we come back for Comrades, we will be choosing the Hilton.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sigjah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Dear Valued Comrades Participant.

Thank you for giving us feedback whilst you stayed with us during the comrades marathon. Yes, the hotel is conveniently located and makes it easily accessible for the runners. We do believe in ensuring our guests that stays with us during this period, have a nice healthy breakfast before their marathon. We thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcome you back to Hilton Durban Comrades 2012.

Many thanks

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.6 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.8 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
1.2 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#15 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Durban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Durban

Property: Hilton Durban
Address: 12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#9 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Durban 5*
Number of rooms: 324
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hilton Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Durban Hotel Durban
Hilton International Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing