We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart Hotel, if you can get the offer!!”
Review of Hilton Durban

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Durban
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Smart Hotel, if you can get the offer!!”
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed at the Hilton as they had a special offer on for the period we were there. It was the only hotel we stayed at during out tour of South Africa, the rest were guest lodges/b&b's. So, its a Hilton so we know what to expect, very smart well kept and tidy. It predominantly a business hotel though being situated close to the Convention Centre, can get a little anoying with all the suits especially if your on your hols!......the breakfast makes up for this though....AWESOME!!! The evening dinner all you can eat buffet is also well worth it with a great selection especially given the limited restaurants in the immediate area!
Comfy large rooms, all you need for a leisure stay and easy access to parking. The only downsize we thought was the cost of the WiFi.
Top hotel, in not the perfect of locations but a good central base to commute from.

Room Tip: Higher the better for a good view of Durban.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigNath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Dear Bignath

Thank you for your great feedback and we glad you had an awesome time. I am sorry that the downsize was the WIFI, however currently the Hilton properties have a standard of charging for internet. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you to Hilton Durban and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels Worldwide in the bear future,

Kind Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    447
    229
    94
    84
See reviews for
230
287
81
667
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed in the Hilton for three nights and it was really nice. The hotel is located right next to the convention centre. The beach is not too far away from the hotel, although you shouldn't walk it late at night. The rooms were nice and big and always clean. The internet in the hotel is fast, but not very cheap (170 Rand a day). We had the breakfast included and it was really good. The choice was great, there was a continental breakfast, warm stuff and freshly cooked omelettes. There's also a well equiped gym and an outside pool. Unfortunately the pool is not heated, so it was still very cold in the pool in october. We can very much recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamburg_girl_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your response. I am glad to hear you had a nice stay with us. I would like to inform you, at present all Hilton properties have a standard of charging for internet, however it has been earmarked and currently under discussion. With regards to the pool due to the warm climate in South Africa, there has not been a need for a heated pool, Thank you once again for your response and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban.

Warm Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

If you are one of the international Comrades participants, there is no better place than the Hilton. It is ideally located for the run and everything connected to it. Nice rooms, good service - and in the morning of the run, they really take good care of us runners. And, of course, many of the other internationals are staying there, too. As long as we come back for Comrades, we will be choosing the Hilton.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sigjah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Dear Valued Comrades Participant.

Thank you for giving us feedback whilst you stayed with us during the comrades marathon. Yes, the hotel is conveniently located and makes it easily accessible for the runners. We do believe in ensuring our guests that stays with us during this period, have a nice healthy breakfast before their marathon. We thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcome you back to Hilton Durban Comrades 2012.

Many thanks

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

I have stayed here several times. This is the nicest hotel that I have stayed in in Durban (the other hotels in this area are not very nice, so little competition for the Hilton). The location is convenient (easy to access from the airport, close distance to the beach), and the rooms are nice.

Internet service is fast, but not free (~ ZAR 170 per day). Continental breakfast is ZAR 85, but by default they assume that you want the full breakfast at ZAR 120.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NLKorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Dear NL Korp

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that whenever you stay at Durban your preferred hotel is Durban Hilton.

We look forward to continually welcoming you back to our Hotel.

Warm Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassaor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
281 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Been staying on and off here for four years.

Glad that they have maintained standards and service. I have always been impressed by the level if service here.

Rooms are big and comfortable.

However unless you have business in the city or are attending a convention at the convention centre you will not be able to walk around at night and will be totally reliant on the hotel restaurants and facilities.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasonleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Dear Jason

Thank you for your loyalty and taking the time to write to us. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, tx
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Beautiful hotel. Spent the weekend there to see the city. Executive level guests can check in on the executive floor, quick and easy - with complimentary internet and snacks and drinks throughout the day. Rooms are nice and bathrooms are quite nice size. Convenient underground parking garage and nice location - walking distance to the beach and futbol stadium. Great service in the restaurant and bar.
My only complaints were the super-slow internet service (terrible to be paying for it and it is so slow) and the slamming doors that could be heard up and down the hallways from guests and housekeepers.
The "It's a Hilton and it's in Durban" review was great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the harbor or ocean. And request (or pay for) an upgrade to the execut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to enlighten us about your stay, it is always good to receive constructive feedback.

We have currently working on the internet connectivity at out hotel, and I will definitely inform our Executive Housekeeper about the slamming of doors during your stay.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban.

Warm Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Great Service! Rooms were nice and clean. Prices were reasonable. FYI, it is attached to the convention center.

Enjoyed it briefly.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the executive floor. The outside balcony is a nice treat to eat breakfast on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieNolan13, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hilton Durban and for taking the time to send in your review. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

It is always good to receive feedback and we would like to thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.8 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#15 of 43 in Durban
593 reviews
1.2 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
449 reviews
2.0 mi away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Durban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Durban

Property: Hilton Durban
Address: 12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#9 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Durban 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Durban is an iconic landmark hotel offering superior accommodations in a supreme location near the Durban International Convention Center. All rooms offer panoramic views of the city or the Natal coastline, with easy access to Durban's beaches and central business district, perfect for meetings or events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Durban Hotel Durban
Hilton International Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing