We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elangeni”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2014

The booking process was flawed. Even though I made a concise request for inter-leading rooms I could not be assisted the first time around. I had to make numerous calls since my booking on 1 April up until the day before check-in to finally get the rooms configuration which I wanted. Room service needs to improve. We ordered the seafood basket which drenched in oil. The sandwich was rather small. Response times were slow as well. When I checked in I paid for parking & the tourism as requested to ensure that I would have a speedy checkout. This was not the case since the parking was loaded once again and had to be rectified resulting in me having to pay in a small amount which could not be removed from the system. The delay was more of a concern since I had to travel a fair distance.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
1  Thank Deepak R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the lapse in service standards received during the booking process as well as during your stay.

Your feedback has been passed onto the relevant teams in order for them to take the necessary corrective steps to improve on this in the future.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,639 - 1,645 of 2,178 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

One would expect super service and modern deco with exceptional rooms when you pay a premium price. Elangani is certainly not a 4 star property but rather at most 3 star, the rooms are old, furniture is falling apart and rooms are really old, only nice thing is that there is a flat screen TV. Staff can take a lot much time to resolve problems. Lifts to the lower floors can be a major problem. Breakfast is well below standard with very little fruit selection if any. Maharani and Elangani have merged into one mega hotel this is a problem as the service is lacking. Disppointed.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the higher floors floor 11 upwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ebrahim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your feedback.

As you are aware, the bedrooms at the Elangeni tower form part of the final phase of our refurbishment programme, which has not yet commenced. The bedrooms at the Maharani tower are larger and have been recently been refurbished.

The traditional english breakfast, which is offered in both towers offers a variety of hot and cold dishes.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I stayed at Maharani for four nights. The location is very good and the Ocean view leaves you without words. I have always received information I needed and the service was very good. The rooms are clean. I would highly reccomen this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
1  Thank Alexa108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the beautiful view of the Indian Ocean from your room.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit South Africa.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Great evening Buffett - 215 Rand (£14) on a Saturday night. Staff were surly but food great and excellent value. Very good prawns and seafood, individually cooked with food you pick yourself and also a 4 meat carvery with all the trimmings. Big choice of deserts and excellent cheese board.
The hotel reception looked nice and the location is great, right on the seafront - there are at least 2 other restaurants in the complex.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Travelingjohn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your valuable feedback.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the lapse in service standards experienced from the front line staff - your feedback has been passed onto the Food & Beverage Manager, in order for him to take the necessary corrective action.

I am delighted that your overall experience was good and that you enjoyed the quality and variety of food on offer on the buffet.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Expectations are generally based on price so we weren't expecting too much. It's an average property recently refurbished (not expensively) they could have gone for a 32" LED TV rather than the postage stamp size monitor, it is 2014 after all.

Wi-Fi couldn't connect my devices kept saying network was too slow.

Check-in and out was efficient.

Cappuccino was good.

I don't like shower over bath but that's a subjective thing.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank comradestuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your valuable feedback.

The bedrooms at the Elangeni tower for part of the final phase of the refurbishment programme and have not eyt been upgraded. We are currently finalising the scope of works, which will include the bathrooms (adressing the shower over the bath).

The bedrooms at the Maharani tower have undergone the refurbishment, with the option of wither a 4-piece bathroom or a bathroom with a maxi shower.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani in the near future.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

we spent eleven nights in this great hotel. It is not cheap not only considering south african prices, but also for our spanish standards. Rooms are not so big, and the bathroom looks old, but the sea view is simply awsome.

It is a big hotel, and sometimes you have tyo wait for too long for the elevators. Staff are kind, but it is difficult to comunicate with them in "international english", so you have to be patient in order to avoid misunderstandings.

Breakfast buffet is quite good, so many dishes, fruit, sweets, whatever. We like healthy food and there were fresh fruit, juices, whatever. Good coffe, also. And local food (to much for us)

The 24th hour gym was empty most of the time, with some good free weights and treadmills. Over the average for a hotel. Swimming pool, on the other hand, was a mess. Crowded, not so clean (so many children), not an option for us.

A good tv screen (flat), quite decent WIFI, comfortable bed, empy but usefull fridge make our days comfortable in the Elangeny. And the best thing, LOCATION. We were atending an international waveski contest on the beach, and we need only five minutes walking to be there.

We also tried its three restaurants, the japanese one, another one with a good buffet and a third one with very good steaks. Very satisfied with all of them.

Next visit to Durban, we will come back for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serrasalmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a great stay and enjoyed the variety of dining options available in both towers.

Unfortunately the rooms in the Elangeni tower have not yet been refurbished. We are currently finalising the programme and scope of works, which will include an upgrade of the bathroom. I am sure that these modifications will enhance your future stays - we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Durban.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Elangeni, loosely translated, means "at the the sun" in isiZulu. It is no wonder that this esablishment is likely to bring sunshine to your holiday. In fact, on a clear Durban morning you are likely to be woken up by beautiful sun rays finding their way through the curtains; as you open the curtains you can see the tranquil Indian ocean with a few ships on their way to the habour. The hotel is practically less than five minutes walk to the beach. A number of very good restaurants are within the hotel itself and there are quite a few within walking distance. It took us less than 30 minutes to drive from the airport to the hotel. We were welcomed by the warmth and friendliness of the staff and our room was spacious and clean.

Room Tip: Sea-facing rooms provide the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sombu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Durban, with the beautiful view of the Indian Ocean for your bedroom.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Durban.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 44 in Durban
1,561 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.4 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#17 of 44 in Durban
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#6 of 44 in Durban
491 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 44 in Durban
458 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#7 of 44 in Durban
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Address: 63 OR O R Tambo Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#2 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range: $143 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radiating energy and elegance across the Golden Mile, Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani invites you to take your place in the sun. From the stylish bedrooms with breath-taking sea-views to the variety of restaurants and recreation facilities, visitors can look forward to the vibrancy, colour and culture of Durban's premier hotel destination offering more choice than ever before, from service and hospitality through to accommodation and dining. Absolutely everything under one sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Elangeni Durban
Elangeni Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing