We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr Mauro”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel. Many choices of restaurants in a beautiful setting across the road from the beach and Indian Ocean. Ushaka village/Oceanarium close by as well as Casino. Breakfast buffet is excellent with a variety of selections to suit all tastes and dietry requirements. Highly recomended.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kiorodad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay, enjoying the new facilities at the Destination Complex as well as the attractions in Durban.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Durban soon.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,026)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,552 - 1,558 of 2,026 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

Everything else except the service at the bar was very good. The waiters at the bar needs to improve their service . Elangeni Hotel has always been my highlight when going to Durban though with the upgrade of the hotel and the merging with maharani hotel I'm not sure if service went out of the door.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank henmo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the lapse in service standards experienced at our bar - your feedback has been passed onto our food & beverage team, in order for them to take the necessary corrective action.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the other facilities that the complex has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I stayed at the hotel to visit sites in the Dundee and Ladysmith areas. Visited numerous battlefield sites and museums associated with the Anglo-Zulu War (11 Jan.-4 Jul 1879), and the 1st (Dec 1880-Mar 1881) and 2nd (Oct 1899-May 1902) Boer Wars. Had a great room with a view of the beach and the ocean. Ate dinner at the poolside restaurant and service was fast and friendly; good sandwich and beer. Bars were croweded in the evenings which made it difficult to get a seat, so turned in early, since I was up very early both days I was there. Departed in the AM both days before breakfast was served and the staff prepared a box breakfast to go that was very adequate, and greatly appreciated. Hotel was fairly crowded for the Holidays, mostly with family groups, tourists, and business travelers.

Room Tip: Ask when you arrive at the front desk for an ocean facing room on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dionges1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the new pool deck facility at the Elangeni tower and found the hotel comfortable to return to after a long day out.

It is great to see that you enjoyed your time spent in Durban as well as the visits to the historical sites in our beautiful Country.

We look forwardto welcoming you back when you next visit South Africa.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This is the premier hotel on the golden mile, excellent restaurants, great rooms, good service, comfortable beds and of course the best for last - the view onto the sea of course.

Southern Sun always an excellent choice.

Room Tip: The higher up the better, street can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J0llyR0dger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed the variety of dining facilities available at the Complex, which enhanced your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Durban.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Room service was excellent
Front desk was excellent
Southern Sun and Maharani located by the sea side is wonderful
Hotel located close to OR Tambo airport is a perfect arrangement for air travellers
Food was not much of African
Room was perfect

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Dickson A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the facilities at the Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani as well as the convenience of our sister hotel being situated within walking distance to the terminal at OR Tambo International airport.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Tsogo Sun family when you next visit South Africa.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I had to wait 3 months since my previous review to write this one. My family and I spent our December vacation here again and the changes to the hotel were AMAZING!
The new decor and pathway linking the two towers give it a cozy feeling.
The poolside restaurant at the Elangeni is just wonderful. Great snacks and frozen yoghurts.
However, the greatest asset of the Elangeni/Maharani are the staff.
A big thank you to Samantha Croft and her team.
Can't wait to see you again!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silkman53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am extremely pleased that you enjoyed the new facilities on offer at the Complex and had an enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your destination of choice when you next visit Durban.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I was disappointed with the way the issue i had with voucher which was not sorted timeously was handled. I expected the hotel to treat their loyal customers with high regard. Overall i like the facility

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Siphelo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the manner in which your arrival was handled. This is most certainly not the standard that we pride ourselves on delivering. Your feedback will be passed onto the relevant manager in order that they may look into the matter.

We most certainly do value our regular guests.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,484 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.7 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 43 in Durban
447 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#18 of 43 in Durban
618 reviews
0.8 mi away
Garden Court South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Address: 63 OR O R Tambo Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#2 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range: $89 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radiating energy and elegance across the Golden Mile, Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani invites you to take your place in the sun. From the stylish bedrooms with breath-taking sea-views to the variety of restaurants and recreation facilities, visitors can look forward to the vibrancy, colour and culture of Durban's premier hotel destination offering more choice than ever before, from service and hospitality through to accommodation and dining. Absolutely everything under one sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Expedia and getaroom.com so you can book your Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Elangeni Durban
Elangeni Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing