We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Warri, Delta State Nigeria
2 reviews
“WONDERFUL”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Room service was excellent
Front desk was excellent
Southern Sun and Maharani located by the sea side is wonderful
Hotel located close to OR Tambo airport is a perfect arrangement for air travellers
Food was not much of African
Room was perfect

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Dickson A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the facilities at the Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani as well as the convenience of our sister hotel being situated within walking distance to the terminal at OR Tambo International airport.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Tsogo Sun family when you next visit South Africa.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    699
    261
    105
    78
See reviews for
595
362
57
655
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I had to wait 3 months since my previous review to write this one. My family and I spent our December vacation here again and the changes to the hotel were AMAZING!
The new decor and pathway linking the two towers give it a cozy feeling.
The poolside restaurant at the Elangeni is just wonderful. Great snacks and frozen yoghurts.
However, the greatest asset of the Elangeni/Maharani are the staff.
A big thank you to Samantha Croft and her team.
Can't wait to see you again!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silkman53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am extremely pleased that you enjoyed the new facilities on offer at the Complex and had an enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your destination of choice when you next visit Durban.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I was disappointed with the way the issue i had with voucher which was not sorted timeously was handled. I expected the hotel to treat their loyal customers with high regard. Overall i like the facility

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Siphelo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the manner in which your arrival was handled. This is most certainly not the standard that we pride ourselves on delivering. Your feedback will be passed onto the relevant manager in order that they may look into the matter.

We most certainly do value our regular guests.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The hotel when full can cater adequately for breakfast.There pool deck is open to anyone and gets too full.Pool towels are not readily available.The check in was very pleasant.All rooms dont have mini bar fridges so make sure you find this out when you book.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Ahmed Suleman D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

In orde to assist with the volume of Guests when the hotel is fully booked, we offer a variety of dining options (5 for breakfast in season). Guests are also advised that in order to avoid queues, breakfast should be enjoyed before 08h30. Mini bar fridges form part of our refurbishment programme - which is yet to be completed at the Elangeni tower. Having said this, we managed to equip some of the bedrooms with fridges prior to the season. The balance of the fridges arrived in the new year and have now been placed in all of the bedrooms.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This is a well positioned hotel across the road from the North Beach. Our room was quietly located on the 20th floor with fabulous views of the ocean and the bay. There were 2 super comfy double beds and well equipped bathroom with separate bath and shower. Good restaurant with friendly professional servers. One tip. We were on room only basis. They wanted R190 pp for breakfast. Ask for the breakfast menu, as continental breakfast is only R75 pp.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank suzieNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

As a Group, Tsogo Sun is currently reviewing the breakfast offering, to ensure that we deliver a "value for money" experience. In the inerim, our new dining facility offers an a la carte menu (with the exception of peak season).

I am delighted that you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boksburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Room was OK, view is spectacular and the location is safe and clean (Well done Durban Municipality), service in the restaurant was very slow, however the breakfast and other meals were fantastic. Check in and out services were very good. The hotel is expensive but we will go back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Raymond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you have seen a noticable improvement of the surrounding areas in Durban (the promenade being one of Durban's best assets). We have been working very hard with City, in order to position Durban as a "weekend away"destination.

We look forward to welcoming oyu back when you next need a break!

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I regard this hotel mostly for tourist because SA patrons would see it as expensive although while on business my stay was great. I would not mind staying here while on holiday using my rewards. Regards

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Earl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We aim to accommodate both International and Local travellers (for the purpoae of business and leisure travel), which is why there are such a diverse variety of offerings available at the complex.

I am dleighted that you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back during your next holidays.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,393 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.7 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#15 of 43 in Durban
592 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
427 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#16 of 43 in Durban
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Property: Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Address: 63 OR O R Tambo Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#2 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radiating energy and elegance across the Golden Mile, Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani invites you to take your place in the sun. From the stylish bedrooms with breath-taking sea-views to the variety of restaurants and recreation facilities, visitors can look forward to the vibrancy, colour and culture of Durban's premier hotel destination offering more choice than ever before, from service and hospitality through to accommodation and dining. Absolutely everything under one sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Elangeni Durban
Elangeni Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing