We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just one night was enough!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just one night was enough!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

The "book in" time for this hotel is 14h00. We arrived having booked 5 rooms - none of which were ready. By 16h38 we all had our rooms. I found this to be totally unacceptable. The first room allocated to me absolutely reeked of cigarette smoke. When I reported this to reception, I was told that there was a non-smoking sign on each floor, but some rooms were somiking rooms, this particular one was not!!. When I looked for the sign, it was not immediately visible as it was not in the normal red colour, but grey the same as the room numbers. I was then allocated another room for which I had to again wait. Not professional is what I felt.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Janis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for not having your rooms ready by the advertised arrival time as we ll as the lapse in standard experienced from the Housekeeping team, by not ensuring that the evident smoke smell was removed from the room. Your feedback has been passed onto the team, to ensure that the necessary corrective action is taken in orde to address these shortcomings.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    618
    661
    239
    98
    68
See reviews for
538
343
50
601
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fourways, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Our family of 14 people stayed at the Maharani from 17 January to 19 January 2014. Wow! This hotel has certainly upped it's game. The executive double double rooms and the Superior King size room that we occupied were spacious and beautifully decorated. The spacious bathroom with a standalone shower and the guest toilet at the entrance to the Executive rooms were absolute treats. All of the staff, from the Doormen to the check in- clerks were friendly and helpful. The concierge Thulani, handled our shuttle transfers and dinner reservations with ease and made sure that everything was done smoothly. The service at both the Jacana Grill and the Daruma Japanese Restaurant was efficient and the food was very good. The service at the pub on the pool deck at the Elengani needs to be upped as we waited for 45 minutes for our food to be served. We traveled with my elderly father who is partly immobile and a twenty month old infant and we really appreciate all the help that we received from all the staff at this great hotel. Keep it up Maharani! LawrencePenny0108

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Penny0108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay, despite the lapse in service standards received from the Panorama Bar - your feedback is most valuable to us and has been passed onto the relevant manager, in order that he may take the necessary steps to imorove on this delivery.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed at the Maharani beginning of December for 8 nights and had a great overall experience. We loved the newly opened restaurant on the ground floor, where the service and management is outstanding and the food very tasty. The hotel also organized Teejay, a taxi driver/tour operator, to take us daily to the ICC and back, take us on outings and to the airport. Teejay was amazing and very reliable, he never made us wait and he made our week easy and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amaracampsbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and enjoyed the dining experience in our new restaurant, Vigour & Verve. Your feedback has been passed onto the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Excellent service during breakfast, my children couldn't stop talking about the good service we received from the waitress that was serving us they really loved her ( Lethukuthula) in overall our stay was awesome

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Xolile D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you and your children had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
132 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

the location of the hotel is perfect , within walking distance of the warm indian ocean
well maintained and recently upgraded facade have made the hotel more appealing
popular hotel with families
sadly some of the staff are haughty and lack people skills
however the hotel has all the facilities of a good family hotel
the rooms are comfortable and clean and have fantastic views of the ocean
i would recommend a stay at this hotel because of its location

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maimunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am pleased that you had a great stay, however, I am alarmed by the lack of empathy shown by some of the members of the team, which we most certainly will look into.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Food was fabulous! the service was the best i have had in SA for a long time, nothing was too much trouble.This is a perfect place to take your family.Everything is easily accesible. The kids had a blast.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank HudaLockhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a great stay - we look forward to welcoming you and your family back in 2014.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
142 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here for 4 days in early Jan. The hotel was like a busy supermarket. Breakfast queues for at least 30 min. Check in was smooth. The room was decent but for a revamped room still to have the shower in the bath is still stupid. With the hot weather I was surprised there was no fridge in the room. Breakfast was plentiful and fully Halaal. Location can't be faulted. You have to pay for parking , but on two occasions we came home late and there was no secure parking available and we had to park on the road.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miles28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

The bedrooms at the Elangeni tower have not yet been refurbished, which is why they still have a shower in the bath.

As the complex is rather busy during season, we open up five different venues, which all serve breakfast - however, we are not a Halaal facility.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.7 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#15 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Property: Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Address: 63 OR O R Tambo Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#2 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radiating energy and elegance across the Golden Mile, Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani invites you to take your place in the sun. From the stylish bedrooms with breath-taking sea-views to the variety of restaurants and recreation facilities, visitors can look forward to the vibrancy, colour and culture of Durban's premier hotel destination offering more choice than ever before, from service and hospitality through to accommodation and dining. Absolutely everything under one sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsClick, South African Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Elangeni Durban
Elangeni Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing