We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Revamped and lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
105 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Revamped and lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

The revamped and relaunched Elangeni/ Maharani is very Elegant and enjoys a great beachfront views in the not-so-crowded part of the Durban Golden Mile. It also is a welcome change from the now popular Durban North beaches. I have previously stayed in this complex on the Elangeni Tower , which I found very pleasant. This time, as a party with 7 rooms were allocatedvthe Maharani Tower. The rooms are well appointed, decor lovely and very clean. I was surprised to have no bath though.

Check in is advertised as 2pm and I arrived at 10am and efficiently had our luggage put in storage until the rooms were ready. Things did no go as planned as the room cleaning was very slow. The rooms were released in drips and drabs. By the time my last room was released at 17h30, I was royally annoyed. This dampened my regard for the otherwise great hotel , somewhat.

Room service is prompt and i recommend the Mini-bunny . Delicious .

Room Tip: All rooms sea-facing. The upper floors allow you to see forever and less likely to hear any street n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voyager26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the lapse i nstandards from our housekeeping team, which resulted in your rooms not being ready on time.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the revamped bedrooms at the Maharani tower (we do have bedrooms with 4 piece bathrooms), although these are family rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back in 2014.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    672
    249
    103
    68
See reviews for
563
347
51
618
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Exclusive settings and extremely helful staff are a joyous sight. The variety of food provided and the atmosphere are permanent reminder of a great holday at Elangeni. The extension of the access to Maharani is a great an noble idea.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Enos Ngutshane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the facilities as well as the breakfast offering at the newly combined Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani.

We look forward to welcoming oyu back in 2014.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

I will return and can highly recommend the Maharani hotel with confidence to anyone. The rooms are all spacious with stunning views. Breakfast has a variety to offer. This is suitable for family travel, couples and also corporate guests. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Shegal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back in 2014.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

execellent, very cosy, very high quality service, room was fresh, hospitality best. will recommend to all my friends who have family members that like travelling. Take family members on next trip to see locations





  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you, your family and friends back in the near future.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

generally the hotel met all my expectations....things requested were delivered to my room promptly. Parking is not allocated per room an can be a problem if u arrive late back to hotel as you will then be required to park on the roof of th eparking which is open. It was nice that you were able to use the Elangeni facilities as the pool area is very relaxing...Overall the stay met my expectations.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jareena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the enhanced facilities on offer at the Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani complex and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We travelled there and stayed one night before moving up to the North coast. Was surprised at the excellent and classy finishes post the refurbishment after having stayed there a few years back. Rooms are spacious and bathrooms clean.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Adil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the newly refurbished facilities and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Relatively big hotel, part of a chain, on the Durbs beach. Great location, easy to get to and fro. Lots of places to go in the neighbourhood.

Service at reception very friendly and efficient all in all. Some problems with their billing system (proof of payment we had sent a week before was lost, credit card deposit was "forgotten" when ordering room service), but the staff themselves were very helpful and qualified.

Rooms no surprise, well-kept and spacious enough when you're on business. Was there for a rather big conference, well organised, everything very professional. Food decent, good breakfast buffet. Very nice tables outside. Bar well-stocked, friendly staff.

All in all a clear recommendation as a conference venue and for business.

Room Tip: Hotel consists of two parts. Older part on the lower floors, newer part from higher up (don't re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akka J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused with the billing system prior to your arrival. I am delighted that this did not mar your overall impression of the hotel and that you still had a memorable conference.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 42 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.7 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 42 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 42 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 42 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#14 of 42 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Property: Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Address: 63 OR O R Tambo Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#2 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radiating energy and elegance across the Golden Mile, Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani invites you to take your place in the sun. From the stylish bedrooms with breath-taking sea-views to the variety of restaurants and recreation facilities, visitors can look forward to the vibrancy, colour and culture of Durban's premier hotel destination offering more choice than ever before, from service and hospitality through to accommodation and dining. Absolutely everything under one sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Elangeni Durban
Elangeni Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing