We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2013

i have been visiting the Maharani hotel frequently for the last 2 or 3 years and the service has always been excellent from the check in to the check out. the staff are friendly and proffessional. Keep up the good work

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Prashne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you enjoy the Maharani and hope that you will make it your destination of choice when visiting Durban.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,783 - 1,789 of 2,178 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

This hotel wasn't the easiest to arrive at by car, with the parking not being fantastically well signposted from the front of the hotel, but the check in staff were happy to direct me there once I'd checked in. The room was nice, the room service menu was rather limited but the location was good, close to the beach and promenade (don't wander around after dark though). I was there on business so didn't have a chance to use many of the amenities but the setting seemed nice and both restaurants I tried (the grill and Daruma) were very good. The only problem was breakfast - with dashing off for work I just wanted a quick coffee and toast but it was one of those buffet restaurants where you rely on waiters to bring both, and there simply weren't enough waiters around on either day I was there and I was left waiting and trying to catch someone's attention just to get a simple breakfast (for which I'd been charged R130!) The restaurant was busy and apparently they were understaffed but the service seemed to be good in some areas and poor in others - my advice, don't sit on the raised section as you pretty much get ignored!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familiasinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the laspe in service standards experienced from our breakfast team - I would like to assure you that they have taken the necessary corrective steps to enhance the service delivery.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for business. I had a beautiful sea view. There is under cover secure parking at the hotel. The hotel offers a shuttle service from the airport which is very convient. There is a swimming beach across the street. You can also go for a nice walk on the promenade which is also just across the street. The pool deck is lovely to sit and enjoy the view over the ocean while having a light snack.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Elro9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Such a wonderful hotel to stay in, located right on the beach!Beautiful courteous professional service!Well trained and informed staff taught to treat guests like they are royalty!I liked the service best, the cleanliness of the rooms (bathrooms) was not so great though. Perfect stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Hlengiwe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you fortaking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the new look of the Maharani bedrooms and that you had a memorable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The rooms were adequate , clean and well stocked. We ate in the restaurant where the service was excellent and the food very good. A minor hiccup with the main course was dealt with quickly and without fuss. Good views from the room , over the ocean and water front area however the windows were very dirty on the outside. A nice hotel for a stay over.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a great stay - despite the minor hiccup at dinner. We do have a schedule to attend to the windows, however, being on the beachfront, with the sea air does pse a challenge.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to Durban.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Very good business hotel. Excellent conference facilities, restaurants and free wifi in the rooms. Complimentary tea and coffee facilities in the room. The views of the ocean from the rooms are stunning. Would not be my choice for a family holiday but very good business hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank TravelH007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a greast stay and hope that you will give us a chance when staying on holiday.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The hotel complex is a huge property at the sea front; with good views on Durban city or the ocean from the upper floors. It certainly has some character but certainly feels runs run down. The lifts are very slow and seem to be overwhelmed by number of guests. The rooms are well designed, basic, very ideal for holiday stay but again you feel the wear and tear of years - TV remotes not working, carpets worn out etc. Overall my three days stay was just ok.

Room Tip: Upper floors have good views on a clear day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

With the amalgamation of the two two towers, the refurbishment of the Maharani tower has been completed. The bedrooms and lifts of the Elangeni tower form part of the next phase of the refurbishment programme, which is due to commence early in 2014. I am sure that the enhancements will make any future stays more comofrtable.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to Durban.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 44 in Durban
1,561 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.4 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#16 of 44 in Durban
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#6 of 44 in Durban
491 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 44 in Durban
458 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#7 of 44 in Durban
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Address: 63 OR O R Tambo Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#2 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range: $143 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radiating energy and elegance across the Golden Mile, Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani invites you to take your place in the sun. From the stylish bedrooms with breath-taking sea-views to the variety of restaurants and recreation facilities, visitors can look forward to the vibrancy, colour and culture of Durban's premier hotel destination offering more choice than ever before, from service and hospitality through to accommodation and dining. Absolutely everything under one sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Elangeni Durban
Elangeni Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing