We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Jewel of the Golden Mile”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Jewel of the Golden Mile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

I returned to this hotel after a deliberately long lapse. I am a business traveller requiring quality service and great facilities which SSME has now got down to the tee after the most recent revamp. Congratulations. The hotel has been restored to it's former glory and is a royal treat in every respect. Evidently, from my arrival to check out, staff had gone out of their way to attend to my needs but more importantly, show off just how great the hotel has become. Consistency seems to have filtered through to all staff levels and as a result my stay was magnificent. Charlotte, Lindani, Marc, Nomusa, Letitia deserve special commendation. I cannot wait to come back! If I continue to get this kind of service, I absolutely won't look elsewhere ever again and say to everyone, with the SSME in full swing, come to DBN.

Room Tip: Every room is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AaliaPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

It certainly was great to welcome you back to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani - I am delighted that the team exceeded your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to Durban.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    670
    247
    102
    68
See reviews for
558
347
50
617
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is situated right next to the north beach in Durban, a walk away from Ushaka Marine world,the ICC, a short drive to Moses Mabida stadium! Their breakfast and dinner buffets are superb, with great staff. Their staff are kid friendly as well. The hotels have five other restaurants if you do t want the buffet. My family hgreat really great stay at this hotel

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tebogoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you and your family had a great stay and enjoyed the food & beverage offering within the complex.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel is a great choice among the many options along Durban's waterfront. Located on the recently renovated north beach area, this hotel offers comfort, good service, excellent location and many food options. And, if you love waking up to a sun rising on the Indian ocean, you've found the perfect spot (just ask for a room with a view, of which there are many!) The staff are friendly and helpful all around. And everything is very clean, especially the gym, the pool, the many restaurants inside the hotel and, of course, the rooms. The highlight for me was breakfast on the second floor deck by the pool, overlooking the sea. I also heard that the restaurant closest to the lobby (they also have a steakhouse, a sushi restaurant, etc.) has some of the best prawn curry in Durban. I didn't get to try the dish, but I tried their Sunday buffet, and I had no complaints. In terms of location, it's hard to beat stepping outside the door and onto the beach. Whether you're there on business or vacation, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordanjc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the the variety of facilities on offer met your needs - the new breakfast venue, situated on the second floor, overlooking the Indian Ocean is most certainly a popular addition.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed at the Southern South during a 3 week long conference and was extremely happy that I made the choice.

Aside from some minor plumbing issues the first few days my room was nothing short of amazing. I had a view of the Indian Ocean from the top floor and the gorgeous beachside that allowed me views of breathtaking sunsets every day.

The staff of the Southern Sun is extremely friendly and highly efficient.

The gym and pool area were keep in pristine condition.

Perhaps the best part of my trip, aside from the proximity of the hotel (walking distance) to the conference center, was the breakfast. Absolutely delicious - everything that you could possibly want- catering to all persons.

I cannot wait to go back to Durban and stay at the Elegani!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooklyn_SS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to Durban.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Nice hotels are pretty much the same the world over and this is a nice hotel. But there are features to emphasize about each one. They have a terrific location on Durban's beautiful beachfront. The service was prompt and courteous. The hotel restaurants were varied and uniformly good, and they offered moderate pricing. The outdoor pool overlooking the coastline is imaginative and welcoming. But perhaps the best feature was the enormous breakfast buffet. There is nothing one could want for breakfast that the Elangeni didn't provide.

Room Tip: Get up high so the music from the open bar next to the pool is no bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delightes that you had a memorable stay and enjoyed the variety of restaurants tha the complex has to offer, particularly The Ocean Breeze, where breakfast is served, overlooking the Indian Ocean.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Durban.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My family and i recently stayed at the elangeni on a family vacation from the 30 Aug - 2 Sept 2013, all i can say that this is truly a wonderful hotel and certainly the best hotel in Durban that we have stayed in by far, the service is excellent, the breakfast has a wide variety of food and caters for everyone's needs and the staff are very friendly.The rooms are also in a very high standard, thanks to Mr Mike Jackson and his staff at Tsogo sun for all the hard work being put into this wonderful hotel complex and it is hoped that the other hotels under tsogo sun in Durban can do just as the same as Elangeni in terms of excellence and putting the guests as the number 1 priority, definitely will be back at this hotel and i highly recommend this hotel to travellers around the world.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaveenS s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you and your family had a great stay, with the variety of new facilities on offer at the Complex exceeding your expectations. We will soon be adding a Spa facility in the Elangeni tower, which I am sure will enhance your experience during your next stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait, Al Kuwayt, Kuwait
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

i was staying in Maharani from 28th august to 1st September. what i really liked about the place was how they take care of the guests.. the staff are really courteous and caring. The rooms facing the beach have awesome view. the buffet breakfast is really good. though the rooms are small they are clean. the lifts are excellent, we hardly have to wait for long time for them to come to any floor and are beautifully done with nice art work. its definitely a place worth a stay.

Room Tip: room with a beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sudheer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a great stay at the Maharani tower, which has been refurbished - with the final phase of the programme including an additional multi-purpose conference venue on the 32nd floor as well as a new restaurant and bar concept on the ground floor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani when you next visit Durban.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 42 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.7 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 42 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 42 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 42 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#15 of 42 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Property: Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Address: 63 OR O R Tambo Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#2 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radiating energy and elegance across the Golden Mile, Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani invites you to take your place in the sun. From the stylish bedrooms with breath-taking sea-views to the variety of restaurants and recreation facilities, visitors can look forward to the vibrancy, colour and culture of Durban's premier hotel destination offering more choice than ever before, from service and hospitality through to accommodation and dining. Absolutely everything under one sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Elangeni Durban
Elangeni Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing