We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Nice hotels are pretty much the same the world over and this is a nice hotel. But there are features to emphasize about each one. They have a terrific location on Durban's beautiful beachfront. The service was prompt and courteous. The hotel restaurants were varied and uniformly good, and they offered moderate pricing. The outdoor pool overlooking the coastline is imaginative and welcoming. But perhaps the best feature was the enormous breakfast buffet. There is nothing one could want for breakfast that the Elangeni didn't provide.

Room Tip: Get up high so the music from the open bar next to the pool is no bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delightes that you had a memorable stay and enjoyed the variety of restaurants tha the complex has to offer, particularly The Ocean Breeze, where breakfast is served, overlooking the Indian Ocean.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Durban.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,099)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,747 - 1,753 of 2,099 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

My family and i recently stayed at the elangeni on a family vacation from the 30 Aug - 2 Sept 2013, all i can say that this is truly a wonderful hotel and certainly the best hotel in Durban that we have stayed in by far, the service is excellent, the breakfast has a wide variety of food and caters for everyone's needs and the staff are very friendly.The rooms are also in a very high standard, thanks to Mr Mike Jackson and his staff at Tsogo sun for all the hard work being put into this wonderful hotel complex and it is hoped that the other hotels under tsogo sun in Durban can do just as the same as Elangeni in terms of excellence and putting the guests as the number 1 priority, definitely will be back at this hotel and i highly recommend this hotel to travellers around the world.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaveenS s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you and your family had a great stay, with the variety of new facilities on offer at the Complex exceeding your expectations. We will soon be adding a Spa facility in the Elangeni tower, which I am sure will enhance your experience during your next stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

i was staying in Maharani from 28th august to 1st September. what i really liked about the place was how they take care of the guests.. the staff are really courteous and caring. The rooms facing the beach have awesome view. the buffet breakfast is really good. though the rooms are small they are clean. the lifts are excellent, we hardly have to wait for long time for them to come to any floor and are beautifully done with nice art work. its definitely a place worth a stay.

Room Tip: room with a beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sudheer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a great stay at the Maharani tower, which has been refurbished - with the final phase of the programme including an additional multi-purpose conference venue on the 32nd floor as well as a new restaurant and bar concept on the ground floor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani when you next visit Durban.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Elangeni is situated on the promenade making it a great location for quick access to the beach for a swim or long walks on the promenade which offers some nice little cafe's for a drink/ ice cream. It is also closely located to Ushaka Marine World.

The rooms are comfortable & clean as one would expect of a Southern Sun. The hotel has a business feel & you are received in that way too. Views from the rooms are lovely.

Hotel gym is very small with very limited equipment - this was not a very popular place for the time I spent there so I guess it does not receive too much attention.

The pool area on the 2nd floor is really great for breakfast or a cocktail. There breakfast has a nice variety of options to choose from.

The only little fault I would say I found a little inconvencied by was the very poor wifi service.

Other than that it is a great hotel and the stay is a pleasurable one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJIR_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you ofr taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconsistent wi-fi facility - we are currently working with the service provider, who will be installing additional equipment, in order to stabilise the connectivity.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Lovely hotel, I always go there as my family loves the hotel . The view from my room is excellent, the Executive rooms are clean and spacious. The service is excellent. Breakfast is the best, a wide variety catering for all.
The Buffet dinner is also very nice a wide spread of everything including sea-food.
it is safe, the gym is excellent you can work out and enjoy the sea-view. The early morning walk on the promoade is the best, fresh clean and the sun rise is stunning.

Room Tip: The front sea-facing Executive rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that we remain your family's favourite hotel in Durban.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The location is good with nice views facing the sea. The room is spacious but worn out, two lights not working properly, the bathroom seems old, the windows do not block enough of the noise from the sea or the road, the heating is off but the room is cold. It does not feel like a 4-star hotel room, although it is priced like one. On the service side: check-in was slow and not specially attentive nor specially cold, just indifferent, actually they gave me a smoking room when I do not smoke (they didn't bother asking, and I assumed it would be non-smokind); room service was quite fast and efficient and the club sandwich good enough.
Maybe I got a bad room but if they are all like this, the hotel clearly needs refurbishment.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeJoe7070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the lapse in standards you experienced during your stay.

The bedrooms in the Elangeni tower will be refurbished during the next phase, which is due to commence in 2014 - however, all the rooms at the Maharani tower have already been refurbished.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We arrived 2 hours early and were courteously treated and allowed to check in early...which was a good start to an otherwise very disappointing stay. The location is faultless, being on the beach and all rooms sea facing (i think). However the hotel was in a poor state of repair. The rooms were small, the bathrooms tiny and ours was not very clean. Room service was an appalling experience from start to finish!! The order taker was extremely rude, abrupt and patronising despite the fault lying with errors on their menu. Our order arrived cold...a cold curry is not something I would recommend to my worst enemy. Our kids ordered sandwiches 30 minutes before us and received their food after an hour 20 minutes. This despite numerous phone calls. When their food arrived we did not even get an apology!! A sub standard property with awful service, whose only saving grace is its beach frontage. Will I return? Absolutely not

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phantomreviewer280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#2 of 44 in Durban
1,528 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.7 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#6 of 44 in Durban
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 44 in Durban
453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#18 of 44 in Durban
637 reviews
0.7 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#24 of 44 in Durban
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Address: 63 OR O R Tambo Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#2 Business Hotel in Durban
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range: $141 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radiating energy and elegance across the Golden Mile, Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani invites you to take your place in the sun. From the stylish bedrooms with breath-taking sea-views to the variety of restaurants and recreation facilities, visitors can look forward to the vibrancy, colour and culture of Durban's premier hotel destination offering more choice than ever before, from service and hospitality through to accommodation and dining. Absolutely everything under one sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Cancelon so you can book your Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Elangeni Durban
Elangeni Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing