We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, showing worn edges”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2008

Stayed at Elangeni June 2008 during a conference. The location is fantastic - just across from the beach. However, the rooms were small - narrow and long to allow every room an ocean view. The carpet and bed blanket looked bit old and worn. The bathroom, although looking clean, had musty smell.

The public space and the staff, however, were excellent. We had catered food during our conference and it was very good. The hotel Indian restaurant served very good food. Some of our colleagues got sick after eating at the sushi restaurant.

The hotel had a reasonably sized exercise room and a nice looking outdoor pool.

Overall, a reasonable stay, but not sure whether it was worth the rate.

By the way, if possible, go catch the local rugby team - the Sharks - play. Tickets can be purchased for 50 rands for nose-bleed seats, but great atmosphere and fun. Cheap beer, too!

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Steven Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,001 - 2,007 of 2,100 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2008

The location of this hotel is excellent, (opposite the main beach in town), excellent swimming area. Rooms are of a good size, clean, and the staff are friendly. I will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Joey55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2008

This hotel exceeded my expectations, largely because of the staff.

I recently stayed here for 6 days & 5 nights while running a course there.

The first impression of this hotel is not great, especially when it comes to reception. For some reason, reception is crowded & staffed by hugely bureaucratic & apparently under trained staff. Long queues, errors & bureaucracy are the norm.

However, leave reception behind you & the hotel takes on a completely different character. All the staff are keen to help & meet your needs. Steven on the second floor will remember your name & your favourite drink & will always welcome you warmly!

You will be able to get a very warm & friendly shoeshine on the doorstep & even the housekeeping staff are cheerful & helpful!

The meeting rooms we used were great - large. airy with great acoustics. The only minor issue was the air conditioning which was either jumper enticing chilly or off!

The rooms are what you'd expect, slightly larger than usual, with great views of the beach.

WiFi access throughout the hotel. If you're staying for longer than a day, buy the data volume package, not the timed one!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2007

My husband and I stayed on the 8th January in this Hotel which was quite a pleasant surprise. A problem arised with our booking but was promptly settled by the receptionist with a smile. Staff friendly and attentive. Very good breakfast. Rooms ok. The Japanese restaurant was good and once again the staff was quite nice.
It's a four stars Hotel with a five stars service. One can see that the Hotel is very well managed.
Probably for people staying there in holidays, a bit of entertainement would be welcomed.
We enjoyed very much our stay and will definitely stay there if we come again.

Stayed: January 2007
4  Thank mariasilvestre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2006

We recently had 2 nights at the Elangeni after being recommended by the travel agent. The rooms were fairly spacious and well maintained and the view over North Beach was great. I was on business and it is probably more of a family style holiday hotel. The service was good and the meals were good. We would recommend that refridgerators be installed in the rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ozandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2006

I stayed at this hotel for a week during a recent conference in Durban. Unlike the last reviewer, I found no problems with street noise, although I was on the 22nd floor which may have been inherently quieter. The views were amazing, rooms clean, well-furnished and well-serviced and the breakfast buffet was outstanding. A few minor niggles - no broadband connections in the rooms, just a slow and unreliable wi-fi in some of the public areas and the room lighting was inadequate for any business use. Be warned that SA's idiosyncratic electrical system means that no international adaptors work - I had to recharge my laptop from the shaver point in the bathroom! But also be aware that stepping outside the hotel on a quiet day, and especially a quiet evening, is pretty risky - two guests were beaten and mugged less than 50 metres away on the Sunday that I arrived. Hotel staff are aware of this and security at the hotel is good. They are also well organized for getting taxis, etc. - but it does take the edge off a visit. You can look out at an amazing beach that is only safe to go on at very limited times.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank The_Sherriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2006

We stayed at the Southern Sun North Beach for a week in June. The hotel itself is very nice. One plus is that *all* the rooms face the ocean (not so with the Southern Sun Elangeni next door) and the lobby is elegant, with places to sit and drink a glass of sherry, port, or sangria which the staff puts out evening for guests, free of charge. Everyone was helpful, the rooms were clean, and so on. My one complaint, and it was major, was the noise from the street. We were on the 8th floor and even with the windows closed, one could hear car alarms, carn horns, and booming car stereos every night until the wee hours. This is because Snell Parade (and Marine Parade to the south) is very popular with the local youth, who like to cruise up and down in their cars with their windows down and their systems up. One night there was one car with a sound system so loud it set off other car alarms when it went by, which it did about five times. Forget sleeping. I used earplugs and slept with my head between two pillows. Perhaps the higher floors (there are 32 floors) are quieter, but I can't imagine it's all the quiet even at the top. So, light sleepers beware. Too bad, since otherwise it is a very nice place to stay.

Stayed: June 2006
3  Thank SkunkyLeMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#2 of 44 in Durban
1,528 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.7 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#6 of 44 in Durban
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 44 in Durban
453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#18 of 44 in Durban
637 reviews
0.7 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#24 of 44 in Durban
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Address: 63 OR O R Tambo Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#2 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range: $145 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radiating energy and elegance across the Golden Mile, Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani invites you to take your place in the sun. From the stylish bedrooms with breath-taking sea-views to the variety of restaurants and recreation facilities, visitors can look forward to the vibrancy, colour and culture of Durban's premier hotel destination offering more choice than ever before, from service and hospitality through to accommodation and dining. Absolutely everything under one sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Elangeni Durban
Elangeni Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing