We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great value”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

the Elangeni is a tired old lady in need of a lick of paint- and room refurb- which it seems she is getting; that said, porters and most other staff are very good and the hotel is well postioned; the one glitch is check in and check out which is very painful unless you are lucky enough to get the duty manager helping you (Vukhile?) was excllent- the rest of the crew at recetion utterly hopeless (we waited 45 minutes to check in with a very modest amount of guest traffic at reception- this one issue probably stops us coming back)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clifford S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the lapse in standards expereinced from the front desk team - we are currently taking the necessary corrective action to ensure that this is drastically improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    699
    261
    105
    78
See reviews for
595
362
57
655
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clarens, Free State, South Africa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Spectacular view, friendly staff and nice clean rooms.
The breakfast buffet was excellent and good value. We had a very pleasant evening buffet at the hotel restaurant as well.
Convenient location with secure parking available.

Room Tip: View is even more spectacular from the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the hotel over 3 nights, as we were attending a family wedding. The check in was quick, the staff were pleasant. The rooms were clean and spacious.
There is a tub in the bathroom with a shower nozzle overhead, which is not particulary my favourite. They need to consider changing the curtain to the doors or maybe redoing the bathroom.
There were no lifts from the basement parking, which we needed to pay for at R50.00 per day, and one has to climb at least 2 1/2 flights of stairs. This was not an easy task, especially being dressed in a sari.
On our last night, there was a couple next door who were fighting and the language that was used was absolutely shocking. We informed front desk and a call was made to the couple. The next morning, they had started their fighting again. That was a real draw back as we did not have a good sleep.
The breakfast buffet was really good, there was a wide range and it catered for veg and non veg guests.

Room Tip: Any room above the 8th floor to have exceptional sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thrusha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2013

When we arrived at the hotel we got welcomed by a glass of champagne and some chocolates, best birthday ever from a hotel.Staff was friendly and the rooms really big and spacious.We stayed on the 23rd floor with amazing views.The pool on the last floor is just amazing.

Room Tip: Top floors with views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonomous03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that the team created a memorable birthday for you - we look forward to you celebrating many more with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2013

the hotel swimming pool is a very good attraction.. it is at the level of the sea... the view is amazing.. the hotel is at the most prime location and very central to ushaka marine and the stadium. really crowded in summer. the suite is really well made and spacious.

Room Tip: choose to top most floor.. 21st is the highest facing the sea.... cannot get any perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ateendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay - we are currently upgrading the pooldeck, which I am sure will enhance your experience on your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2013

i spend on average of 25 night a year at southern sun elangeni , being a frequent guest on director status and allways staying in a executive suite , my last trip was the worst ever (28-12-12 till 06-01-13) got the worst service ever from moosa at the front desk rude isnt the word ! room wasnt clean properly , no towels replaced no toilet roll replaced carpets not vacuumed . the general overall condition is totally declining. for the rate they charging of over R2000.00 for a night its definetly not worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ismail555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the lapse i nstandards expereinced during your stay - you comments are viewed in a serious light and have been addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jozi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Southern Sun North Beach, The Tsogo Sun Experience comes alive at the North Beach, From check in, to your room cleanliness and ambiance, Dinner experience, Breakfast, room service etc, not to mention the majestic view of the Indian ocean.

As a frequent guest member you feel the value of your money every step.

Viva North Beach!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thabiso Taaka

Room Tip: Higher Room, Better view !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thabiso t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back to your "home" in Durban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,393 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.7 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#15 of 43 in Durban
592 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
427 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#16 of 43 in Durban
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Property: Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Address: 63 OR O R Tambo Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#2 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radiating energy and elegance across the Golden Mile, Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani invites you to take your place in the sun. From the stylish bedrooms with breath-taking sea-views to the variety of restaurants and recreation facilities, visitors can look forward to the vibrancy, colour and culture of Durban's premier hotel destination offering more choice than ever before, from service and hospitality through to accommodation and dining. Absolutely everything under one sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Elangeni Durban
Elangeni Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing