We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rudolph Dumisani Lukhele”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2013

the hotel is one of the best and i enjoyed my stay but the only problem was the staff at the reception they are not welcoming and friendly and to me its like they were doing me a favour and our toilet was leaking water but the overall condition and service was the best

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudolph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the unwelcoming experience from the front desk staff - we have taken steps to address this as this is most definitely not the North Beach standard.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,964)
There are newer reviews for Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,701 - 1,707 of 1,964 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel several times in the past and couldnt help but notice the declining standards on my last stay in December, which can only be described as a 3-star experience. Despite the 5-star room rates, the hotel is in desperate need of a revamp. The lifts, corridors, bathrooms and entertainment areas were all in extremely poor condition, while the hotel just feels "dirty".
But most dissapointing was the poor service by reception staff and shockingly poor service by the gentleman at the concierge. The overall experience left me wanting and I will not be returning until this hotel undergoes a serious revamp - both cosmetically as well as in terms of service.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohamed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the poor service you expereinced from the reception and concierge staff - we view your comments in a serious light and have taken steps to improve on their hospitality.

The hotel will be undergoing to refurbishment to public areas this year, which will enhance the product. We are currently planning a refurbishment to the bedrooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Comfortable hotel. Friendly and efficient staff. In room space great especially with the kids. Good quality finishings.Breakfasts were great, although the waiters could smile more. Parking at the hotel could be better. Allround a good hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuazzamR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a great stay and enjoyed the new look of the hotel - we look forward to welcoming you and you family back in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were there at 14h10 to check in and our booked room were not ready yet but Freddie at reception made some quick interventions and get us into another room that became available which he think was more conducive seing that we had a child with us. At the time when we made the booking there were no family rooms available and they suggested a room with a king size bed and a couch for our son to sleep on. We were pleasantly surprised to find that the changed room 1007 have two double beds. It was so spacious and absolutely beautiful. It was a first time that I stayed in a hotel with my family and they were extremely happy about the luxury and beauty of our hotel room and more so the stunning seaview right in front of you (the window is as wide as the room) and walking distance to the beach and all other attractions such as Ushaka. Even though we did not get a parking at the hotel, the walk to and from the overflow parking felt safe and it was a nice experience. We completely forgot about the cost as it was worth every cent.

Room Tip: The sun is already up by 05h00 and on our last day (25 December) we enjoyed the beach from as early...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacobus V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a great stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Im was very dissapointed during my 3 night stay at Elangeni. Information wad poor,customer service was poor, i booked sea facing rooms but only got 1 despite having booked 3 months in advance. Im a freguent southern sun guest but i wont be frequenting Elangeni. I did not get value for my money. Not by a long shot

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amazingp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the lapse in standards that you experienced during your recent stay. Your comments are viewed in a serious light and corrective steps have been taken to ensure that we improve on these areas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This hotel offers a great loction. 200m to the beach. there are to pools to stay with the sun all day. life guards need to stay on till the pools close. we had to rescue a drowning boy after they had left work. overall service an amenitys we excellent at this hotel. great gym ti work out

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arnold s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post you review and for your assistance with the little boy at the pool.

The lifeguard times have been amended to accommodate the pool closing time, which is 18h00. All parents are advised at this time that the lifeguards are going off duty in order that they keep an eye on their children. All children who are left swimming without adult supervision are asked to leave the pool and to return with an adult.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stay at most Southern Sun hotels nationwide, whilst all the hotels are beautiful and staff are friendly overall, I find the staff and service at North Beach so much more friendlier and efficient.
From the moment you pull up in front of the hotel until check out.. The rooms are more spacious and more comfortable as well.
Well done to the staff and the hotel manager, whom, obviously has a large impact on the staffs' services and my experiences! Richard, at reception, in particular is an amazing member of the team.. My visits to Durban are more pleasurable when I stay at the North Beach Hotel. Thank you!

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are a must! Waking up with the breathtaking view of the Durban coastline is pr...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a great stay and that the team were efficient and attentive. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,463 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.7 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#18 of 43 in Durban
610 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
443 reviews
0.8 mi away
Garden Court South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Address: 63 OR O R Tambo Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#2 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range: $107 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radiating energy and elegance across the Golden Mile, Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani invites you to take your place in the sun. From the stylish bedrooms with breath-taking sea-views to the variety of restaurants and recreation facilities, visitors can look forward to the vibrancy, colour and culture of Durban's premier hotel destination offering more choice than ever before, from service and hospitality through to accommodation and dining. Absolutely everything under one sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Elangeni Durban
Elangeni Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing