We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location; comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Port Alfred, South Africa
Level Contributor
104 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Location; comfortable hotel”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed here for two nights on a business trip and could unfortunately not enjoy the golden mile as I would have wanted. It was great though to enjoy a splendid view of the sunrise and the beachfront. Staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet plentiful with good coffee.

The room was spacious, and neat, though not terribly exciting in terms of layout or furnishings. It did provide all the comfort though. This goes for most parts of the hotel - it is a bit older, but generally clean and well maintained. WIFI worked well in the room, however not free :-(. Nice room service menu that is quite affordable. Beds were comfy and I slept very well both nights.

Great gym with again beautiful view of the beachfront; excellent for an early morning workout. Also the pool area (though I did not use it) looked very nice.

A critical note on the elevators, which were old, slow, and bumpy and not at all times responsive; guess this is not a problem when on holiday... I further used the parking below / behind the hotel which worked well. Also check in and check out was quick and pleasant.

Would definitely come back here - a comfortable hotel on probably one of the best locations in Durban.

Room Tip: I would say the higher the better in terms of having an excellent view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post this review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    699
    261
    105
    78
See reviews for
595
362
57
655
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

A great hotel, recently revamped, and full Halaal Breakfast.


great location, great service.

a great breakfast buffet to choose from.

thanks to Jennifer and Khombi for great service.

i would recommend this hotels for families, and couples.

Room Tip: Good Rooms and Great breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yusuf11223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post this review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

When I arrived at the hotel my room was filthy and had a very funky smell,the carpet was extremely dirty , I informed the Guest Services about this and and that the following day they must make sure its clean, He did not even apologise.The shower was so filthy left over soap kept on popping out from the shower drain. The room was cleaned and had a very strong air freshner smell the following day (Friday), carpet was still dirty. I understand there are renovations but why does the hotel not close certain sections that are being revampes, I have very bad sinuses and not brought my medication with me but because of the amount of dust in that Hotel and inside the room and the filthy carpet I had to get medication. The parking and the stircase from the parking are so dirty you would swear you are somewhere on some dodgy street and not within a hotel property.They cannot blame this on the renovations what they have there is old dirt. I have stayed in Elangeni a number of times Im always happy, I was coming from SOuthern Sun uMhlanga and I regreted coming to this hotel wished I never changed from uMhlanga to this hotel. I could not believe R1300 was paid for such filthy nonsense. I did not even want to eat in this Hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel is under construction and has a lot of noise from workers and drilling so no peaceful sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mbalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the lapse in standards experienced during your recent stay. These matters have been addressed with the relevant staff in order to ensure that they are corrected.

Refurbishments are necessary in order to ensure that our product offering is enhanced - unfortunately they are disruptive and every effort is made to keep the inconvenience to our guests at a minimum. Construction will be completed by the end of OCtober 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

If you plan to spend some time in Durban..be it business or leisure..this hotel is a good choice..I stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed every day..The most notable point is ...of course..the sea facing rooms..staff is prompt and helpful. Everything is accessible from the hotel and food was good-specially the breakfast..i will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea..so just go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelsfun4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the timeto post your reviews.

I am delighted that overall you had a good stay and take note of your suggestions for improvement.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Level Contributor
113 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in February 2012 and wanted to experience the renovated rooms so we booked a 6-night stay in August. The rooms have been painted, there is a new flat-screen TV and console, new lamp shades, the bathroom now has a separate shower and each room comes standard with a small bar fridge. The Piatto restaurant was very good as usual as was the breakfast - excellent food with excellent service (better then the Oyster Box hotel in Umhlanga).
We did, however, get stuck in one of the new elevators and the coffee shop is a waste of time. Either there are stale cakes or no cakes - rather go to the Elangeni coffee shop where the variety of cakes is very good, there is always a person behind the counter and you have a great view.
I was working each day so my wife stayed in the room and worked on her next eBook. She wanted peace and quiet - we were on the 29th floor, far away from the noisy renovations on the 10th floor but her gripe was the constant banging of the rear service door as housekeeping and room service staff came in and out. Surely they can do something to stop these doors from slamming so loud?!

Room Tip: The renovations are now on the tenth floor so choose a room high up! They are still putting people o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrugerToKalahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay.

The issues regarding the coffee shop and door banging have now been addressed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun North Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I found the staff here friendly, however I also found staff do not listen to what is being said a lot of the time, I asked for 24 hr internet and paid for it but was sold a 2 hr pass, the hotel use a outside agency which you have to then explain what as happened over the telephone, after an apology I was given a free pass. I found myself having to make requests as simple as possible and double check many things I had requested. This hotel as a weird way at breakfast, after you take your breakfast you then have to order your toast when you see a free waiter, by the time your toast arrives, your breakfast is either cold or you have eaten it, I wish the would just put a toaster out for people to use rather than waiters running into the kitchen making toast. For me it is the little things that make a difference. I was impressed with the banqueting rooms and service provided, and a thank you to Kathy for being understanding and caring. Due to a disturbance at 3.30am by 10 noisy drunken guests at the pool outside all of the rooms, it would of been nice for the Duty manager to of got back to me as she had promised but I sense she must of forgot or did not see it as an issue, having many guests being woken up. Saying all that, there was god points and areas for improvement, and the rooms were very basic. Across the road was the beach and the hotel had 2 swimming pools, quite basic pools. This was quite a hard hotel to judge.

Room Tip: Cross your fingers and toes and hope for the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saint0975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel was well positioned for the sea front. The rooms were clan if a little small. The japanese restaurant was awesome a real experience. The staff were friendly and very accomodation. Check in was swift and welcoming

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samanthak27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,393 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.7 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#15 of 43 in Durban
592 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
427 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#16 of 43 in Durban
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Property: Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Address: 63 OR O R Tambo Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#2 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radiating energy and elegance across the Golden Mile, Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani invites you to take your place in the sun. From the stylish bedrooms with breath-taking sea-views to the variety of restaurants and recreation facilities, visitors can look forward to the vibrancy, colour and culture of Durban's premier hotel destination offering more choice than ever before, from service and hospitality through to accommodation and dining. Absolutely everything under one sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Elangeni Durban
Elangeni Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing