We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Beachfront Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garden Court Marine Parade
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is an art deco themed Durban icon, on the central beachfront. Built originally as a 30 storey Holiday Inn, with spacious rooms and breathtaking sea views. On the top floor is a swimming pool with a glass panel on the bottom, which the kids love. It is a reasonably priced and popular family hotel. Rooms are comfortable and well-equipped without being luxury, the breakfast offers a huge variety of foods. This is a reduced-service style hotel, though, so do not expect to be pampered.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre G, Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Greg W,

Thank you for the excellent description of the hotel and our services offered. Garden Court Marine Parade is ideally situated on the Golden Mile of Durban's Beachfront. The hotel is a select service hotel but will alwys offer a warm and welcoming atmosphere for all travellers.
We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (974)
There are newer reviews for Garden Court Marine Parade
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

892 - 898 of 974 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had a very pleasant say , the room was spacious, clean and to standard! For a 1 star hotel, it's was more than enough! It can for sure bbe upgraded!!! The staff was friendly and well assisted! Really enjoyed the stay! Thank you!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Estelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre G, Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Estelle S,
Thank you for the warm and welcoming feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Garden Court Marine Parade.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This has to rank as my worst hotel stay this year. As a Tsogo Sun hotel, I expected much more from. The check-in was the most unfriendly I have experienced in a while. Nothing could coax a smile out of the staff and one got the sense that no queries or requests were welcome when even the most mundane question of where/when was breakfast was met with a dour stare then short clipped answers/gestures. That however paled into insignificance when I got to the room - the most depressing, washed out & uninspiring that I've seen in a long time. Even now, weeks after my stay, the thought of the bald brown and white tones make me despondent. The cleaning staff also did a poor job of it and never vacuumed the carpets or wiped down surfaces. I think all they ever did was make the beds.I looked forward to the morning to make a quick getaway from such terrible surroundings and tried to stay out late to avoid going back!
I tried the restaurant food on the first night and it was terrible, very little variety, no flavour and service also left alot to be desired. The only positive I took out of this whole forgettable experience was the free wifi and the great sea view from the rooms. I have to wonder how a brand like Tsogo Sun have let things get down to this level.
This is definitely one hotel that is off my list in Durban.

Room Tip: Try another Hotel
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Njoki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre G, Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Njoki K,
It is with great disappointment that I read your review as it is never our intention to disappoint any of our clients or prospective travellers.
We thank you for this feedback as this is the only manner in which we can address service and product standards and uplift these to a level to those accustomed to that of a Tsogo Sun Hotel.
Please accept our apologies for these shortcomings.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The staff were friendly helpful and polite. The rooms hover felt like I was stuck in a '80's Motel, the room was not adequately cleaned as the bar fridge still had left overs from the previous guests. The bathrooms were clean but there were traces of mold. The bedding and curtains were depressing and I did not step barefooted on the floor. Need I say , thankfully it was only one night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E_traveller28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre G, Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear E-traveller28,
Thank you for your feedback and comments on your recent stay at Garden Court Marine Parade. This valuable information will guide and assist us to put corrective measures in place to address concerns noted.
Thank you for the positive feedback on our staff and team members as they are truely what makes this hotel special.
We do hope to welcome you back in the near future and will keep you updated on any planned refurbishments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Great location on the beach front, all rooms have sea facing views which makes a nice change. The hotel is pretty expensive for one that is so dated, but the rooms were adequate and the staff were very friendly making the group feel welcome. Breakfast was served buffet style, with lots to choose from - it can take a while to get a seat, so make sure you leave plenty of time to get seated. The rooms were nice enough with a double bed, TV and separate shower & bathroom, although the air-con was a bit temperamental. Would recommend for a short stay, but nothing over a couple of days.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre G, Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Hannah,
Thank you for the time taken to provide us with feedback on your recent stay at Garden Court Marine Parade. We are so pleased that you did enjoy your time with us. Also we thank you for the great feedback on our staff ,as they are what makes this hotel special.
We hope to welcome you back in future and that Garden Court Marine Parade will be your hotel of choice.
Have a great day ahead.
Kind Regards
Louise Otto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Our visit at the garden court marine drive was a good one. The staff at reception were courteous and friendly. We were greeted with a complementary box of chocolate. The book in, and check out was seamless and our room had the most amazing view of the ocean.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UlrichLeKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre G, Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Ulrich,
Thank you for the great feedback and we are so glad that we exceeded your expectations as I know you were a little concerned about some previous reviews.
We hope to become your hotel of choice when traveling to Durban and look forward to welcome you and the family back.
Have a great day ahead.
Kind Regards
Louise Otto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had stayed at this hotel for a conference and booked 7 rooms for our stay. I usually stay at North beach but due to construction there i decided to give the Marine parade a go since i have never stayed there before.

I was utterly disappointed. There were cockroaches in my room, the toilet seat was filthy upon arrival, the carpets in the lifts were stained, there was a leak in the bathroom which was absorbed by the room carpets amongst a few other issues.

My advice, pay a little more and stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ebrahim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre G, Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Ebrahim F,
Thank you for your communique on Tripadvisor as well as our internal guest survey as we appreciate all the feedback we get. I have taken notice of your comments and can assure you we take this very seriously as it is definitely not in our interest not to do so. We have a professional pest control company contracted to service our establishment on a regular basis and we have asked them to investigate any potential risk we might have. I can further assure you that these incidents are normally very irregular and that is why we will give it the attention it deserves.
Thank you again for the information.
Kind Regards
Louise Otto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,460 reviews
0.5 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#18 of 43 in Durban
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.2 mi away
Garden Court South Beach
0.8 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Marine Parade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Marine Parade

Address: 167 OR Tambo Parade, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range: $116 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Marine Parade 3*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Garden Court hotel is situated on Durban’s world-famous Golden Mile. Offering sun-drenched beaches, guests are offered comfort, hospitality and that little something extra. This hotel is at the centre of Durban’s beachfront and offers attention to detail without compromising on the good value that characterises the Garden Court brand. It is the perfect alternative for visitors to this fun seaside city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Garden Court Marine Parade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Marine Parade Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing