We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay all around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garden Court Marine Parade
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Benoni
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay all around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

we had booked a Whole week from the 11th to the 18th April 2012, Wow our stay was great, reception we got was great with friendly stuff from all the staff Members.

it was a wonderful change form Gauteng. Rooms were Great, Lenen Changed daily "very Happy", Breakfast was very Good and my Wife and kid enjoyed it a lot.

Did I say Staff members were friendly and Good?

only one thing I would love to see change though, the layout of the rooms, espacially Parents with a kid or kids, beds are way to close for comfort. and also an upgrades on the room it self as its a bit outdated.

but a big thank you to all.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors have a great view, was on Floor 25 and was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandile N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    274
    127
    42
    32
See reviews for
350
162
22
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Umtentweni
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

I stayed here for one night to go and watche the rugby at Kings Park Stadium. It is close to the stadium (cost about R50 one way in a taxi). The location is excellent. Right on the beachfront near everything. The view from our room was absolutely amazing. We could see from the Bluff right through to Umhlanga and we loved it.
The rooms are fine. The beds were comfortable and the linen decent. The rooms and bathroom are a little old fashioned but clean. I would definately stay here again as it was good value and a great location.
I noticed that there is a lovely pool and sun deck on the roof. Although I never personally used it I thought it was lovely.
There was a huge breakfast buffet. Something for everyone.
I see the person who reviewed before me compalined about paying for parking. I didn't pay for parking and was never asked to do so.

Room Tip: They asked if we would like "high or low". We chose "high" and were given a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelBug4235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polokwane, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

It was my second time sleeping at this hotel.The rooms are good and clean though with old furniture. The breakfast is perfect with everythig one would like to eat. What i didnt like was paying R165 for parking for 3 nights. I visited the hotel in March 2009 & did not pay for the parking, but i was really amazed to be told that i must pay. Why do we have to pay more for their parking when we have already paid for the bed? They dont even inform their customers in advance about their parking fees. Most of the hotel parking is for free if you are a tenant, but for this one,it doesnt worth paying for! Even the reception staff, they are not welcoming at all, they must just go to hell with their stinking attitude.

Room Tip: Make sure you budget for the parking because you gonna have to pay more than you thought.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salome M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
185 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

The rooms are clean and spacious, the views of the entrance to the harbour and the beachfront are fantastic - a shipwatcher's paradise. I woke at dawn to the most amazing sunrise ever! The food is good and plentiful, but watch out for the extra parking cost of R55 for a night (pretty steep) and the rather down at heel swimming pool deck on the top floor of the hotel. I had fantasized about swimming on the top floor of the hotel and was bitterly disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntSomersetWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mtubatuba
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

This Hotel is right accross the amusement and fun park, which would make it very suitable for Parents with young children. The rooms are adequite enough, but still do not have flat screen TV's. The menu was outdated and their wine prices has doubled from what they had in the menu. We were there on an extremely hot day and the airconditioners in reception were either not working, or were not on. Breakfast is not too bad, but I did not particularly enjoy the buffet they had in the evening. I must say the airconditioner in my room was functioning well enough.

Room Tip: Higher rooms may well be an advantage during peak seasons as the fun park and rides accross the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 460TheBlond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soweto, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

The staff was so good to us and the hotel is very clean and quiet,their breakfast is to die for ,they have different types of food to choose from,what i would love to see ,is for them to have special prices for people who always visit the Hotel,very good discount's,especialy during holiday times cause the prices are very high,i wont mind to go back and visit again,they must always e mail fo any specails they have.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Sea are very quiet an clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gladstone H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roodepoort, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

Will never stay in the hotel, for the price you pay it is a rip off. Dirty carpets, down run furniture, terrible smell in the rooms, swimming pool not up to standard.Staff more concerned about their private phone calls than attending to clients. Unfriendly and not helpfull at all. Whole set up in entrance hall not welcoming at all.
How can this be a 3 star if you look at your Capetown hotels?
Will not see you in Durban again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gerhard v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 42 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
0.5 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 42 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 42 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
1.2 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 42 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Marine Parade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Marine Parade

Property: Garden Court Marine Parade
Address: 167 Marine Terminal Street, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Marine Parade 3*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Garden Court hotel is situated on Durban’s world-famous Golden Mile. Offering sun-drenched beaches, guests are offered comfort, hospitality and that little something extra. This hotel is at the centre of Durban’s beachfront and offers attention to detail without compromising on the good value that characterises the Garden Court brand. It is the perfect alternative for visitors to this fun seaside city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Garden Court Marine Parade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Marine Parade Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing