We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View - OK rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Garden Court Marine Parade
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I stayed here for one night to go and watche the rugby at Kings Park Stadium. It is close to the stadium (cost about R50 one way in a taxi). The location is excellent. Right on the beachfront near everything. The view from our room was absolutely amazing. We could see from the Bluff right through to Umhlanga and we loved it.
The rooms are fine. The beds were comfortable and the linen decent. The rooms and bathroom are a little old fashioned but clean. I would definately stay here again as it was good value and a great location.
I noticed that there is a lovely pool and sun deck on the roof. Although I never personally used it I thought it was lovely.
There was a huge breakfast buffet. Something for everyone.
I see the person who reviewed before me compalined about paying for parking. I didn't pay for parking and was never asked to do so.

Room Tip: They asked if we would like "high or low". We chose "high" and were given a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelBug4235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,091)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,038 - 1,044 of 1,091 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2012

It was my second time sleeping at this hotel.The rooms are good and clean though with old furniture. The breakfast is perfect with everythig one would like to eat. What i didnt like was paying R165 for parking for 3 nights. I visited the hotel in March 2009 & did not pay for the parking, but i was really amazed to be told that i must pay. Why do we have to pay more for their parking when we have already paid for the bed? They dont even inform their customers in advance about their parking fees. Most of the hotel parking is for free if you are a tenant, but for this one,it doesnt worth paying for! Even the reception staff, they are not welcoming at all, they must just go to hell with their stinking attitude.

Room Tip: Make sure you budget for the parking because you gonna have to pay more than you thought.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salome M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

The rooms are clean and spacious, the views of the entrance to the harbour and the beachfront are fantastic - a shipwatcher's paradise. I woke at dawn to the most amazing sunrise ever! The food is good and plentiful, but watch out for the extra parking cost of R55 for a night (pretty steep) and the rather down at heel swimming pool deck on the top floor of the hotel. I had fantasized about swimming on the top floor of the hotel and was bitterly disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntSomersetWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This Hotel is right accross the amusement and fun park, which would make it very suitable for Parents with young children. The rooms are adequite enough, but still do not have flat screen TV's. The menu was outdated and their wine prices has doubled from what they had in the menu. We were there on an extremely hot day and the airconditioners in reception were either not working, or were not on. Breakfast is not too bad, but I did not particularly enjoy the buffet they had in the evening. I must say the airconditioner in my room was functioning well enough.

Room Tip: Higher rooms may well be an advantage during peak seasons as the fun park and rides accross the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 460TheBlond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

The staff was so good to us and the hotel is very clean and quiet,their breakfast is to die for ,they have different types of food to choose from,what i would love to see ,is for them to have special prices for people who always visit the Hotel,very good discount's,especialy during holiday times cause the prices are very high,i wont mind to go back and visit again,they must always e mail fo any specails they have.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Sea are very quiet an clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gladstone H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Will never stay in the hotel, for the price you pay it is a rip off. Dirty carpets, down run furniture, terrible smell in the rooms, swimming pool not up to standard.Staff more concerned about their private phone calls than attending to clients. Unfriendly and not helpfull at all. Whole set up in entrance hall not welcoming at all.
How can this be a 3 star if you look at your Capetown hotels?
Will not see you in Durban again

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gerhard v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

The hotel is furnishings and furniture are dated...tv, desk, carpet, bathroom tiles etc. Some renovation will do this hotel good. Loved the beautiful view from my hotel room though...the positive thing about this hotel is that all the rooms are sea facing...stayed for a week in Jan 2012

Room Tip: All rooms are sea facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lele1432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 44 in Durban
1,560 reviews
0.5 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#17 of 44 in Durban
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 44 in Durban
457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.2 mi away
Garden Court South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Marine Parade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Marine Parade

Address: 167 OR O R Tambo Parade, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range: $121 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Marine Parade 3*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Garden Court hotel is situated on Durban’s world-famous Golden Mile. Offering sun-drenched beaches, guests are offered comfort, hospitality and that little something extra. This hotel is at the centre of Durban’s beachfront and offers attention to detail without compromising on the good value that characterises the Garden Court brand. It is the perfect alternative for visitors to this fun seaside city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Garden Court Marine Parade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Marine Parade Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing