We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is perfect for business travel-centrally located, clean and comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Garden Court South Beach
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This hotel is perfect for business travel-centrally located, clean and comfortable.”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is the 4th year we've used this hotel as residence during the annual tourism Indaba. It is centrally located, offers good value for money and great service. The rooms are comfortable and immaculately kept. I am excited to learn that Tsogo Sun Hotels will offer complimentary wifi in their rooms from 1 June-fantastic!
The hotel offers a great breakfast selection, but I did find the dining room a bit stuffy this year. I suppose it is due to the renovations, and I hope that it will be fixed soon. I did not enjoy smelling like bacon and eggs, especially when I am seeing clients!
The only drawback is the Mustard Grill Restaurant situated on the gorund floor. The service is shocking and the food is nothing to write home about. The hotel uses this restaurant for their in-room dining. Make sure that the operator repeats your room number, otherwise you will not get your order!
I believe that this restaurant is damaging the hotel's reputation, but it is making a pot of money as it is the only restaurant on the premise, so it is unlikely that anything will change. Take my advice and rather make the effort to eat at one of the many fine restaurants in Durban!
I will definitely return; see you next year!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lize Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Lize Z

Indaba is always an exciting time of year, and we are so glad that you stay with us while attending, thank you.

I have personally met with Mustards Grill management to map the way forward. We are also doing extensive renovations to our breakfast area and it's going to be a really great venue. I am sure that you will enjoy the changes in both restaurants on your next stay.

The team thank you for this feedback and for your support. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Amar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    332
    225
    81
    71
See reviews for
439
223
50
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

By choosing Garden Court South Beach I made an excellent start to my holiday in South Africa. It is beautifully located. The beach is just across the road and the room views are stunning. Sleep quality was excellent and rooms were a fair size. I was in the double double bed room as was travelling with family. Hotel is very child friendly. Breakfast was just too good with a huge variety. We were there over the easter weekend. Loads of people but the service was excellent. Highly recommended hotel if you visiting Durban.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HuseinE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear HuseinE

The team is excited that we could give your holiday a great start. We wish you and your family a great holiday further, in this beautiful country of ours.

Please come back soon! We wish you God's blessings on your travels.

Kind regards
Amar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gauteng
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Thank you very much for the hospitality, i stayed @ south beach for two days, and it was so nice and clean.The staff is very friendly nice breakfast, everything is splendid and i will definitely come back next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Norah K

The team are really glad that you enjoyed your stay. On your return trip you will see a great revamped breakfast room, and a few other upgrades, which we are sure that you will enjoy.

Thanks so much for your support!

Kind regards
Amar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

There is another Garden Court hotel just a few blocks further up the coast in Durban that looks to be a slightly more up market hotel. However, the Garden Court South beach is clean and tidy and the staff are friendly and helpful. If you need something that the hotel doesn't advertise, it is worth asking the staff. For example, we had to leave the hotel on one day before breakfast was served so the hotel provided us with a packed breakfast to take with us at no extra cost. The rooms are basic but well maintained and clean. The Garden Court South Beach offers good value for money.

Room Tip: Ensure you're trying to check in to the right Garden Court Hotel (there is another Garden Court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Ben M

We could not agree with you more ... if our guests don't see what they need we ask them to please talk with us ... we will always do our best to make each and every stay a great experience. Thank you so much for choosing Garden Court South Beach, and for taking the time to post this review. We hope and trust that you will always choose us as your Durban home.

Kind regards
Amar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights for the SA Nipper Champs on Addington beach ( almost opposite the hotel ) and it more than meets the *** grading. Good size rooms, big breakfasts, very friendly staff, very good food at the restaurant, super bar staff and very helpful concierge called Sunny. The hotel can be noisy and the sounds of toilets flushing in neighbouring rooms can be distracting.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear ThomasZA

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay. Please don't wait for the next competition to stay again - we would love to welcome you back soon!

Until then all the best with the lifesaving.

Kind regards
Amar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I used to visit durban with parents and sleep @ hooliday inn then,but now I'm working no longer a dependant.Garden court is my 1st choice.I could not ask for somemore.they have excellent especially the ones on the reception,they are so friendly,the rooms are neatly done.one thing that pleases me is you don't have to buy ice tubes unlike other hotels I've been to.they don't have a shortage in their kitchen,everything is the there.what I can ask for are some free nights as just a token of thanking me for being their regular guest,this year is gonna be my 12 year being with Garden court!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sboshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Sboshy

While we cannot offer free nights, we will continue to do our level best to provide you with a lifetime of great experiences. The team are so excited to hear of your history with us, we are very privileged that you have allowed us to become part of your life. Thank you, thank you and thank you.

Warm regards
Amar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

It was was our 3rd time back at the Garden Court South Beach hotel and I must say that my family and myself enjoyed our stay once again. Staff is friendly and helpful, rooms are clean and comfortable, breakfasts in the morning is simply out of this world, my kids love "Sunny" the porter always helpful. And yes, we will be back. The Hotel is currently being painted but this did not affect our holiday at all.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarcoDavids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear MarcoDavids

Many, many thanks, for allowing us to become a part of your families special holidays. We are really glad that the painting did not intrude on your stay at all; and we look forward to showing off our nicely refurbished building to you, on your next stay.

Kind regards
Amar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,393 reviews
0.8 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#15 of 43 in Durban
592 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
427 reviews
1.4 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court South Beach

Property: Garden Court South Beach
Address: 73 OR Tambo Parade, Durban 4056, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Durban
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated amidst the hustle and bustle of Durban, this affordable family-friendly hotel offers stunning panoramic views of the historic Durban Harbour and the Indian Ocean. A stone’s throw from the modern aquarium and oceanarium, uShaka Marine World, this hotel also allows for easy access to the SunCoast Casino and Entertainment complex, miles of golden beaches and the culturally rich Durban CBD. This Garden Court Hotel is the ideal destination for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden Court South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court - South Beach Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing