We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Garden Court South Beach
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Geneve
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

For 75€ wit breakfast included I did not expect a 5 star but a quiet room and an acceptable service level.

Unfortunately, it was not the case.

The rooms are clean with view on the beach. But we could hear the trafic outside the whole night as well as the air condition (no way to turn it off). So do not forget your earplugs!

We had to wait 15 min before a not really polite receptionist announced us that the rooms were not ready.

We also wanted to check out the day before departure and have been told it is not possible!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frgad3c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear frgad3c

Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience which was caused. We are addressing your long wait at reception, and the friendliness of the receptionist with the Front Office Manager, to ensure that measures are put in place to correct these matters.

Once again, please accept our sincere apologies.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    340
    226
    85
    73
See reviews for
454
228
51
268
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel is beautifully situated: if only Durban were safe! Impossible to go any further than the beach front without being agressed! And certainly do not venture out at night. The rooms were clean, comfortable, flat screen t v, safe, tea making facilities, and fully equipped bathrooms. But the restaurant! What a shambles! Interminable buffet, slow (really slow as all is slow in Africa), staff obviously lack training and do theirbest but frankly cannot cope, which meant that the (good) food was cold when we finally got it to the table. They would have happier clients if they trained their staff minimally!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsobellaParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear IsobellaParis

Please accept our sincere apologies for the lapse in the restaurant standard. Please be assured that this matter has been escalated, and remedial action is being taken to ensure that things are as they should be in the restuarant. This remedial action is taking the form of staff training and an equipment upgrade, and we are confident that you will experience a big improvement on your next stay. If I, or any of my managment, can be of any help in future please do not hesitate to call on us.

I am also personally working with various stakeholders to bring Durban from strength to strength. It is of the utmost importance to me, and my team, that you should be comfortable and enjoy the wonderful sights which Durban has to offer.

Kind regards
Amar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel service was was great and the rooms were decent. The breakfast was fantastic. The only issues I had were the following:
1. We had to pay for parking which may not necessarily be non-standard but all the other Southern Sun's i've been to have given parking as part of the deal of staying there.
2. Wifi access was not free. you have to pay for it. Personally I think in this day and age, all hotels should give wifi access as a standard.
3. The aircon did not work in our room.
4. This is not related to the hotel but My wife got her cellphone stolen on the beach in front of the hotel. The beach police said that this happens all the time which tells me that the area is not the safest. The security of the hotel though were very helpful and comfortted my wife and really helped look for the perpetrators. The service was great from that perspective.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tmadiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Tmadiba

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are really happy that you enjoyed our service and breakfast. We greatly regret that your wife's cellphone was stolen on the beach. We view this in a very serious light, and we are glad that the hotel security were able to offer some small measure of comfort. My team and I are engaged with various stakeholders, on an ongoing basis, to ensure the safety and security of all of our visitors. Durban has so much to offer and we want everybody to enjoy it at all times.

The Garden Court South Beach team look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards
Amar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at the Garden Court South Beach on 18 August 2012 and we were not happy at all. The service was poor; the people at the front desk were not that helpfull ad friendly upon check in. There was no parking available at the hotel and we had to wait for 20 minutes for the security guard to accompany us to a dodgy parking place at another hotel. The hotel was very noisy and the bed was not comfortable. The view was great and breakfast was good. The hotel is located in a very central and good area in Durban.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nthoamehla Enid P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Nthoamehla Enid P

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are delighted that you enjoyed the breakfast, the view and the location.

We are so sorry that our service was not up to our normal standard, please accept our sincere apologies for this. It is unacceptable to us that you should ever receive unfriendly service. We are giving training on an ongoing basis to all of our staff, and I am confident that you will see a positive difference on your next stay.

The team will continue to look for innovative ways to solve our parking shortage.

Thank you for choosing the Garden Court South Beach. We look forward to welcoming you back soon ! Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The hotel is very well located, of course is a 3 stars we can not expect more. Some noise in morning when people take bath. But the staff is so kind, the buffet great, I could not eat as much as people eat there. The view of the Golden Mile is beautiful.

Room Tip: Ask one on the 23 floor, the problem with noises in the toilet disappear
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaBarbosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Maria Barbosa

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We agree 100% with you - the view of the Golden Mile is truly beautiful. Please come and stay with us again soon.

Kind regards
Amar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Even though it has an incredible location if you want to be near the beach, we found the service of the hotel very poor.. with receptionists giving wrong information, beind disturbed at midnight by its own staff, notwithstanding that both bathrooms we used had problems with the shower! However, Sunny - a very friendly staff - made our trip with stories of his many years of working in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laari_Araujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Laari_Araujo

We are really sorry to hear that our service was not as it should be, please accept the team's sincere apologies for this lapse. Sunny is a great ambassador and we will definitely recognise him for this during our next staff briefing. If I or any of my management team can be of any help in future, please do not hesitate to call on us.

Kind regards
Amar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The proximity of this hotel to the beach is its biggest advantage specially the view of docking huge ships which is visible from ur room.Great breakfast,great service.the quality of breakfast is superb and service is also very nice..with so many restaurants in the vicinity this is ideal place to chek in if u r on a trip to durban be it leisure or business.

Room Tip: Higher floor have amaxx=zing ship docking view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bharatdanani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Bharatdanani

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. The team is thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming back to Garden Court South Beach - your Home away from Home when you are in Durban!

Kindest regards
Amar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,417 reviews
0.8 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.2 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#16 of 43 in Durban
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
1.1 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
435 reviews
1.4 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court South Beach

Property: Garden Court South Beach
Address: 73 OR Tambo Parade, Durban 4056, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Durban
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated amidst the hustle and bustle of Durban, this affordable family-friendly hotel offers stunning panoramic views of the historic Durban Harbour and the Indian Ocean. A stone’s throw from the modern aquarium and oceanarium, uShaka Marine World, this hotel also allows for easy access to the SunCoast Casino and Entertainment complex, miles of golden beaches and the culturally rich Durban CBD. This Garden Court Hotel is the ideal destination for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Garden Court South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court - South Beach Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing