We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so wow experience at a Southern Sun Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Garden Court South Beach
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at the Garden Court South Beach on 18 August 2012 and we were not happy at all. The service was poor; the people at the front desk were not that helpfull ad friendly upon check in. There was no parking available at the hotel and we had to wait for 20 minutes for the security guard to accompany us to a dodgy parking place at another hotel. The hotel was very noisy and the bed was not comfortable. The view was great and breakfast was good. The hotel is located in a very central and good area in Durban.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nthoamehla Enid P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Nthoamehla Enid P

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are delighted that you enjoyed the breakfast, the view and the location.

We are so sorry that our service was not up to our normal standard, please accept our sincere apologies for this. It is unacceptable to us that you should ever receive unfriendly service. We are giving training on an ongoing basis to all of our staff, and I am confident that you will see a positive difference on your next stay.

The team will continue to look for innovative ways to solve our parking shortage.

Thank you for choosing the Garden Court South Beach. We look forward to welcoming you back soon ! Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,150)
There are newer reviews for Garden Court South Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,066 - 1,072 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2012

The hotel is very well located, of course is a 3 stars we can not expect more. Some noise in morning when people take bath. But the staff is so kind, the buffet great, I could not eat as much as people eat there. The view of the Golden Mile is beautiful.

Room Tip: Ask one on the 23 floor, the problem with noises in the toilet disappear
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaBarbosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Maria Barbosa

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We agree 100% with you - the view of the Golden Mile is truly beautiful. Please come and stay with us again soon.

Kind regards
Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Even though it has an incredible location if you want to be near the beach, we found the service of the hotel very poor.. with receptionists giving wrong information, beind disturbed at midnight by its own staff, notwithstanding that both bathrooms we used had problems with the shower! However, Sunny - a very friendly staff - made our trip with stories of his many years of working in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laari_Araujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Dear Laari_Araujo

We are really sorry to hear that our service was not as it should be, please accept the team's sincere apologies for this lapse. Sunny is a great ambassador and we will definitely recognise him for this during our next staff briefing. If I or any of my management team can be of any help in future, please do not hesitate to call on us.

Kind regards
Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The proximity of this hotel to the beach is its biggest advantage specially the view of docking huge ships which is visible from ur room.Great breakfast,great service.the quality of breakfast is superb and service is also very nice..with so many restaurants in the vicinity this is ideal place to chek in if u r on a trip to durban be it leisure or business.

Room Tip: Higher floor have amaxx=zing ship docking view
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bharatdanani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Dear Bharatdanani

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. The team is thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming back to Garden Court South Beach - your Home away from Home when you are in Durban!

Kindest regards
Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The experience was excellent the staff very friendly the breakfast was wonderful , but I laid a complain about the bed that was in such a bad state you could not sleep on it. My wife and I am booked in again this weekend and we can’t wait to stay there again.

Room Tip: The see facing side is the best.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rudi3900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2012

Dear Rudi3900

On behalf of the team, please accept our grateful thanks for your loyal support. Please also accept our sincere apologies for the lapse in standard regarding the bed. Should I, or any of my managment team, be able to help with any future matters, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards
Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The Garden Court service & enviroment and everything was just out of this world,3 nights was exactly the what me and my family needed after our loss.,

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FaneleHlatshwayo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2012

Dear FaneleHlatshwayo

We are sorry to hear of your loss and send our condolences to yourself and your family. We really appreciate your support, and we are really glad that the hotel stay helped you in this time. The team here at Garden Court South Beach look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I could not fault the Garden Court South Beach at all during my 6 night stay over Indaba. The hotel was chock and block full for the whole period but staff stayed friendly and as helpfull as they could. Although I was only on the 9th floor I had a stunning view of the beachfront and coastline and enjoyed watching sunrise every morning from my bedroom window. The rooms are comfortable with more than enough tv channels to choose from. If I had to complain about one thing it would be the size of the bathroom, but you only spend a short time of your stay in there. The choices at breakfast was fantastic and service there was fast and efficient as well. I had to go to the atm a block or so behind the hotel after dark and when I mentioned my safety concerns to a manager he immediately asked one of the security guards to escort me there and back. Fantastic service. Just that the underground parking could be a bit cheaper. I will stay there again without any problem.

Room Tip: The higher you are the better the view. Ask for a room away from the lifts.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FireflyAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2012

Dear FireflyAfrica

Thank you for taking the time to post this great review - we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay! The Garden Court South Beach team look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards to yourself and your family,
Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
1.2 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#18 of 43 in Durban
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.1 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
443 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pavillion hotel
Pavillion hotel
#27 of 43 in Durban
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court South Beach

Address: 73 OR Tambo Parade, Durban 4056, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Durban
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#3 Best Value Hotel in Durban
Price Range: $89 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated amidst the hustle and bustle of Durban, this affordable family-friendly hotel offers stunning panoramic views of the historic Durban Harbour and the Indian Ocean. A stone’s throw from the modern aquarium and oceanarium, uShaka Marine World, this hotel also allows for easy access to the SunCoast Casino and Entertainment complex, miles of golden beaches and the culturally rich Durban CBD. This Garden Court Hotel is the ideal destination for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Garden Court South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court - South Beach Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing