We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden court plus points”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Garden Court South Beach
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The proximity of this hotel to the beach is its biggest advantage specially the view of docking huge ships which is visible from ur room.Great breakfast,great service.the quality of breakfast is superb and service is also very nice..with so many restaurants in the vicinity this is ideal place to chek in if u r on a trip to durban be it leisure or business.

Room Tip: Higher floor have amaxx=zing ship docking view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bharatdanani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Dear Bharatdanani

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. The team is thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming back to Garden Court South Beach - your Home away from Home when you are in Durban!

Kindest regards
Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,116 - 1,122 of 1,203 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2012

The experience was excellent the staff very friendly the breakfast was wonderful , but I laid a complain about the bed that was in such a bad state you could not sleep on it. My wife and I am booked in again this weekend and we can’t wait to stay there again.

Room Tip: The see facing side is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rudi3900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2012

Dear Rudi3900

On behalf of the team, please accept our grateful thanks for your loyal support. Please also accept our sincere apologies for the lapse in standard regarding the bed. Should I, or any of my managment team, be able to help with any future matters, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards
Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The Garden Court service & enviroment and everything was just out of this world,3 nights was exactly the what me and my family needed after our loss.,

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FaneleHlatshwayo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2012

Dear FaneleHlatshwayo

We are sorry to hear of your loss and send our condolences to yourself and your family. We really appreciate your support, and we are really glad that the hotel stay helped you in this time. The team here at Garden Court South Beach look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I could not fault the Garden Court South Beach at all during my 6 night stay over Indaba. The hotel was chock and block full for the whole period but staff stayed friendly and as helpfull as they could. Although I was only on the 9th floor I had a stunning view of the beachfront and coastline and enjoyed watching sunrise every morning from my bedroom window. The rooms are comfortable with more than enough tv channels to choose from. If I had to complain about one thing it would be the size of the bathroom, but you only spend a short time of your stay in there. The choices at breakfast was fantastic and service there was fast and efficient as well. I had to go to the atm a block or so behind the hotel after dark and when I mentioned my safety concerns to a manager he immediately asked one of the security guards to escort me there and back. Fantastic service. Just that the underground parking could be a bit cheaper. I will stay there again without any problem.

Room Tip: The higher you are the better the view. Ask for a room away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FireflyAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2012

Dear FireflyAfrica

Thank you for taking the time to post this great review - we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay! The Garden Court South Beach team look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards to yourself and your family,
Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I have returned to the Garden Court South Beach Hotel with my family and additional 2 guests over the Easter Weekend 2012 and had no issues. Reading through some of the negatives that people do experience in some reviews are easily remedied. If you feel that you are being illtreated at the hotel or that you have a toilet that is not flushing, it is as easy as speaking to management. I am sure that the problem will be sorted out. Personally, I cannot handle criticism that is not constructive and not of any value. Our experience with this hotel has so far been good, and yes we are planning to return over the Easter Weekend 2013. For all the readers looking for good value, simple, clean and safe hotel this is the one to stay in. If you expect 5 star accommodation then pay for it and go and stay at a 5 star hotel bottom line.

This hotel offers brilliant seafront views of the Indian Ocean and the promenade, the breakfast is of high quality and you are spoilt for choice. The staff was friendly. You are close to most of Durban's highlights, uShaka Marine World, Moses Madhiba Soccer Stadium, the Ricksha Bus, Mini Town just to mention a few. Safety was not a concern for me, then again I am from Cape Town. My advice whether you are in London, New York or Rio is to watch your back and do not walk the streets at 02:30 in the morning because then you looking to be mugged. Police presence over the period that I spent at this Hotel was good and police visibily was high.

High noise levels from the lifts are still present which needs to be managed by the hotel. This is a common issue which I do agree with other patrons that stayed at the hotel. Hotel Management should look and decreasing the volume of the lift "pinging" indicator when the lift arrives at the floor.

Furthermore, there is noting wrong with this hotel, just people expectations.

Room Tip: Choose sea facing rooms away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MarcoDavids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne S, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2015
Google Translation

.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

My family and i have been staying at this hotel for many years and this specific stay was one that really upset me. It was a stay for business and pleasure. I was asked to vacate the breakfast room as i was dressed inappropriately. Had on a long full sleeve kaftan and the breakfast room supervisor said that that dress code was not allowed. They should have had a notice put up stating dress code. I left da breakfast room in tears as da other staff were talking about me in their language and i am born and brought up knowing that language very well. Was at da brkfast room at 7 am as i had a very sick baby to attend to so i thought id get done wid breakfast then let da others come thereafter. But i left there with a lump in my throat. Had a luke warm shower da night i reached didnt have to open cold water. Dats da last ting u need on holiday. Asked for a cleaner as my baby toppled my lunch or i even said send me da vacuum if there are no cleaners i will do it myself but no response. Rooms right near lifts are a no no and da sound of the next rooms flush is annoying. I look at this stay as my bad luck.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zahirra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne S, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2015
Google Translation

.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Having stayed at this hotel twice before on short trips to Durban, we decided that it would be good for an eight day stay. I am happy to report that this was the case. As always the staff were friendly and helpful. We were allocated a room opposite the lifts which we know from experience can be noisy, both from waiting guests and the lifts themselves constantly 'pinging' on arrival at each floor. We immediatly requested a change which we were given without hassle. There were one or two issues with the room (flat batteries in the safe, draw front coming off and aircon that would not turn off) but these were promptly resolved and left us to enjoy our stay. As always breakfast were good and the staff are lovely as I have said before.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the lifts are preferable for a quiet stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andrewlgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne S, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2015
Google Translation

.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#2 of 43 in Durban
1,510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.8 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 43 in Durban
452 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#18 of 43 in Durban
631 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#34 of 43 in Durban
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court South Beach

Address: 73 OR Tambo Parade, Durban 4056, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Durban
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#4 Best Value Hotel in Durban
Price Range: $83 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated amidst the hustle and bustle of Durban, this affordable family-friendly hotel offers stunning panoramic views of the historic Durban Harbour and the Indian Ocean. A stone’s throw from the modern aquarium and oceanarium, uShaka Marine World, this hotel also allows for easy access to the SunCoast Casino and Entertainment complex, miles of golden beaches and the culturally rich Durban CBD. This Garden Court Hotel is the ideal destination for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Garden Court South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court - South Beach Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing