We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Timers Wonderful Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Delfi

Delfi
Ranked #58 of 598 Restaurants in Durban
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Family-run Greek Restaurant. Has been operating for a number of years.Telephone number: +27 31 312 7032
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“First Timers Wonderful Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were lucky enough to be invited to Delfi by some of our Durban family. We arrived not knowing what to expect. A true gem - family run Greek Restaurant in the heart of Morning side. A tale of two sisters and perhaps there was a third one somewhere behind the scenes. Intimate, down to earth but seriously delicious salt of the earth fare.

We started off with the Meze - a selection the house specialities of dolmades, feta, salads, olives, prawns and calamari. For the main, we ordered a delicious sea food platter of the line fish of the day which happened to be red roman, prawns, mussels and grilled calamari. The lamb I am told is superb as are the chicken options - but tonite we we keen on something from the sea!

We were very well looked after, rounding off with desserts of baklava and another equally delicious dish I unfortunately cannot remember!

The wine list was adequate and the two bottles of Hartenberg Chardonnay went down very well for our table of 4!

Highly recommended - fabulous in its homely simplicity, rare authenticity and good value!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Finchette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    21
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great "hole-in-the-wall" little taverna”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Delfi looks pretty unassuming from the outside and many may wish to give it a miss. This will be their loss. The food is pretty authentic with a wide variety of dishes available, especially for a restaurant of this size. My friends swear by the mezze platter (ideal for vegetarians - skip the meatball though). We had a table of 10+ last night and everyone enjoyed their food - from simple non-fussy family members to very demanding friends (count me in the last category!). I ordered the Gemista (stuffed tomatoes and peppers - though it was just tomatoes this time). It was outstanding (and cheap to boot)! I cannot remember the last time I paid so little for a sit down meal (the quality was a bonus!).

Highly recommended!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laser_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delicious, home-cooked greek good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

the food at Delfi is excellent. Small restaurant so reservations essential. Maria's prawns are the best... mouth-watering.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank GrSa_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“True Greek”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

A fantastic experience if you like Greek food. Try the lamb Kleftiko and the meze platter. Very small, so you must book. Service was efficient and attentive. Will be back.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Greek Taverna”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Always a pleasure to eat at this family run Greek Taverna--a good value traditional Greek experience

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delfi also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Delfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing