We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding venue and accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rain Farm Game and Lodge
Ranked #2 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wedding venue and accomodation”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

My daughter got married at The Rain Farm at the beginning of May 2014. The setting is just beautiful - from the very pretty stone chapel to the authentic boma reception venue, to the rock pool and zebra strolling through the grounds all make for a wonderful and memorable stay. Sunette - the functions co-ordinator is unbelievably efficient and the admin staff who handled all the accomodation (all the guests stayed overnight) were all incredibly helpful and nothing was ever too much trouble for any of them. The rooms are all unique and the food was really good. All in all - a very special venue - whether for a wedding or for a weekend stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are unique and varied so good idea to check on their webpage to see what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieWils0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    53
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
68
67
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I cannot put in the past dates, in April 2012 my daughter got married at the lodge. I had a tent which was clean and in a lovely spot. We had the building for the bride which was also lovely. The staff went out of their way to help and the prices were good value. I'd come back for a holiday and stay there.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mooseychops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2014

As newly weds, my Husband and I cannot praise Rain Farm enough for their services that they provided to make our day go beautifully. From the word go, they were all so extremely efficient, and so helpful. You asked for it. Done. You suggested to move something over here. Done. It was an absolute delight to have a team like that taking care of us on the most important day.

The venue and settings are an absolute dream for those who wish to tie the knot in a natural setting, 2 souls joinging at the hand with nothing but nature at your side was our idea of an awesome wedding. Most of the family were completely bowled over by the surroundings that most of them booked to stay at the lodge and made a holiday out the beautiful surroundings. The food was top knotch, (and I would have gone for second helpings had my super tight gown allowed it ha ha). Food, was superb. Staff, even better and the Boma was stunning. The spa room was completely taken over by myself and Bridal party, exclusive for the day. The next day those of us who stayed over (the vast majority) had a lovely buffet breakfast and reminisced about the wedding day events. To put it into perspective how lovely this place, our Photographer even stayed over, and joined us for breakfast, that's how lovely it is out there.

Sunette, Leonie, Shakil (forgive if his name is incorrect) and the rest of the staff, including the chefs and the cleaners were all amazing and well prepared and organised, Making our day go without a hitch, well...we got Hitched! The honeymoon suite at Zebra was a pleasure with the Jacuzzi awaiting you and some delighful goodies if you still had some space after a night of gourmet food. Our game drive into the veld for photo's was the perfect "break" the whole bridal party needed, and your staff had set up the couch in the veld waiting our arrival for picures with no questions asked, making it as smooth as could possibly go. Rain Farm, you will be seeing us again for our anniversary for sure!

Room Tip: Giraffe for an amazing family holiday, the luxury tents or Zebra for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainFarmGameLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Rain Farm Game and Lodge, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Hi Charne & Steven, thank you so much for the wonderful review. Your wedding was truly stunning and a memorable one for everyone at the farm, it is such a pleasure to deal with wonderful guests such as yourselves! Once again THANK YOU for choosing Rain Farm as your venue, we hope to see you return for another touch of Africa in the near future, all the best, Regards Rain Farm Game & Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We were at Rain Farm for the wedding of a relative and stayed overnight in one of the safari type tents which was well appointed clean and comfortable. The reception staff were efficient and friendly as were the staff at both the wedding reception and at breakfast the following morning. The catering and venue was excellent as is the location of Rain Farm itself. Whilst we did not go on a game drive we were pleasantly rewarded by seeing a variety of game close to road between the reception area and our tent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainFarmGameLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Rain Farm Game and Lodge, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
HI Terry, thank you so much for the review. I am so pleased that like so many others, you enjoyed your experience at Rain Farm Game & Lodge. We hope to see you back soon for a Game drive so you can experience a real touch of Africa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

What was meant to be a memorable, relaxing getaway for Melanie on her birthday - was not relaxing and certainly became meorable for all the wrong reasons

While the staff that received us, took us on guided game drive and oversaw the preparation and presentation of our veg meals were friendly and professional there was limits to what they could do to help with the quality of accommodation

We raced to the room after paying and checking in and had to rush back in minutes to be on time for game drive. We complained of smell and were advised by 2 staff that its possibly "jeyes fluid" used to disinfect the cabin and ward off insects

When we returned to room late after supper - the smell was overpowering

We had to keep all windows closed to keep insects out (there were no mosquito nets) and with no air conditioning the humidity and chemical smell was unbearable

With our 18month old son and 10year old daughter having a restless night we were anything but relaxed

My wife was too ill with a chest infection the next morning (her birthday) to even go for the spa treatments we had gifted her

We checked out early and returned home

The smell was so intense that our night cloths still wreaked of the odour when we unpacked back home.

I brought all this to the attention of the manager, via email and was advised that this was first time they received such a complaint and she would investigate. She reverted advising that no such smell could be detected when the cabin was inspected. I received an apology for the inconvenience and given a R100 voucher to spend when next visiting.

Not only was this not commensurate with the extreme discomfort we experienced this was a blatant lie because if you read other reviews you will see there is another citing of the chemical smells experienced (see "Yarisha O's comment)

My wifes chest infection, cancellation of booked spa treatments and early departure was not treated with any concern. And after spending several thousands for one nights accommodation with only the game drive (a few hundred rands and veg supper and breakfast) I can confidently say that this price is overinflated and misleading (I used the price as indicative of quality - other accommodation establishments in this price range offer far greater luxury. At the very least "Air conditioning"

I am insulted by the response and did not dignify the offer of a R100 voucher with a response

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Rayven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara N, Owner at Rain Farm Game and Lodge, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Good day Rayven,

Thank you for your valued feedback.

As mentioned in my response to you, we do not use jays fluid as part of our cleaning detergents.

We did thoroughly investigate your concerns and found no apparent odour.

This being said we looked into other aspects of your feedback that we could work on and have continued to look into the possibility of mosquito nets in that room in the event of any chemical odour.

Unfortunately being on a farm we are faced with many limitations, one of which is the electricity supply to our property therefor at this stage it is a physical impossibility that all our units can be equipped with air conditioning however we are currently working on this.

As I mentioned we are just as concerned and baffled by your feedback as we have never received such a complaint.

It is no blatant lie that I say this, and may I add that this is an extremely harsh statement to make, taking into consideration that the previous comment was made on the 26th February 2014 and I had responded via email to you on the 03 February 2014.

This previous comment was with regards to an early check in which was not initially requested and upon this guests arrival we did our best to allow access to the unit before our standard check in time - cleaning products were obviously still needed for this service.

Rain Farm Game and Lodge is a three star graded establishment as well as an AA superior graded establishment and our rates are in line with three star grading criteria.

We continually strive to please and better our establishment and we are delighted to inform you of our exciting news, that we are in the process of having a third additional power supply and this will allow for air conditioning in all our units. Mosquito nets are also currently being made up for all accommodation for our guests comfort.

Again I am terribly sorry that you had an uncomfortable nights rest and I can assure you that we are doing everything possible to continue to upgrade our units to our guests satisfaction. Thank you Rayven, for your time taken to share your feedback and wish you, Melanie and the kids all of the best

Kind regards,

Cara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I went to Rain Farm for a family wedding in December. The setting is magical and ideal for a romantic event like this. Unfortunately we didn't get too much time to explore the rolling green hills but had a good stay regardless. The service was very friendly - the only thing that let us down was that when we arrived our rooms were still being cleaned and it was awkward trying to get ready for a wedding with the cleaners in the room. The detergents being used were very strong and definitely not eco-friendly which made it tricky with a baby in the room. The breakfast the next day was a good spread but did not really cater much for a strict vegetarian/vegan. Besides for this, we had a very comfortable stay and would say the view here is one of the best I have seen.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Yarisha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

A visit to the Rain Farm Game and Lodge is a must. We have stayed there twice and both times were just awesome. If you have a group then the Giraffe lodge is the way to go, 10 people were more than comfortable, with a huge entertainment and braai area. The food from their restaurant is quite good and having a spa onsite is a huge plus. Reasonable wildlife activity, good birding and really nice to just walk along the farm and trails. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Try the Giraffe unit for big groups
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kavan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durban
29.3 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,417 reviews
28.5 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
28.8 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
0.0 mi away
Leopard Walk Lodge
Leopard Walk Lodge
#6 of 32 in Hluhluwe
149 reviews
29.4 mi away
Curiocity Durban
Curiocity Durban
#3 of 77 in Durban
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rain Farm Game and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rain Farm Game and Lodge

Property: Rain Farm Game and Lodge
Address: Esenembe Road | Farm 9, Durban 4390, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rain Farm Game and Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rain Farm Game & Lodge has a stunning restaurant which offers breath taking views of the farm. Rain Farm Game & Lodge offers luxury accommodation in the tranquil wildlife surrounds. - Luxury Tree Top Tents (Dinner bed & breakfast only) - Luxury Dam Facing Units (Self-catering or dinner bed & breakfast) - Farm House River facing Units (Self-catering or dinner bed & breakfast) Rain Farm Game & Lodge offers the following activities - Game Drives - Horse Trails - Archery - Pellet Gun Shooting - Childrens Playground - Day Spa - Miniature Golf Rain Farm is the closest Game reserve to Durban, a mere 30 minute drive from King Shaka International Airport. Game you can see at our farm includes: Dassies Porcupine Mongoose Giraffe Wildebeest Zebra Impala Nyala Waterbuck Blesbok Springbok Eland Red Hartebeest Ostrich Emu Warthog Caracal Serval Bush Buck Mountain Reedbuck Common Reedbuck Steenbok Blue/Red/Grey Duiker Wide variety of Snakes, most spotted is the endangered African Rock Python A massively wide variety of bird life including: King Fisher, Hornbill, Fish Eagle, Bee Eater, Secretary Bird, Nightjar, Egyptian Geese ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rain Farm Game and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing