We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel near Balito”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rain Farm Game and Lodge
Ranked #3 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2013

See the antilope and giraffe from your veranda. The view from the Restaurant deck is recommendable. The staff are friendly and helpful. The new self catering chalets are beautiful and even the horses came and visit you.

Room Tip: Ask for the new chalets / cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilsei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 185 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

I was looking for a breakaway from the city rush. Just to disconnect, and have a 3 day romantic getaway with my hubby.We stayed @ Zebra, loved the Jacuzzi,outdoor shower and all amenties...thrilled about the robes and slippers too. We had everything we needed right there (in our own privacy) we never left the premisis.Our meals were amazing, and they even prepared delicious meals for my hubby who doesn't eat pork or chicken, gem of a chef who kept the meals exciting. The staff were friendly & attentive to our requests,really made us feel @ home. The Game Drive is a must. Amazing accomadation & venue hire, a must see. We will definately be back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leolanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

A group of 8 of us arrived at 9:30 on Sunday 23 June. The administration process was painless and uNathi took us on a very informative, relaxed and interesting game drive. The farm is in great condition, as are the animals and uNathi was knowledgable about all the species (even the 3 Springbok) that the game lodge have.

This was followed by a scrumptious buffet luncheon with more than enough variety and tasty food. The service was excellent and the ambiance awesome.

This is well worth doing again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iTimot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We visited South Africa with friends. Had a great time, excellent service and great food. Thoroughly enjoyed the game drive.
Will be down in South Africa later this year and we have already made dinner and spa reservations.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rdhenke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Spent our anniversary in a tree top tent! Totally unique and amazing experience. The sound of the river below us was great during the day but a bit distracting at night (possibly due to the heavy rain the week before we got there). We drove amongst buck, giraffe, wildebeest and warthog. Had a horse ride around the camp. Went for riverside massages. Was in awe of the beautiful landscape and food - it was 5* gourmet! It was a relaxing romantic weekend. Highly recommend this great escape - couldn't believe this place existed, right under our noses :)

Room Tip: carry closed shoes and ear plugs if you stay near the bubbling river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SushiCat2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Hubby and I spent a night at Rainfarm as a birthday treat for him. We had bought a discount voucher which made it extremely affordable, however we'd be quite happy to do a return visit at "normal" rates.
The weather was a little dismal when we arrived, and I jokingly said that we'd ordered sunshine and please to sort it out by morning. The next day was absolutely beautiful!
Our night in the tent (No 5) was a little nerve-wracking to start with, as the wind made the tent and wooden platform creak loudly. I went outside to make sure we weren't going to come crashing down, and then realised that it actually just sounded worse from inside the tent! Rest assured, the construction is quite sturdy and we were in no danger at all :-)
It was awesome to sleep in such complete luxury in the middle of 'the bush".

The meals were definately "comfort food" - wholesome and tasty.
Staff are knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. We had a flat tyre on arrival, and the guys went out of their way to assist us in pumping it up again.

I could have spent all day in the rock pool overlooking the plain. Pure bliss!

Our favourite "find" was the semi-tame caracal pair in their enclosure. They followed us all along the fence, being very kitty-like, while we took photos. They unfortunately can't be released into the wild due to being hand-reared from birth, but it affords visitors a great opportunity to enjoy them up close.

Thank you, Rainfarm, for a great stay. We really like the fact that we can get away from it all only a half-hour's drive from home!

Room Tip: We stayed in Tent 5, which is easily accessed with no stairs, although this was not an issue for us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eastcoastjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My friend Suzie and I needed a break from the world....wow..we got more!!! Tamme and Leonie were perfect hosts, caring, cheerful and welcoming. Our game drive with Unuti was informative, fun, lovely sense of humour. Food...every mouthful was a fusion of flavours, every ingredient was tasted and enjoyed. Cooked perfectly, hot and beautifully presented. Portions very generous. Our tent No 5 was tastefully decorated, pillows and duvets perfect, beds firm and comfortable, extra pillows and duvet if needed, fresh milk in fridge and cold water. This Lodge is highly recommended for all ages. Well done and thank you to all the staff, each and every one of you make this an awesome place to visit.

Room Tip: We had tent 5, very convenient for Sue who has severe foot problems and cannot do stairs. Very close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
29.3 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#2 of 43 in Durban
1,514 reviews
29.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
29.2 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#24 of 43 in Durban
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.8 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
28.4 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
452 reviews
29.7 mi away
Mesami Hotel
Mesami Hotel
#76 of 258 in Durban
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rain Farm Game and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rain Farm Game and Lodge

Address: Esenembe Road | Farm 9, Durban 4390, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Durban
Price Range: $133 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rain Farm Game and Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rain Farm Game & Lodge has a stunning restaurant which offers breath taking views of the farm. Rain Farm Game & Lodge offers luxury accommodation in the tranquil wildlife surrounds. - Luxury Tree Top Tents (Dinner bed & breakfast only) - Luxury Dam Facing Units (Self-catering or dinner bed & breakfast) - Farm House River facing Units (Self-catering or dinner bed & breakfast) Rain Farm Game & Lodge offers the following activities - Game Drives - Horse Trails - Archery - Pellet Gun Shooting - Childrens Playground - Day Spa - Miniature Golf Rain Farm is the closest Game reserve to Durban, a mere 30 minute drive from King Shaka International Airport. Game you can see at our farm includes: Dassies Porcupine Mongoose Giraffe Wildebeest Zebra Impala Nyala Waterbuck Blesbok Springbok Eland Red Hartebeest Ostrich Emu Warthog Caracal Serval Bush Buck Mountain Reedbuck Common Reedbuck Steenbok Blue/Red/Grey Duiker Wide variety of Snakes, most spotted is the endangered African Rock Python A massively wide variety of bird life including: King Fisher, Hornbill, Fish Eagle, Bee Eater, Secretary Bird, Nightjar, Egyptian Geese ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rain Farm Game and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing